View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
emonty n00b
Joined: 26 Feb 2003 Posts: 47 Location: Utrecht
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 6:22 am Post subject: VFS: Cannot open root device |
|
|
Hi,
Just intalled Gentoo from stage1, now with the last reboot i get:
VFS: Cannot open root device "dev/hda1" or 00:00
Please append a coorect "root=" boot option
KErnel Panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on 00:00
what to do? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Liathus Apprentice
Joined: 21 Mar 2003 Posts: 163 Location: Fargo, ND
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 6:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
could be a few things. Either your bootloader isnt correct, and by that I mean / isn't located on /dev/hda1, or you didnt get your filesystem support staticly compiled in your kernel.
I would boot off the live cd again, and follow the steps to get into your system again... mount your partitions and chroot to /mnt/gentoo.
If your bootloader is correct you will need to re-build your kernel making sure to staticly build the support for your filesystem, so if you use ext3 make sure there is a star by it and not a M.
Hope this makes sense :) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
emonty n00b
Joined: 26 Feb 2003 Posts: 47 Location: Utrecht
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
Thanxs for the reply, i used genkernel instaed of the kernel build. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sven Vermeulen Retired Dev
Joined: 29 Aug 2002 Posts: 1345 Location: Mechelen, Belgium
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 10:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have you setup your bootloader configuration for the genkernel? You should have defined an initrd and a special init.
For LILO
Code: |
image=/boot/kernel-2.4.20-gentoo-r6
label=gk_linux
root=/dev/hda3
initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.20-gentoo-r6
append="root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc"
|
For GRUB
Code: |
title=My example Gentoo Linux (genkernel)
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.20-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/hda3
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-2.4.20-gentoo-r6
|
Also, are you sure that your "root=" is correct? If you follow the installation guide, /dev/hda1 is your /boot, not root. So make sure that the "root=" points to your root filesystem ("root=/dev/hda3" in case of the installation guide). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
emonty n00b
Joined: 26 Feb 2003 Posts: 47 Location: Utrecht
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 10:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes,
I have done all that the only difference i see is that i have:
root=dev/hda1 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sven Vermeulen Retired Dev
Joined: 29 Aug 2002 Posts: 1345 Location: Mechelen, Belgium
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So /dev/hda1 is your root partition? Do you have a seperate /boot partition?
Perhaps you can try removing the "init=/linuxrc". For some odd reason this helps some ppl... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
emonty n00b
Joined: 26 Feb 2003 Posts: 47 Location: Utrecht
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sven Vermeulen wrote: | So /dev/hda1 is your root partition? Do you have a seperate /boot partition?
Perhaps you can try removing the "init=/linuxrc". For some odd reason this helps some ppl... |
no, primary boot is hda1 ReiserFS
hda2,primary ReiserFS
hda3,primary Linux Swap
I don't have this set |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sven Vermeulen Retired Dev
Joined: 29 Aug 2002 Posts: 1345 Location: Mechelen, Belgium
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Primary boot, you mean that /dev/hda1 is your /boot partition? If so, you should set root=/dev/hda2 since hda2 is your / partition. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
emonty n00b
Joined: 26 Feb 2003 Posts: 47 Location: Utrecht
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sven Vermeulen wrote: | Primary boot, you mean that /dev/hda1 is your /boot partition? If so, you should set root=/dev/hda2 since hda2 is your / partition. |
done that, result is the same: VFS: Cannot open root device "dev/hda2" or 00:00 etc..
When i start from CD and leave out the root =etc part in GRUB than i can get to my system |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrillic Watchman
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 7313 Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
emonty wrote: | done that, result is the same: VFS: Cannot open root device "dev/hda2" or 00:00 etc.. |
You need to include the leading "/"
So change root=dev/hda2 to root=/dev/hda2 and it should work. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
emonty n00b
Joined: 26 Feb 2003 Posts: 47 Location: Utrecht
|
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cyrillic wrote: | emonty wrote: | done that, result is the same: VFS: Cannot open root device "dev/hda2" or 00:00 etc.. |
You need to include the leading "/"
So change root=dev/hda2 to root=/dev/hda2 and it should work. |
YES YES stupid me thanks!!!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|