View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
KyleKL
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:38 am    Post subject: FVWM Noob. Reply with quote

Hello all,

I'm new to FVWM and am just at the stage of playing around with it. I'm ready for some changes and want to load in some custom themes. I'm currently running fvwm-crystal.
In particular I want to load up a kick-ass theme I found while browsing for FVWM guides. I'm not sure how to integrate it into my system properly.

http://box-look.org/content/show.php/Lethe?content=91022

I thought if I figure out how to load in a pre-made theme like this I should learn a few things in the process and by tweaking it.

Currently I have the following setup:
fvwm - emerged
fvwm-crystal - emerged
/home/user/.xinitrc has "exec fvwm-crystal"
/home/user/.fvwm-crystal has 2 folders - "preferences" "wallpaper-thumnails"
/home/user/.fvwm - I don't know if this existed before. I think this was created when I extracted the new theme. It has "config""images""ownfiles""preferences""wallpapers".
/usr/share/fvwm - has a heap of configx files and fvwmscriptsx files.
/usr/share/fvwm-crystal/fvwm has "Applications""components""decorations""locale""recipes""wallpapers""colorsets""config""icons""preferences""scripts"

Any usefull information or links to guide etc. would be greatly appreciated!
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's great to see a new FVWM user! By far the best place to gather information is the FVWM Forums (http://fvwm.lair.be/). You can view a decent amount of other users configs there and get some ideas.