View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
the8lack8ox n00b
Joined: 03 Feb 2009 Posts: 29 Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
|
Posted: Wed May 06, 2009 10:47 pm Post subject: ALSA PCM Control Not Working for snd-oxygen |
|
|
Lately, I've been using git snapshots to install alsa-driver, since I required a recent bugfix for my Claro Halo card. With the release of 1.0.20, I want to use the alsa-driver provided by portage. After switching, however, my PCM volume control no longer has any effect, and it seems to be stuck at full gain. Moreover, Audacious now refuses to use the 24-bit output format, just working with 16-bit. This is really bad, since my card is very loud and only gets comfortable with the Master control turned down to about 5 or 7. I have very little control over the volume this way.
As part of my installation, I removed the /lib/modules/2.6.29-gentoo-r3 directory and reinstalled all modules to clean up the environment.
For some reason, the configure lines strike me as important. When I was installing the git snapshot, I used the following:
Code: | ./configure --with-sequencer=no --with-oss=no --with-cards=oxygen,emu10k1 |
With sequencer or oss turned on, I always got errors at boot that caused the git tree drivers to fail to load entirely.
When I go to install the portage driver, it does this:
Code: | ./configure --prefix=/usr --host=x86_64-pc-linux-gnu --mandir=/usr/share/man --infodir=/usr/share/info --datadir=/usr/share --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var/lib --libdir=/usr/lib64 --without-oss --without-pcm-oss-plugins --without-debug --with-kernel=/usr/src/linux --with-build=/lib/modules/2.6.29-gentoo-r3/build --with-redhat=no --with-suse=no --with-isapnp=auto --with-sequencer --with-cards= emu10k1 oxygen --with-card-options=all --build=x86_64-pc-linux-gnu |
I really don't know what magic causes the sequencer driver to work with the portage install. But maybe it doesn't. Is it possible that the sequencer has something to do with what's going on? Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the8lack8ox n00b
Joined: 03 Feb 2009 Posts: 29 Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
|
Posted: Wed May 06, 2009 11:27 pm Post subject: No sequencer, no effect |
|
|
Hand-edited ebuild to remove sequencer modules. Didn't do anything. Didn't think it would, really. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the8lack8ox n00b
Joined: 03 Feb 2009 Posts: 29 Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
|
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 1:07 am Post subject: All gone to hell |
|
|
My old drivers that used to work no longer do now, suffering from the same issues. Drivers don't really seem to be the problem anymore. I've tried downgrading everything back to 1.0.19 to no avail. I kinda think some config file must be what's wrong now, but after downgrading everything I really have no idea. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
EzInKy Veteran
Joined: 11 Oct 2002 Posts: 1742 Location: Kentucky
|
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 2:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried the in kernel drivers? I have a couple of Claro+ that "just work" with them. _________________ Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the8lack8ox n00b
Joined: 03 Feb 2009 Posts: 29 Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
|
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 4:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
EzInKy wrote: | Have you tried the in kernel drivers? I have a couple of Claro+ that "just work" with them. |
I have a Claro Halo. The headphone output, which is passed thru a built-in headphone amp, requires a fix that is only available in the 1.0.20 release right now. This version is not bundled with the kernel yet, as it was only released yesterday (my kernel says it's got 1.0.18a actually). My reason for using the git code before was due to the headphone output; the git snapshots were the only place to get a driver that supported the headphone output (after I pestered the developers about it). Now that 1.0.20 is finally available, I want to switch.
After playing around a little more, I can still only conclude that I have no idea what's going on. PCM control was working fine before, but now it's dead. Even if I try to revert my system back to it's last working state, it stays dead.
For the record:
git source - everything ok
installed 1.0.20 alsa-driver from portage - no PCM control & 24-bit output stops working from Audacious
installed 1.0.20 alsa-driver manually - same
back to git source (old version) - still same
Seems like some configuration got changed. Don't think it can be the code. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
EzInKy Veteran
Joined: 11 Oct 2002 Posts: 1742 Location: Kentucky
|
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 5:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
I see, and certainly understand needing the latest drivers to get things to work. I'm using the git-sources for my kernel right now due to some flakiness with ICH10 chipsets. Your original post didn't mention the headset so I assumed the PCM control was the only issue, sorry. _________________ Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the8lack8ox n00b
Joined: 03 Feb 2009 Posts: 29 Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
|
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 7:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Now I've done it. I removed the /var/lib/alsa/asound.state file, set the init script to not save mixer levels, and rebooted. The PCM control no longer appears at all. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the8lack8ox n00b
Joined: 03 Feb 2009 Posts: 29 Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
|
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 8:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Victory!! I found a way to fix it. First, remove the old /var/lib/alsa/asound.state file, which gets corrupted I believe. Then, take the old /usr/share/alsa/CMI8788.conf from version 1.0.19 and use it to replace the new CMI8788.conf (in the same location) that 1.0.20 installs. Seems like the new file is missing some lines that setup the PCM control or something (I really don't understand how these conf files work).
Code: | --- /usr/share/alsa/cards/CMI8788.conf.old 2009-05-07 04:20:05.951229301 -0400
+++ /usr/share/alsa/cards/CMI8788.conf 2009-05-07 04:34:12.396042955 -0400
@@ -13,7 +13,7 @@
card $CARD
}
-# default with dmix & dsnoop
+# default with dmix+softvol & dsnoop
CMI8788.pcm.default {
@args [ CARD ]
@args.CARD {
@@ -23,8 +23,15 @@
playback.pcm {
type plug
slave.pcm {
- @func concat
- strings [ "dmix:" $CARD ",FORMAT=S32_LE" ]
+ type softvol
+ slave.pcm {
+ @func concat
+ strings [ "dmix:" $CARD ",FORMAT=S32_LE" ]
+ }
+ control {
+ name "PCM Playback Volume"
+ card $CARD
+ }
}
}
capture.pcm {
|
EDIT: Ok. Not complete victory. For some reason, this only works when using the "default" PCM handle and not with "hw" or "plughw." Also, this change seems to have been the source of the issue.
Quote: | - oxygen: remove softvol plugin
The change that removed the Master controls for Xonar D2(X) cards was
reverted, so we don't need to use the softvol plugin anymore ...
Signed-off-by: Clemens Ladisch <clemens@ladisch.de> |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|