Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bootstrap comparison failure!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bdogg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jul 2002
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:29 pm    Post subject: Bootstrap comparison failure! Reply with quote

I'm installing the gentoo-ix86-1.2.iso and following the install.txt to the letter.
I modified /etc/make.conf to contain the following settings:
Code:
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=i686 -O3 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS=$CFLAGS


scripts/bootstrap.sh produces the following error:
Code:
Bootstrap comparison failure!
jump.o differs
loop.o differs

reload1.o differs
.....
make[1]: *** [compare-lean] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/portage/gcc.2.95.3-r7/work/gcc-2.95.3/gcc'
make[1]: *** [bootstrap-lean] Error 2

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 33, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)

!!! emerge aborting on /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc/gcc-2.95.3-r7.ebuild


I'm running on a p3-600 overclocked to 840MHz. (Is this the source of my problems?) Should I just use the stage2 tarball to avoid this since I'm compiling on an i686 anyway?

Thanks for any help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 9:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Bootstrap comparison failure! Reply with quote

bdogg wrote:
I'm running on a p3-600 overclocked to 840MHz. (Is this the source of my problems?)

Very likely, yes. GCC has discovered that it is not able to compile itself consistently, which is a very serious situation and likely indicates that you will see random crashes, data loss, filesystem corruption and other less-than-joyful experiences.
bdogg wrote:
Should I just use the stage2 tarball to avoid this since I'm compiling on an i686 anyway?

If you wish...but that is only postponing the problem. Run your CPU at the clock speed it is rated for. You will save yourself time and agony in the long run.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbrese
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 8:21 am    Post subject: same problem, but no overclocking Reply with quote

my install failed at the same place. I didn't modify any conf files and I'm not overclocking. I'm trying to install on a Dell laptop.
Back to top
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 9:04 am    Post subject: Re: same problem, but no overclocking Reply with quote

cbrese wrote:
my install failed at the same place. I didn't modify any conf files and I'm not overclocking. I'm trying to install on a Dell laptop.

Have you had any other instability problems on this hardware? As it is a laptop, it could be heat-related. Do you have proper air circulation around the bottom of the case? Bootstrap comparison errors should never happen on publicly released versions of GCC, especially on such a widely tested architecture as i86.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it's not the fastest computer, but it has been pretty stable. I guess I'll just try again.
Back to top
cbrese
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 126
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried a again from the begining and got the same error

emerge aborting on /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc-2.95.3-r7.ebuild

does anyone have an idea for how to get past thie?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cbrese wrote:
I tried a again from the begining and got the same error
emerge aborting on /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc-2.95.3-r7.ebuild
does anyone have an idea for how to get past thie?

Could your install CD be corrupt?
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbrese
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 126
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think thats the problem since I'm using a stage 1 cd and the source for gcc was downloaded
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbrese
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 126
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I found what the problem was, I forgot to edit the make.conf file to set CHOST, CFLAGS, and CXXFLAGS.

I'm trying agian now, thanks for the help so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dworkin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Wetteren, Belgium, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

soo. did you get anywhere? I'm having the same problem, over and over, even with the most conservative C(XX)FLAGS settings. 73 files failing comparison.. I find it hard te believe this would all be CPU glitches ; it's not overclocked, and it's totally stable otherwise. Had a few redhats on there, and they behaved.
_________________
/hrf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbrese
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 126
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it worked fine after I set the correct flags, I just uncomented one of the examples that matched my processor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dworkin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Wetteren, Belgium, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 6:07 pm    Post subject: Which of the Examples covers a Duron? Reply with quote

Which of the Examples covers a Duron? According to boot message it's a K7.. Soooo I tried K6 to no avail..
I'm now trying using the very first example, modified (removed -03). That seems to get at least gcc and glibc compiled..
_________________
/hrf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ruben
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 2:21 pm    Post subject: Same Problem... Reply with quote

I'm getting some sort of the same message over and over again.

Tried couple of different flags in make.conf
Now I'm gonna try -O9.

System is a brand new Asus Notebook (P4 2.0Ghz, 256Mb etc.)
Back to top
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 1619

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK don't shoot me if this does not work for you :)

edit your ebuild, e.g. /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc/gcc-2.95.3-r7.ebuild
(it does work with several ebuilds incl. gcc 3.1)

and edit this part (around line 100)
----------------------------------------------------------------

if [ -z "`use static`" ]
then
emake bootstrap-lean || die
else
emake LDFLAGS=-static bootstrap || die
fi
----------------------------------------------------------------

Option 1: safe but time-consuming: change "bootstrap-lean" and "bootstrap" both into "bootstrap4".
Doing this will make gcc recompile itself once more, just in case some optimisations were missed. If this works, you're safe and sound.

Option 2: quick BUT potentially unstable, because gcc might be unreliable: remove "bootstrap-lean" and "bootstrap" completely.

Please post your results. I spent ages getting this gcc stuff to work on an otherwise perfectly running system. Everything compiled and worked flawlessly, but I cannot simple compile gcc :?:
I feel it's hardware-related. I have these troubles using Athlon Tbird on KT133 chipset and thoroughly tested RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bld
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 759
Location: Outter Space

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 6:49 pm    Post subject: same here Reply with quote

same here, I have a pentium 4. Now I swap bootstrap with bootstrap4 I'll let you know if gcc compiles :(

The weird thing is that this is 4th time I install from stage3 gentoo in the PC. I didnt had this problem the first two times.
_________________
A happy GNU/Linux user!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum