Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SMP or default kenel?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rlculver
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:58 am    Post subject: SMP or default kenel? Reply with quote

Hi,

I am just about to install Gentoo and was wondering which kernel to choose. I have a Pentium 4 2.8Ghz with HyperThreading enabled. Which one do I choose?

Thanks

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Choose the SMP kernel.

After it boots, do a cat /proc/cpuinfo.
If it shows two CPUs HyperThreading is working.
(You can also check dmesg. It sais wether it activates a "second" processor.)
You can then do all the configuration to take advantage of a SMP machine (like passing -j3 to make processes, see /etc/make.conf).

I am not sure which kernels support HT though.
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vbenares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nephros wrote:
You can then do all the configuration to take advantage of a SMP machine (like passing -j3 to make processes, see /etc/make.conf).


Would you kindly elaborate a bit on this? Is the information in /etc/make.conf? Or will I be changing /etc/make.conf?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vbenares wrote:
nephros wrote:
You can then do all the configuration to take advantage of a SMP machine (like passing -j3 to make processes, see /etc/make.conf).


Would you kindly elaborate a bit on this? Is the information in /etc/make.conf? Or will I be changing /etc/make.conf?


Heh. Both. :)
Basically, the make program can compile stuff in parallel, the -j parameter tells it how many processes it should start. Rule of thumb is N+1 for N=number of processors in your machine.
(I think that "one more" is so that the "extra" process can compile while the other two are waiting for I/O, but that is just my personal theory.)

If you set that in /etc/make.conf (option MAKEOPTS), all compiles done by emerge will take advantage of this.

If you compile something yourself, you can specify it by hand.

Note that if you use distcc with a SMP machine, you can tell distcc this by doing:
Code:
/usr/bin/distcc-config --set-hosts "localhost/2 someotherhost"

"localhost" is a SMP machine. The MAKEOPTS for this setup would be -j4 or even -j5.

Other options for a SMP setup would be adding "threads" to the USE variable I guess (will compile apps threaded if the ebuild supports it).
And if you compile a kernel yourself, be sure you enable RTC (Enhanced Real Time Clock) support in the Character devices section of you kernel config. SMP needs this.

That is pretty much all I can think of regarding SMP configuration.
Hope that helps.
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R0B_IX
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2003
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow! Amazing info you just gave me there. I have been running gentoo for about 3 weeks on my 3.06ghz w/ HT laptop, and am still learning new things about it every day (as it should be ;)). Just a quick note, assuming you don't run into any problems, I would recomend smp-acpi when compiling your system. I found that it is almost manditory for my laptop because it doesn't appear to throttle correctly without it (and that leads to an overheating problem and then a suddent shutdown, which is never good :()
_________________
Laptop:Sager 5670
CPU:3.06ghz w/HT enabled
RAM:512 megs PC2100
Video:ATI Radeon Mobility 9000
HD1:40 gig 5400 RPM 2.5" drive
HD2:20 gig 5400 RPM external 2.5" USB2 drive
OS of choice:Windows 3.1 (just kidding, it's gentoo)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, this would depend what kind of install you would perform. If it will be grp install, in which you presumably wont need internet, yes smp would be a nice choice.

However, upto now I never managed to run smp and network at the same time (hence got two kernel compiled, one when i have job more suitable for multiprocessing, one regular for internet, machine is 3.06 ht laptop)

So I believe in the end you better also have a "normal" kernel handy.

SZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R0B_IX
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2003
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would you mind explaining what you mean by network. As of right now, I have always used smp with my laptop (also a 3.06ghz proc w/HT) and it seems as if I can get on the internet just fine. I have yet to try and share files from one computer to another, but would like to set that up next week. Are you saying that I am going to run into a road block if I try to do this with an smp kernel? Also, if you just mean geting on the internet never appears to work with smp, then you might have another problem with you setup, because I have done many stage 1 builds with the smp kernel without any problems. Thanks for any info you have on this topic.
_________________
Laptop:Sager 5670
CPU:3.06ghz w/HT enabled
RAM:512 megs PC2100
Video:ATI Radeon Mobility 9000
HD1:40 gig 5400 RPM 2.5" drive
HD2:20 gig 5400 RPM external 2.5" USB2 drive
OS of choice:Windows 3.1 (just kidding, it's gentoo)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zbert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 37
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a 3.06Ghz machine and when I try to boot of the LiveCD using "smp" everything just blanks out. Anybody know what I can try?
_________________
--zbert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nahca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

your 3.06ghz proc might not have HT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R0B_IX
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2003
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does it attempt to load anything (i.e. do you see any scrolling commands/status updates)? or does it just instantly go blank?
_________________
Laptop:Sager 5670
CPU:3.06ghz w/HT enabled
RAM:512 megs PC2100
Video:ATI Radeon Mobility 9000
HD1:40 gig 5400 RPM 2.5" drive
HD2:20 gig 5400 RPM external 2.5" USB2 drive
OS of choice:Windows 3.1 (just kidding, it's gentoo)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moled
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 635

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the smp kernel doesn't have support for ht

theres an extra option you need and some kernel options to add at boottime to get it to work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zbert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 37
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

R0B_IX wrote:
does it attempt to load anything (i.e. do you see any scrolling commands/status updates)? or does it just instantly go blank?

It goes blank immediately.
_________________
--zbert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ROB_IX;

I meant internet, it just never activates saying some conflict. It may very well be a configuration problem, but I both used the same kernel as my regular with just activating smp (and taking out the apm as required) and it did not worked (and yes it finds 2 cpus). Also in live cd, gentoo kernel option works fine in terms of internet, but smp does not.

At this point, let me turn to zbert.

zbert;

can you please try smp-acpi kernel with passing noapic option, if i am not mistaken (press F2 and look for the one that says disable this if you are experiencing hardware problems). This seems to work for me, and all other generate panic in my live cd smp kernel.

i.e at boot you write stg like "smp noapic" or "smp-acpi noapic"

Then ckeck the lines whether it finds cpu0 and cpu1 or only cpu0, while information is flowing down or by investigating output of "dmesg".

Care,
SZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lotusvale
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 339
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is that the main thing SMP will do for you? for HT-enabled?
can anyone tell me what other advantages of it? since i thought this was for "Symmetic Multi Processing", which handles more than one cpu in the same mobo.
_________________

-SuSe shot-
| -G shot-

Shadowrider's Lair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zbert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 37
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szo wrote:
can you please try smp-acpi kernel with passing noapic option, if i am not mistaken (press F2 and look for the one that says disable this if you are experiencing hardware problems). This seems to work for me, and all other generate panic in my live cd smp kernel.

i.e at boot you write stg like "smp noapic" or "smp-acpi noapic"

Then ckeck the lines whether it finds cpu0 and cpu1 or only cpu0, while information is flowing down or by investigating output of "dmesg".

I tried the couple of options like you asked and they had the same result. Blank screen. I next tried "smp-nofb" and I was able to load the LiveCD. Alas, it didn't recognize the hyperthreading and only reported "Initializing CPU#0" and "SMP motherboard not detected". Maybe the 2.4 kernel doesn't support HT. If I have any luck, I'll report back here.
_________________
--zbert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
id10t
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hyperthreading is a smp implementation in a single cpu.

Anyway, I've been running a SMP system for a long time now, and to be honest, I'll never go back to a single processor system by choice. The dual P2-450s I just replaced "felt" faster than the single 2.4 celeron I have on my desk at work, both with Slack 8.1/9.0.
_________________
---
this space for rent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paradigmbreak
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zbert- For what it is worth, i had the same problem with a dual athlon mp and I used "smb-nofb noapic" and it worked. Would run fine with fb if i tried a single processor install with no options (just hitting return). So you might try that. If that fails perhaps some voodoo charms might do the trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zbert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 37
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Paradigmbreak. I've decided to move on for the time being and wait for the next kernel which may have better support for hyperthreading.
_________________
--zbert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum