Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo grub cannot read stage1 on install [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cazzantonio
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 4514
Location: Somewere around the world

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:45 pm    Post subject: gentoo grub cannot read stage1 on install [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I'm trying to install gentoo amd64 on a core2 notebook. I had a previous ubuntu installation (I needed to use the notebook and had little time to install it), and before deleting it I'm using this ubuntu to chroot into the gentoo stage 3 on /dev/sda5.
The disk is partitioned this way:
Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc0000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1          17      136521   de  Dell Utility
/dev/sda2   *          18        1233     9767520    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3            1234       30401   234291960    5  Extended
/dev/sda5            1234        2450     9775521   83  Linux
/dev/sda6            2451        3667     9775521   83  Linux
/dev/sda7            3668        9748    48845601   83  Linux
/dev/sda8            9749       27990   146528833+  83  Linux
/dev/sda9           27991       30401    19366326   83  Linux

I did all except configuring and compiling the kernel (I'll do it later, after fixing this) and I run into this problem when I try to install grub on the mbr:
Code:
(chroot) heavensdoor / # grub-install --no-floppy /dev/sda
The file /boot/grub/stage1 not read correctly.

If I try the grub shell:
Code:
grub> root (hd0,4)
 Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83

grub> setup (hd0)
 Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... no
 Checking if "/grub/stage1" exists... no

Error 2: Bad file or directory type

grub>

This is my grub.conf (if it matters... it can't even read stage1...):
Code:
timeout 2
default 0
fallback 1
hiddenmenu
splashimage=(hd0,4)/boot/grub/gentoo.xpm.gz
password --md5 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

title=Gentoo Linux
password --md5 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.27-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/sda1 quiet video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr:3 vga=791

I'm using grub-static since it has less dependancy issues on amd64.
If I try to install grub using the one present in the ubuntu istallation (selecting (hd0,4)) It succeeded! What is the problem on the gentoo grub?
_________________
Any mans death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankinde; and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; It tolls for thee.
-John Donne


Last edited by Cazzantonio on Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:22 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you do not have a separate boot partition? you did
Code:
mkdir /boot
in the chroot? You did emerge grub in the change root after making /boot and mounting it (if separate partition)?
Code:
grub
find /boot/grub/stage1
quit

will tell where grub has been installed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cazzantonio
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 4514
Location: Somewere around the world

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

find /boot/grub/stage1 returns file not found (error 15).

I did not create a separate boot partition, grub-static was correctly emerged and installed.
_________________
Any mans death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankinde; and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; It tolls for thee.
-John Donne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suggest emerge grub give up static, think the dependency problem on 64 bit is old news and not a current problem.
Had the install worked you would have /boot/grub/stage1 plus the rest of the grub files.
What version is the grub-static?


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cazzantonio
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 4514
Location: Somewere around the world

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've non yet decided if I want to go multilib or not, so a static grub leaves me the freedom to choose between the two solutions.
However, this problem is so strange that I want to find how it works. Grub-static should work as well as regular compiled grub.
I've done hundreds of gentoo installations and I never saw such a thing.
_________________
Any mans death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankinde; and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; It tolls for thee.
-John Donne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version is the grub-static? regular old grub <= 97.2 has a problem with inode 256 ext2fs. here I would get version .97 unless I package keyworded for ~x86 or ~amd64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may have stumbled on this bug, depending on the version of grub and the version of e2fsprogs that you used.
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=214563
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cazzantonio
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 4514
Location: Somewere around the world

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! All problems gone with grub-static-0.97-r9!
Really that was starting to drive me crazy. I thought it was a problem of my partition table and I was going to fdisk all sda...
I owe you a beer or two!
_________________
Any mans death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankinde; and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; It tolls for thee.
-John Donne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum