View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tactless l33t
Joined: 14 Jul 2002 Posts: 642 Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:03 am Post subject: Don't want EDID |
|
|
I have a GeForce 2 Ti card, and my X setup gets the monitor settings through the nvidia driver's EDID detection feature. However, that means that my screen has to be turned on when I start the X server, something that has come to be an annoyance.
EDID settings remind me of DHCP (get your IP address automatically). But how do I store them in my configuration? (The analogy of using ifconfig with settings retrieved from /etc/dhcpc)
I've tried read-edid, with no success.
Code: | # get-edid > EDID
get-edid: get-edid version 1.4.1
Performing real mode VBE call
Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f00 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
Function supported
Call successful
VBE version 300
VBE string at 0x11110 "NVidia"
VBE/DDC service about to be called
Report DDC capabilities
Performing real mode VBE call
Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
Function supported
Call successful
Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC1 transfers
Monitor and video card combination supports DDC2 transfers
0 seconds per 128 byte EDID block transfer
Screen is not blanked during DDC transfer
Reading next EDID block
VBE/DDC service about to be called
Read EDID
Performing real mode VBE call
Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x1 cx=0x0
Function supported
Call failed
The EDID data should not be trusted as the VBE call failed
# parse-edid EDID
parse-edid: parse-edid version 1.4.1
parse-edid: EDID checksum failed - data is corrupt. Continuing anyway.
parse-edid: first bytes don't match EDID version 1 header
parse-edid: do not trust output (if any).
# EDID version 1 revision 1
Section "Monitor"
# Block type: 2:0 3:fd
Identifier "___:56d5"
VendorName "___"
ModelName "___:56d5"
# Block type: 2:0 3:fd
HorizSync 30-54
VertRefresh 50-120
# Max dot clock not given
# EDID version 3 GTF given: contact author
# DPMS capabilities: Active off:yes Suspend:yes Standby:yes
# Block type: 2:0 3:fd
Mode "640x480" # vfreq 85.008Hz, hfreq 43.269kHz
DotClock 36.000000
HTimings 640 672 720 832
VTimings 480 481 484 509
Flags "-HSync" "-VSync"
EndMode
Mode "640x480" # vfreq 85.008Hz, hfreq 43.269kHz
DotClock 36.000000
HTimings 640 672 720 832
VTimings 480 481 484 509
Flags "-HSync" "-VSync"
EndMode
Mode "640x480" # vfreq 85.008Hz, hfreq 43.269kHz
DotClock 36.000000
HTimings 640 672 720 832
VTimings 480 481 484 509
Flags "-HSync" "-VSync"
EndMode
EndSection |
These settings are obviously incorrect, as I'm doing 1024x768, and my monitor can't seem to go any higher than 60hz. _________________ Tactless
"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."
Jabber: tactless@amessage.info |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wedge_ Advocate
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 3614 Location: Scotland
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 10:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
If you don't want it, I think there is a setting for the nVidia drivers called "IgnoreEDID". Just turn it on in your XF86Config and it shouldn't use EDID. _________________ Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tactless l33t
Joined: 14 Jul 2002 Posts: 642 Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I've tried that, but apparently I set my frequencies wrong - X said it couldn't find usable configurations. So I need to know how to pull the data from EDID and put it in XF86Config first. _________________ Tactless
"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."
Jabber: tactless@amessage.info |
|
Back to top |
|
|
erik_swanson Retired Dev
Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 123 Location: Corvallis, OR USA
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | emerge read-edid
get-edid | parse-edid |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ox- Guru
Joined: 19 Jun 2003 Posts: 305
|
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
tactless, what Erik is saying is just cut & paste everything from the output of parse-edid into your XF86Config file. Actually, all you need is the stuff between (and including): Code: |
Section "Monitor"
...
EndSection
|
If the frequencies are incorrect, then you'll have to manually edit them (but I would be really surprised if the EDID was wrong). Maybe your understanding of the settings is wrong, so maybe re-check the XF86Config documentation. (I personally don't understand the DotClock, HTimings, and VTimings stuff so can't help you there.)
Once you've pasted in the Section "Monitor" stuff, then search for Section "Screen" and make sure the Monitor option points to the identifier in the Monitor section. In your case it would be something like: Code: |
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "NVIDIA..."
Monitor "___:56d5" <--- because this is the Identifier from EDID
...
EndSection
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
tactless l33t
Joined: 14 Jul 2002 Posts: 642 Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel
|
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 7:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
But the resolutions are all 640x480! My monitor can do 1024x768! _________________ Tactless
"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."
Jabber: tactless@amessage.info |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ox- Guru
Joined: 19 Jun 2003 Posts: 305
|
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ah, the read-edid web page says it only supports 1.0, 1.1, and 1.2 versions of EDID and from your get-edid output it looks like your monitor may even be higher than 1.3 (which he specifically mentions as not being supported).
You might want to send your EDID to him as a sample to help him develop support.
In the meantime, just make your own entry. I got by with an older monitor by just doing this: Code: |
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Mymonitor"
HorizSync 79.9
VertRefresh 75
EndSection
|
In other words, force a specific refresh rate (no range).
Then, if you never want to change resolutions, just do 1280x1024 in the Screen Section. e.g.: Code: |
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "NVIDIA ..."
Monitor "Mymonitor"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection
|
Don't forget the IgnoreEDID in the NVidia section of course. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tactless l33t
Joined: 14 Jul 2002 Posts: 642 Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel
|
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 4:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, I used the values from xvidtune, and that seems to work. However, my Freetype fonts are much smaller now... I'm guessing the DPI was sent out of whack. How do I fix? _________________ Tactless
"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."
Jabber: tactless@amessage.info |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|