View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
twam Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 15 Feb 2005 Posts: 189 Location: Ammerbuch, Germany
|
Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 12:52 pm Post subject: wpa_supplicant, netplug and baselayout |
|
|
Hello everybody,
I've got a problem with a PC having a normal ethernet adapter (eth0) and a wireless adapter (eth1). I have the same problem on other pcs with different adapters as well. The problem is the following:
Usually, the PC is not connected to the wired ethernet, only via wireless. net.eth0 and net.eth1 are both not in default run, so they're started runlevel hotplugged. The problem is, that net.eth1 seems to tell baselayout that it provides "net" and everything is fine, when he has started wpa_supplicant, but at this point eth1 has no ip. So the following services, like ntp-client fail because they can't connect to the internet.
I though ifplugd or netplug could help here, but it seems they're only started for eth0:
Code: | alix ~ # ps auxw|grep netplug
root 1560 0.0 0.1 1616 320 ? Ss 13:02 0:00 /sbin/netplugd -i eth0 -P -p /var/run/netplugd-eth0.pid -c /dev/null
root 2757 0.0 0.2 1836 624 pts/0 S+ 14:51 0:00 grep --colour=auto netplug |
Is there a way to tell baselayout to start netplug on eth1 as well or are there other ways to solve this? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
szmytson n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/166773589949fb14ccd359c.jpg)
Joined: 29 Apr 2009 Posts: 20 Location: UK
|
Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 1:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
I've got similar setup (eth0 + wlan0) and everything works fine.
I use wlan0 mostly.
When wlan's radio is turned off at boot time I've got:
Code: |
May 2 13:17:33 pokrak32 b43-phy0: Radio hardware status changed to DISABLED
May 2 13:17:33 pokrak32 b43-phy0: Radio turned on by software
May 2 13:17:33 pokrak32 b43-phy0: The hardware RF-kill button still turns the radio physically off. Press the button to turn it on.
May 2 13:17:33 pokrak32 rc-scripts: WARNING: net.wlan0 has started but is inactive
May 2 13:17:33 pokrak32 rc-scripts: WARNING: ntp-client is scheduled to start when net.wlan0 has started.
|
Then after switching on wlan's radio:
Code: |
May 2 13:20:21 pokrak32 b43-phy0: Radio hardware status changed to ENABLED
(...)
May 2 13:20:23 pokrak32 wlan0: associated
(..)
May 2 13:20:24 pokrak32 wpa_cli: interface wlan0 CONNECTED
(...)
May 2 13:20:30 pokrak32 dhclient: bound to 192.168.1.101 -- renewal in 39165 seconds.
(...)
May 2 13:20:31 pokrak32 ntpdate[5169]: step time server 217.17.34.82 offset -0.465415 sec
|
So ntp-client runs after successful dhclient run.
You should check your RC_NET_STRICT_CHECKING variable in /etc/conf.d/rc.
Also post your /etc/conf.d/net |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
twam Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 15 Feb 2005 Posts: 189 Location: Ammerbuch, Germany
|
Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 2:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I run baselayout-2 so there is no more /etc/conf.d/rc I think, but the new setting should be
Code: | rc_depend_strict="YES" |
in /etc/rc.conf. Changing to NO didn't change anything here.
/etc/conf.d/net is simple here:
Code: | config_eth0=("dhcp")
config_eth1=("dhcp")
|
I tried
Code: | modules_eth1=("netplug") |
to force netplug on eth1 but I didn't work. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|