Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to enable cpu scaling on a amdx2 6000+ cpu ?[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
julien-1993
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 48
Location: montreal-canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 4:36 pm    Post subject: how to enable cpu scaling on a amdx2 6000+ cpu ?[SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi , im trying to turn that feature on but i cant find some explanations on what is needed to do so on gentoo.
I have read the power management documentation from the gentoo doc but its not completely clear to me.

i have said yes to almost all options in the kernel regarding cpu scaling.

do i need to emerge any software for this to work or is it all already there in the kernel,

i have searched a bit in emerge and i see cpufrequtils and powernowd that might be related...not sure if i need those.
im on a desktop so i just want to enable the ondemand governor and once done, ill probably never touch to that again.

thank you


Last edited by julien-1993 on Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:44 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5941

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 4:47 pm    Post subject: Re: how to enable cpu scaling on a amdx2 6000+ cpu ? Reply with quote

julien-1993 wrote:
Hi , im trying to turn that feature on but i cant find some explanations on what is needed to do so on gentoo.
I have read the power management documentation from the gentoo doc but its not completely clear to me.

i have said yes to almost all options in the kernel regarding cpu scaling.

do i need to emerge any software for this to work or is it all already there in the kernel,

i have searched a bit in emerge and i see cpufrequtils and powernowd that might be related...not sure if i need those.
im on a desktop so i just want to enable the ondemand governor and once done, ill probably never touch to that again.

thank you


CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8 is enabled?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
julien-1993
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 48
Location: montreal-canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am not certain if thats the same thing, but i did choose y to powernow-k8 in cpu-scaling when i did the kernel in menuconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5941

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

julien-1993 wrote:
i am not certain if thats the same thing, but i did choose y to powernow-k8 in cpu-scaling when i did the kernel in menuconfig


ok, do you see it loaded in dmesg?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
julien-1993
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 48
Location: montreal-canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok here is my output of dmesg:

http://pastebin.ca/1310483

i have those lines regarding powernow-k8 in it

powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ processors (2 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
powernow-k8: ACPI Processor support is required for SMP systems but is absent. Please load the ACPI Processor module before starting this driver.
powernow-k8: ACPI Processor support is required for SMP systems but is absent. Please load the ACPI Processor module before starting this driver.

i am not sure what they mean by acpi processor module
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
julien-1993
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 48
Location: montreal-canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok thanks guys :D
it seem that this kernel option is what was missing for it to work.

before starting this thread, i had tried a couple of things to get it working, one of which was to emerge powernowd, is that something that is used atm, or can i unmerge it ?
i only emerged it, i did not configure anything or run any command other than powernowd itself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

julien-1993 wrote:
ok thanks guys :D
it seem that this kernel option is what was missing for it to work.

before starting this thread, i had tried a couple of things to get it working, one of which was to emerge powernowd, is that something that is used atm, or can i unmerge it ?
i only emerged it, i did not configure anything or run any command other than powernowd itself
use cpufrequtils, IMO.
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can remove powernowd; The kernel has all the drivers most people need built in. As long as you at least have the "ondemand" governor compiled in, you'll have basic frequency scaling :)

On mine I have all 4 govenors installed, and wrote a simple script to switch between them:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

cyGOV=/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq

echo "---------------------------------------"
echo "|                                     |"
echo "|  Cyker's Dynamic CPU Mode Switcher  |"
echo "|                                     |"
echo "---------------------------------------"
echo
echo "Current mode is: `cat $cyGOV/scaling_governor`"
echo
echo "1) Low Power-use mode (powersave)"
echo "2) Full Speed mode (performance)"
echo "3) Fast Dynamic switcher (ondemand)"
echo "4) Slow Dynamic switcher (conservative)"
echo "Q) Abort"
echo
echo "Please pick an option, or any other key to abort: "
read CPUOPT

case $CPUOPT in
    1)
        echo "Setting CPU to min speed..."
        echo powersave > $cyGOV/scaling_governor
    ;;
    2)
        echo "Setting CPU to max speed..."
        echo performance > $cyGOV/scaling_governor
    ;;
    3)
        echo "Setting CPU to fast dynamic scaling..."
        echo ondemand > $cyGOV/scaling_governor
#NOTE: ignore_nice_load is broken in 2.6.28!!
        echo 1 > $cyGOV/ondemand/ignore_nice_load
    ;;
    4)
        echo "Setting CPU to delayed dynamic scaling..."
        echo conservative > $cyGOV/scaling_governor
#NOTE: ignore_nice_load is broken in 2.6.28!!
        echo 1 > $cyGOV/conservative/ignore_nice_load
    ;;
esac

echo ""
echo "Scaling governor is `cat $cyGOV/scaling_governor`"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum