Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xfce wireless?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dissident85
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2008
Posts: 52
Location: ~/.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:27 am    Post subject: xfce wireless? Reply with quote

Hi all, I am trying to get wireless networking working in xfce with a D-Link DWL-G122 rev c1 (rt73 chip set) ok so what I have done so far is emerged networkmanager, nm-applet and XFapplet so that I have that nice gnome network manager. I then emerged net-wireless/rt73-firmware then executed "modprobe rt73 && update-modules" and then for good measure I restarted the pc. Once I login back in is where I am having some problems. First thing is the nm-applet is showing up 3 times in the notification area, but appears to be working. I'm guessing it is doing this because it has 3 network interfaces up? Loopback, LAN and WLAN. anyone know how to stop that? Now the other thing is when I click the nm-applet it shows all the networks in range, their SSID’s and signal strength. Which I am assuming is a good sign that the card is working correctly. And everything has installed correctly. But when I try to connect to my network, it just won’t connect, it won’t even ask me for the WPA phrase, and when I try to manually enter the network it still won’t connect.

Have I missed something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 1354
Location: Out There ...

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not know about network manager in Gnome.
The default wireless tool would be iwconfig. Unfortunately it can only WEP and no WPA, for WPA afaik wpa_supplicant is used.

here is a pretty good howto setup networks using wpa_supplicant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dissident85
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2008
Posts: 52
Location: ~/.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

disi wrote:
I do not know about network manager in Gnome.
The default wireless tool would be iwconfig. Unfortunately it can only WEP and no WPA, for WPA afaik wpa_supplicant is used.

here is a pretty good howto setup networks using wpa_supplicant.


Thanks for that, I am now able to connect to my ap. But i am still having a few issues... it appears to connect to the ap but it dosn't get an ip or even try to get one? here is what i have done..

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_spplicant.conf
Code:
network={
  ssid="myssid"
  psk="mypassphrase"
  priority=5
}

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:
config_myssid=( "dhcp" )
fallback_myssid=( "10.0.0.210/24" )
fallback_route_myssid=( "default via 10.0.0.15" )


and i run wpa_supplicant with this command
Code:
$wpa_supplicant -B -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_spplicant.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first commandment for wpa_supplicant: Thou shalt invoke it thusly:
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"

This goes for (as far as I know) any and all wireless devices using wpa_supplicant. Anything else results in failure.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dissident85
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2008
Posts: 52
Location: ~/.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok so i add
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"

to /etc/conf.d/net then bring up the interface with
Code:
$wpa_supplicant -B -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_spplicant.conf



EDIT: Well i tried that and it still didnt get an ip address? I also tried
Code:
$wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_spplicant.conf

and got the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am running dhcpclient (or something similar, not at the machine now) at the end in order to get the ip address.
I am using wep and a script that runs at the end of boot (called from local) though, don't know if that makes any difference.

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dissident85
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2008
Posts: 52
Location: ~/.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the only way i have been able to get it to connect is using this script below. there must be a better way?

Code:
#!/bin/bash

wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ifconfig wlan0 10.0.0.201 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
route add default gw 10.0.0.15 wlan0
echo "nameserver 10.0.0.2" > /etc/resolv.conf




I was thinking of using this script i created to start it up at boot
/etc/init.d/wirelessup
Code:
#!/sbin/runscript
CONFFILE=/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

start() {
   if [ ! -f "${CONFFILE}" ]; then
      eerror "Configuration file ${CONFFILE} not found!"
      return 1
   fi

   ebegin "Connecting wlan0"
   wpa_supplicant -B -iwlan0 -c${CONFFILE}
   ifconfig wlan0 10.0.0.201 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
   route add default gw 10.0.0.15 wlan0
   echo "nameserver 10.0.0.2" > /etc/resolv.conf
   eend $?
}
stop() {
   ebegin "Stopping wlan0"
   ifconfig wlan0 down
   killall wpa_supplicant
   eend $?
}

and then running rc-update add wirelessup default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 1354
Location: Out There ...

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, here is how I would have set this up...
I know that init should automatically start all network cards, however I like to do it my own way:

Code:

# emerge dhcpcd
# ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.pengblubb0
# rc-update add net.pengblubb0 default


then I know the name it will use and I can configure it using /etc/conf.d/net:
Code:

modules=( "dhcp" "wpa_supplicant" )
# dhcp stuff while it will do this default anyway
config_pengblubb0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_pengblubb0="-t 30"
# wireless stuff
wpa_supplicant_pengblubb0="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_pengblubb0=60
# you can use also postup stuff, which is useful for wireless, since it takes time to connect


the wpa_supplicant.conf as you have it already configured

P.S. I do not use wireless at all at the moment, but I hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum