Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GRUB - Cannot start linux
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alderon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:06 am    Post subject: GRUB - Cannot start linux Reply with quote

I have finished the installation but i can't get GRUB to work.
My hard drive configuration is as follows:

hda1 - WinXP
hda5 - FAT32
hda6 - FAT32

hdb1 - /boot (Ext2)
hdb2 - Swap
hdb3 - / (ReiserFS)


I set up grub according to the instructions like so:
Code:

grub> root (hd1,0)   //ie hdb1
grub> setup (hd1,0)
grub> quit


My grub.conf
Code:

default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd1,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

#Linux
title=Gentoo
root (hd1,0)
kernel (hd1,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.20-pfeifer-r1_pre11 root=/dev/hdb3
initrd (hd1,0)/boot/initrd-2.4.20-pfeifer-r1_pre11


When I change the BIOS settings to try to boot from the second drive
into linux all is this error.
Code:

root (hd1,0)
   Filesystem type is FAT, partition type 0xc
kernel (hd1,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.20-pfeifer-r1_pre11 root=/dev/hdb3

Error 15: File not found

Press any key to continue...


Any help would be great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlambert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should not have to go into the BIOS to boot linux... you should add lines to grub that point to windows. Then you will have dual boot with grub.

Setup Grub onto the MBR (hd0) and base your grub.conf off this dual booting example.

Code:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

# If you compiled your own kernel, use something like this:
title=My example Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda3

# If you're using genkernel, use something like this instead:
title=My example Gentoo Linux (genkernel)
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-KV root=/dev/hda3
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-KV

# Below needed only for people who dual-boot
title=Windows XP
root (hd0,5)
chainloader (hd0,5)+1


Hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlambert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look here too...

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=73583
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alderon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx, i think i'll just add GRUB to the MBR like the post described.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rugball
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 14
Location: San Diego, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:43 am    Post subject: GRUB - dual boot WinXP Reply with quote

alderon wrote:
I set up grub according to the instructions like so:
Code:

grub> root (hd1,0)   //ie hdb1
grub> setup (hd1,0)
grub> quit

This is the 4th one that I've seen do this incorrectly. Are there some old install doc's someplace that are causing this? I'm at this same stage too and have 2 separate HDD's. The doc's that I'm looking at say:
Code:

grub> root (hd1,0)   //ie hdb1 where the boot partition is
grub> setup (hd0)  //* Note NOT (hd1,0) // installs to the MBR
grub> quit

In particular 23.2 and 23.3 of the x86 install doc's. Seems like there enough people with 2 HDD's these days (since they are dirt cheap) to update the doc's with more specific directions on dual-booting Windows XP on hda and linux (Gentoo) on hdb.

I've been trying to figure out if I can install grub elsewhere on my linux partition and not on the MBR. The idea that I thought might work is to change the boot order in my BIOS setup to start with hdb and/or to use the makeactive command in my grub.conf so that grub can reside on the linux partition and dual boot Window XP rather than loading grub on the MBR and crossing my fingers that Window still loads.
See the thread HERE. I'll post when I get a chance to test some of this out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmgoree
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Alexandria, VA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:55 am    Post subject: Re: GRUB - dual boot WinXP Reply with quote

rugball wrote:
alderon wrote:
I set up grub according to the instructions like so:
Code:

grub> root (hd1,0)   //ie hdb1
grub> setup (hd1,0)
grub> quit

This is the 4th one that I've seen do this incorrectly. Are there some old install doc's someplace that are causing this? I'm at this same stage too and have 2 separate HDD's.
<snip>


I remember seeing that in the docs; they are correct for people who want to chainload to GRUB using a third party bootloader (PowerQuest BootMagic, etc.). There's another snippet in the docs (quoted somewhere above) for people who need to use GRUB as their sole bootloader.

So, to sum up for any lurkers:
In GRUB, if you have two hard drives and want to use GRUB to boot to all your OSes, type:
Code:

grub> root (hd1,0)    # use '0' if your /boot partition is /dev/hdb1
                  # if it's, for example, /dev/hdb3 use (hd1,2)
grub> setup (hd0)


Whereas if you have two hard drives and want to use a third-party bootloader to get to GRUB and boot Linux:
Code:

grub> root (hd1,0) # See above about that 0
grub> setup (hd1,0)


caveat: the bootloader that comes with Windows will *not* chainload to GRUB or LILO; you need to use a third party bootloader like BootMagic or System Commander.
_________________
vi? *snicker* it doesn't even include a mail reader...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glengels
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:29 am    Post subject: more questions about using BootMagic, with or without GRUB Reply with quote

I'm new to the world of Linux and of booting a selection of OS's in general.

In the above post, and in a couple of other posts on the subject that I found by searching, they all suggest that when using BootMagic, it should boot GRUB which is located on a 2nd hard drive, and then GRUB should in turn boot Gentoo Linux.

But I have only one physical hard drive, with multiple partitions. I started within Windows and used Partition Magic to create all my partitions and then installed BootMagic. Then I used a Gentoo LiveCD to install Gentoo onto one of the partitions (but I skipped the installation steps that had to do with GRUB). Now I want BootMagic to dual boot to Windows or Gentoo Linux.

The Gentoo installation handbook seems to assume I am using GRUB or LILO (or some similar Linux bootloader). Do I still need something like GRUB if I have BootMagic? If I setup GRUB on a different partition, but the same physical hard drive, as BootMagic, will the two conflict in trying to take over the mbr? I tried not using GRUB at all but just setting BootMagic to point to the partition where Gentoo is installed, but it just hangs when I try to boot into it.

Can someone give this Linux newbie an education in how to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum