View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ferrelas Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Jun 2008 Posts: 109
|
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:00 pm Post subject: Configuring wlan. [SOLVED] |
|
|
I've been trying to configure wlan on my laptop and this is the greatest hell that's ever been. I've gotten it working a few times with networkmanager so I know that my hardware is working, but it's always been very hard to convince networkmanager of this. I've setup wpa_supplicant too and it seems to work, I get connected and all, but no ip, and when I run dhcpcd on wlan0 I get an ip but it doesn't work still. :/
Code: | cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
# This is a network block that connects to any unsecured access point.
# We give it a low priority so any defined blocks are preferred.
# The below line not be changed otherwise we refuse to work
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
# Ensure that only root can read the WPA configuration
ctrl_interface_group=0
# Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1
# Simple case: WPA-PSK, PSK as an ASCII passphrase, allow all valid ciphers
network={
ssid="<ssid>"
proto=WPA
psk="<psk>"
# The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
priority=5
}
network={
key_mgmt=NONE
priority=-9999999
} |
Code: | cat /etc/conf.d/net
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
essid_wlan0="<ssid>"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
|
Code: | ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:68:71:c3:a9
inet addr:192.168.2.60 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21e:68ff:fe71:c3a9/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:60700 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:84872 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:12307599 (11.7 MiB) TX bytes:54131840 (51.6 MiB)
Interrupt:27 Base address:0x8000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8925 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8925 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:2565600 (2.4 MiB) TX bytes:2565600 (2.4 MiB)
wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:e1:92:86:a7
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:172 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:8625 (8.4 KiB) TX bytes:1197 (1.1 KiB)
wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1F-E1-92-86-A7-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
|
Code: | iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
wmaster0 no wireless extensions.
wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=27 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2352 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
sit0 no wireless extensions.
|
Also I'm wondering how to stop net.eth0 from being brought up at boot, I know there is some config file you do this in, but I forgot wich and I can't find the place I read about it last time.
Last edited by ferrelas on Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:11 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Raniz l33t
Joined: 13 Sep 2003 Posts: 967 Location: Varberg, Sweden
|
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've had my struggles with Networkmanager and WPA Supplicant aswell and unless you absolutely have to use Networkmanager I'd recommend you to try Wicd instead, I've been using it ever since I tried it the first time and I'm really happy with it. It's got a nice GUI written in QT and handles both wireless and wired connections with ease.
The easiest way to prevent net.eth0 from starting during startup is to remove it, that works well if you're using Wicd. I don't remember if Networkmanager handles wired connections aswell, if it doesn't you still need the net.eth0 symlink and I don't remember how to prevent it from starting automatically |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ferrelas Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Jun 2008 Posts: 109
|
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That worked like a charm, I can even begin to descibe how awesome you are for telling me this. Found out wich config file it was (/etc/conf.d/rc) from the message when installing wicd too.
Lycka till med studierna eller du kanske inte är student? Lycka och välgång iaf. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Raniz l33t
Joined: 13 Sep 2003 Posts: 967 Location: Varberg, Sweden
|
Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Glad you liked it, wicd is not that widespread (which is sad since it's the best network manager I've seen).
Tack, finns ingen anledning att vara i Lund om man inte pluggar :p |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|