View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
rickj Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/9400387383efc722d703b7.jpg)
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
|
Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:20 pm Post subject: Can't see wireless network with madwifi, Atheros [solved] |
|
|
I'm having a hard time with a new D-Link WDA2320 network card in a desktop. It works fine under (gag) W*ndows Vista, connects to my wireless network, and gives excellent bandwidth.
The madwifi compatibility page shows it as working well with madwifi. Interface ath0 gets created, but when wpa-supplicant scans it sees no network. A similar installation on a laptop works well, sees six networks, and connects to mine. I'm using madwifi-ng-0.9.4, madwifi-ng-tools-0.9.4, wireless-tools-29 and wpa_supplicant-0.6.4 under the linux-2.6.27-gentoo-r8 kernel. There seems to be some doubt about the latest madwifi working with this card, so I've tried madwifi-ng-0.9.3.3, madwifi-ng-tools-0.9.3.3 with exactly the same results.
Here are the relevant details:
Code: | # confcat net
... wired configuration elided ...
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth0="-Dwext"
wpa_supplicant_ath0="-Dmadwifi"
associate_timeout_ath0=20
config_Rincewind=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_Rincewind="-t 10 -L"
key_Rincewind="s:******** enc open"
|
Code: | # confcat wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1
network={
key_mgmt=NONE
priority=-9999999
}
network={
ssid="Rincewind"
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
psk="********"
proto=WPA2
group=CCMP
}
|
Code: | # ifconfig
ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:22:b0:6b:87:36
inet6 addr: fe80::222:b0ff:fe6b:8736/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:140 (140.0 B)
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1a:92:40:b0:44
inet addr:192.168.1.18 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21a:92ff:fe40:b044/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2798 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2982 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2540638 (2.4 MiB) TX bytes:396755 (387.4 KiB)
Interrupt:23 Base address:0x6000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
wifi0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-22-B0-6B-87-36-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1098 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:40967
TX packets:3118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
RX bytes:225624 (220.3 KiB) TX bytes:152826 (149.2 KiB)
Interrupt:16
|
Starting the interface complains of an invalid mode, and I don't know what calls for this:
Code: |
# /etc/init.d/net.ath0 restart
* Service net.ath0 stopping
* Service net.ath0 stopped
* Service net.ath0 starting
ioctl[SIOCSIWMODE]: Invalid argument
Could not configure driver to use managed mode
Failed to configure ath0 in the background [ !! ]
* WARNING: net.ath0 has started but is inactive
|
Starting wpa_supplicant by command line shows it scanning forever:
Code: | # wpa_supplicant -Dmadwifi -i ath0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ioctl[SIOCSIWMODE]: Invalid argument
Could not configure driver to use managed mode
CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
|
and if I use the wpa_supplicant GUI it scans forever, too.
Much of the documentation seems a bit out of date in reference to the latest drivers.
Can anyone see where I'm going wrong, please?
Last edited by rickj on Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:12 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
JacobK n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 25 Feb 2009 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What is the output of:
Most importent is "kernel driver in use". There might be more than one driver willing to handle the device(the line: "kernel modules") and you should verify that it is in fact the madwifi driver that is loaded. Try to unload the responisble module. Then load it again and have a look at:
If you think you have the right driver loaded, what is the output of:
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rickj Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/9400387383efc722d703b7.jpg)
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partial output of lspci -v:
Code: | 03:08.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5212/AR5213 Multiprotocol MAC/baseband processor (rev 01)
Subsystem: D-Link System Inc Device 3a1b
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 168, IRQ 16
Memory at fdde0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
Capabilities: [44] Power Management version 2
Kernel driver in use: ath_pci
Kernel modules: ath_pci
|
I assume ath_pci is the madwifi driver.
Partial output of iwconfig:
Code: | ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"" Nickname:""
Mode:Master Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: 00:22:B0:6B:87:36
Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:18 dBm Sensitivity=1/1
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=0/70 Signal level=-95 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:14 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
|
All the ath0 stuff in the tail of the dmesg after a reload of ath_pci
Code: | ath0: no IPv6 routers present
ath0: no IPv6 routers present
ath_pci 0000:03:08.0: PCI INT A disabled
ath_pci: driver unloaded
ath_pci: 0.9.4
ath_pci 0000:03:08.0: PCI INT A -> Link[APC1] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
wifi0: 11b rates: 1Mbps 2Mbps 5.5Mbps 11Mbps
wifi0: 11g rates: 1Mbps 2Mbps 5.5Mbps 11Mbps 6Mbps 9Mbps 12Mbps 18Mbps 24Mbps 36Mbps 48Mbps 54Mbps
wifi0: turboG rates: 6Mbps 12Mbps 18Mbps 24Mbps 36Mbps 48Mbps 54Mbps
wifi0: H/W encryption support: WEP AES AES_CCM TKIP
wifi0: mac 7.9 phy 4.5 radio 5.6
wifi0: Use hw queue 1 for WME_AC_BE traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 0 for WME_AC_BK traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 2 for WME_AC_VI traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 3 for WME_AC_VO traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 8 for CAB traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 9 for beacons
wifi0: Atheros 5212: mem=0xfdde0000, irq=16
ath0: no IPv6 routers present
|
From which it seems the right driver is loaded, and it's seeing the hardware alright, but that it is not seeing a network. Is there any other useful information I can obtain? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rickj Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/9400387383efc722d703b7.jpg)
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
From the above it's clear that my downgrade to madwifi-ng-0.9.3.3 didn't work. In fact, the emerge failed because it failed to build the hal module. So all results are with madwifi-ng-0.9.4. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
JacobK n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 25 Feb 2009 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
It certainly looks like your driver is loaded correctly. The output of iwconfig sugest that the card is not really running correctly. There is no ESSID but the card is associated to an AP anyway? Link Quality is also very low.
Can you do a:
Code: | iwlist ath0 scanning |
This should give you a list of AP's the card can see. But my guess is that it won't work bc it looks like the card is not really running correctly.
I don't know too much about madwifi since I have used it very little. You should read:
You will probably end up doing something like this:
Code: | wlanconfig ath0 destroy
wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode sta |
That should recreate the ath0 interface in managed mode; I think.
You could also try to use the ath5k module instead and avoid all the madwifi stuff. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
d2_racing Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/1190120345458c61e31ec3c.jpg)
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, why don't you use the ath5k module inside the kernel. Madwifi is dead nowadays. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rickj Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/9400387383efc722d703b7.jpg)
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Your guess is correct:
Code: | # iwlist ath0 scanning
ath0 No scan results
|
but wlanconfig greatly improves the situation:
Code: | # wlanconfig ath0 destroy
# wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode sta
ath0
# iwlist ath0 scanning
ath0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:1B:11:62:6B:63
ESSID:"Home"
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality=3/70 Signal level=-92 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
Extra:wme_ie=dd070050f202000100
Cell 02 - Address: 00:22:3F:36:F5:C0
ESSID:"Rincewind"
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
Quality=53/70 Signal level=-42 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : CCMP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
Extra:wme_ie=dd180050f2020101800003a4000027a4000042435e0062322f00
|
so it seems the driver is capable of driving the card, and all I need now is a way to get it to associate with a network it can see. If I run wpa_supplicant it still scans forever, though it does now see the local network.
I'll try the kernel drivers, and report results. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rickj Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/9400387383efc722d703b7.jpg)
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
d2_racing has it right. Using the kernel drivers, everything is now working.
I unmerged madwifi, removed the madwifi USE flag from /etc/make.conf, re-merged wpa_supplicant, recompiled the kernel with the drivers enabled, and ran update-modules. Then I changed the setup in net to point to wlan0:
Code: | # confcat net
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
associate_timeout_wlan0=20
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10 -L"
|
I deleted /etc/conf.d/net.ath0, and linked /etc/conf.d/net.wlan0 to net.lo. That's all it took.
Thanks to all who helped. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
d2_racing Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/1190120345458c61e31ec3c.jpg)
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No problem ![Razz :P](images/smiles/icon_razz.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|