View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Etsh n00b
Joined: 09 Jul 2009 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:57 pm Post subject: Network interface Eth0 does not exist |
|
|
hi all
i have used minimal Live CD "Gentoo Linux x86"and network was working well
and after setup is finished and when i boot to Gentoo this error is appeared
" * Network interface eth0 does not exist
*please verify hardware or kernel module (driver)
Error
cannot start net mount as net.eth0 could start "
and i'm sure that i include etho support when i compile kernal
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
My_World Guru
Joined: 01 Sep 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Kalahari Desert
|
Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
First off, how do you know that you included eth0?
First of, give us the output of:
lspci
That will tell you what kernel drivers needs to be installed. _________________ "Ubuntu" - an African word meaning "Gentoo is too hard for me". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Etsh n00b
Joined: 09 Jul 2009 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
as i checked the box of 100MB Eth0 support in menuconfig
and output of lspci is 02:02.0 ethernet controller : VIA Technologies .INC VT6/05/VT61106s [Rhine - III] (rev 86)
and do i need to recompile the kernel after add any driver or i can recompile the new drivers only ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
My_World Guru
Joined: 01 Sep 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Kalahari Desert
|
Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
Device Drivers --> Network device support --> [*] Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit) --> [*] EISA, VLB, PCI and on board controllers + <*> VIA Rhine support
|
Exit and save.
Code: |
make && make modules_install
mount /boot (If you followed the handbook)
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/ (or however you specify your kernels)
|
I take it you use GRUB for your boor loader, so nothing more needed.
Now:
Code: |
nano -w /etc/conf.d/net
|
Change it to reflect how you would like your card setup.
Code: |
cp /etc/init.d/net /etc/init.d/net.eth0
rc-update add net.eth0 default
|
Reboot and it should work now. _________________ "Ubuntu" - an African word meaning "Gentoo is too hard for me". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Etsh n00b
Joined: 09 Jul 2009 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | cp /etc/init.d/net /etc/init.d/net.eth0 |
in first path which file u mean
net.lo or netmount ??? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
V-Li Retired Dev
Joined: 03 Jan 2006 Posts: 613
|
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Check if there are other network devices like /dev/eth1
Code: | dmesg | grep eth[0-9] |
can also help you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
My_World Guru
Joined: 01 Sep 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Kalahari Desert
|
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 11:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0
That is the politically correct way. _________________ "Ubuntu" - an African word meaning "Gentoo is too hard for me". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Etsh n00b
Joined: 09 Jul 2009 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
during booting ,it stopped at
* Setting user font ...... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
My_World Guru
Joined: 01 Sep 2003 Posts: 339 Location: Kalahari Desert
|
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you followed the Handbook to the letter?
If you struggle with the kernel then use genkernel. Read up in the handbook how to use it and configure your boot-loader.
That at least will get you a bootable system with a working network connection. _________________ "Ubuntu" - an African word meaning "Gentoo is too hard for me". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
krinn Watchman
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
blacklist net start and try start it by hand yourself to see if you kernel could boot as
nano /etc/rc.conf
change rc_hotplug="!net.*"
after that if your kernel boot file, try /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Etsh n00b
Joined: 09 Jul 2009 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
during booting , i pressed I to interact
then skipped the net.lo and netmount , net.eth0 coud not satrt as the net.lo skipped
and booting goes well and system starts again and tried to start them , but fail
what can i do??? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|