View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jeanluca Apprentice
Joined: 08 Jan 2005 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 3:16 pm Post subject: wireless network setup: RaLink 3090 with WPA2 |
|
|
Hi All
I've tried a couple of things to get my ralink card working and tried to connect to my router through WPA2
1) I installed the driver for my Ralink (downloaded the 2009_0612_RT3090_Linux_STA_V2.1.0.0_DPO driver source) seems to work
2) ifconfig -a
Code: | eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:c0:05:c2:25
inet addr:192.168.1.19 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::201:c0ff:fe05:c225/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:41202 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:27059 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:45859686 (43.7 MiB) TX bytes:2933665 (2.7 MiB)
Interrupt:16 Base address:0x2000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
ra0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17
|
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: |
modules="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_ra0="-Dwext"
config_ra0="dhcp"
config_eth0="dhcp"
dhcp_eth0="nontp"
|
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code: | ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
#wpa_supplicant_ra0="-Drt3090sta"
ap_scan=1
network={
ssid="myrouter"
#key_mgmt-WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
group=CCMP
proto=RSN
psk=9c8b27977aac392afe3fffee0dd513e3b174fdb6466f99d4c7662e1b2e85e184
}
|
I've no idea what to put in wpa_supplicant.conf, so I can connect with my router which uses 'WPA2'
For example, if I do
Code: | # /etc/init.d/net.ra0 start
* Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ]
* Starting ra0
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
* Starting wpa_supplicant on ra0 ...
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
Could not set interface 'ra0' UP [ ok ]
* Starting wpa_cli on ra0 ... [ ok ]
* Backgrounding ...
|
Doesn't look right, but it does something
Code: |
$> wpa_cli
wpa_cli
wpa_cli v0.6.4
Copyright (c) 2004-2008, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors
This program is free software. You can distribute it and/or modify it
under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2.
Alternatively, this software may be distributed under the terms of the
BSD license. See README and COPYING for more details.
Selected interface 'ra0'
Interactive mode
> <2>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<2>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<2>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
|
Any help would be appreciated, because I've now clue whats going on here!? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 5:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try this (changes in blue)
/etc/conf.d/net:
Quote: | modules_ra0="wpa_supplicant"
#wpa_supplicant_ra0="-Dwext"
config_ra0="dhcp"
dhcpd_ra0="-t 10"
#config_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcp_eth0="nontp" |
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Quote: | ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
#wpa_supplicant_ra0="-Drt3090sta"
#ap_scan=1
network={
ssid="myrouter"
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
group=CCMP TKIP
#proto=RSN
psk=9c8b27977aac392afe3fffee0dd513e3b174fdb6466f99d4c7662e1b2e85e184
} |
break the /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> /etc/init.d/net.lo link
Code: | rm /etc/init.d/net.eth0 |
check/make the /etc/init.d/net.ra0 -> /etc/init.d/net.lo link
Code: | ls -l /etc/init.d/ | grep -i ra0 |
If net.ra0 -> net.lo does not show up:
Code: | cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.ra0 |
let hal and udev start the nic:
Code: | rc-update del net.eth0
rc-update del net.ra0 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanluca Apprentice
Joined: 08 Jan 2005 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
thnx a lot!! I guess the configuration files are now correct, but I still get the SIOCSIFFLAGS messages
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.ra0 start
* One of the files in /etc/{conf.d,init.d} or /etc/rc.conf
* has a modification time in the future!
* Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ]
* Starting ra0
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
* Starting wpa_supplicant on ra0 ...
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
Could not set interface 'ra0' UP [ ok ]
* Starting wpa_cli on ra0 ... [ ok ]
* Backgrounding ...
| Is this something which might be caused by a miss configured kernel ?
BTW I didn't remove net.eth0 because I work remote on this machine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 1:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
* has a modification time in the future! --> your clock was/is misset
Before compiling the rt3090 driver did you?
Quote: | In <your path>/2009_0612_RT3090_Linux_STA_V2.1.0.0_DPOos/linux/config.mk
** Build for being controlled by NetworkManager or wpa_supplicant wext functions
Please set 'HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT=y' and 'HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT=y'. |
Last edited by DONAHUE on Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:08 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanluca Apprentice
Joined: 08 Jan 2005 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I missed the firmware
So, now its all working. I can do
However it doesn't connect with my router!
If I do net.ra0 start I see the following in my messages
Code: | ul 20 17:04:14 tux RX DESC e7fa2000 size = 2048
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux <-- RTMPAllocTxRxRingMemory, Status=0
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux Key1Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux Key2Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux Key3Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux Key4Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux AntDiversity=0
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux 1. Phy Mode = 9
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux 2. Phy Mode = 9
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux NVM is Efuse and its size =2d[2d0-2fc]
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux 3. Phy Mode = 9
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux RTMPSetPhyMode: channel is out of range, use first channel=1
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux MCS Set = ff 00 00 00 01
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux <==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux 0x1300 = 00064300
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux AUX_CTRL = 0x 1d42
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux Read AUX_CTRL = 0x1d42
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux Write AUX_CTRL = 0x1d42
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux OSC_CTRL = 0x3ff11
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux ====> rt30xx Read PowerLevelMode = 0x3.
Jul 20 17:04:14 tux ====> rt30xx F Write 0x83 Command = 0x3.
Jul 20 17:04:20 tux ===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 3(3) BSS returned, data->length = 478
Jul 20 17:04:20 tux ==>rt_ioctl_siwfreq::SIOCSIWFREQ[cmd=0x8b04] (Channel=1)
Jul 20 17:04:24 tux ra0: no IPv6 routers present
Jul 20 17:04:35 tux ===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 3(3) BSS returned, data->length = 478
Jul 20 17:04:35 tux ==>rt_ioctl_siwfreq::SIOCSIWFREQ[cmd=0x8b04] (Channel=1)
| I get the impression something is wrong with the key!?
UPDATE: the key was generated as follows
Code: |
$> wpa_passphrase myrouter "djwkdiddj ekajsjehins"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I use an 8 character key which requires quotes, PSK="abcdefgh"
The router has the same key as the NIC?
Before compiling the rt3090 driver did you?
Quote:
In <your path>/2009_0612_RT3090_Linux_STA_V2.1.0.0_DPOos/linux/config.mk
** Build for being controlled by NetworkManager or wpa_supplicant wext functions
Please set 'HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT=y' and 'HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT=y'. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanluca Apprentice
Joined: 08 Jan 2005 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wow, thats it
The strange thing is that I still see the Key1Str problem:
Code: | Jul 20 17:49:45 tux RX DESC f6383000 size = 2048
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux <-- RTMPAllocTxRxRingMemory, Status=0
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux Key1Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux Key2Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux Key3Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux Key4Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux AntDiversity=0
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux 1. Phy Mode = 9
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux 2. Phy Mode = 9
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux NVM is Efuse and its size =2d[2d0-2fc]
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux 3. Phy Mode = 9
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux RTMPSetPhyMode: channel is out of range, use first channel=1
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux MCS Set = ff 00 00 00 01
Jul 20 17:49:46 tux <==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
Jul 20 17:49:46 tux 0x1300 = 00064300
Jul 20 17:49:46 tux AUX_CTRL = 0x 1d42
Jul 20 17:49:46 tux Read AUX_CTRL = 0x1d42
Jul 20 17:49:46 tux Write AUX_CTRL = 0x1d42
Jul 20 17:49:46 tux OSC_CTRL = 0x3ff11
Jul 20 17:49:46 tux ====> rt30xx Read PowerLevelMode = 0x3.
Jul 20 17:49:46 tux ====> rt30xx F Write 0x83 Command = 0x3.
Jul 20 17:49:51 tux ===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 3(3) BSS returned, data->length = 478
Jul 20 17:49:51 tux ==>rt_ioctl_siwfreq::SIOCSIWFREQ[cmd=0x8b04] (Channel=1)
Jul 20 17:49:51 tux wpa_cli: interface ra0 CONNECTED
Jul 20 17:49:52 tux dhcpcd[13407]: ra0: dhcpcd 4.0.13 starting
Jul 20 17:49:52 tux dhcpcd[13407]: ra0: broadcasting for a lease
Jul 20 17:49:53 tux dhcpcd[13407]: ra0: offered 192.168.1.22 from 192.168.1.1
Jul 20 17:49:53 tux dhcpcd[13407]: ra0: acknowledged 192.168.1.22 from 192.168.1.1
Jul 20 17:49:53 tux dhcpcd[13407]: ra0: checking 192.168.1.22 is available on attached networks
Jul 20 17:49:53 tux dhcpcd[13407]: ra0: ignoring message; no Server ID
Jul 20 17:49:56 tux ra0: no IPv6 routers present
Jul 20 17:49:58 tux dhcpcd[13407]: ra0: leased 192.168.1.22 for 604800 seconds
| so I guess it has to do with something else!!
Thnx you so much!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Jul 20 17:49:45 tux Key1Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux Key2Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux Key3Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Jul 20 17:49:45 tux Key4Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0) |
related to WEP, i believe, so not meaningful for your situation.
excellent catch on the firmware, my 2860 compiles/installs put the firmware on integrally, I would have been a longtime guessing on that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanluca Apprentice
Joined: 08 Jan 2005 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 3:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
the firmware problem is really odd. Also the location (/etc/Wireless) is strange. For those interested, the fix is:
Code: | $> cd /etc/Wireless
$> ln -s ln -s RT3090STA RT2860STA
|
One more thing, when I remove net.eth0 and net.ra0 from rc-update I don't think anything will start!
So, what shoud udev do ?
UPDATE: I donwloaded the driver from http://www.ralinktech.com/ralink/Home/Support/Linux.html
Last edited by jeanluca on Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:09 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
if they don't start, leave them in.
If they don't start, I probably have made some kernel choices that you haven't or vice versa.
I have dbus and hal in USE=" in /etc/make.conf |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanluca Apprentice
Joined: 08 Jan 2005 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
If I add hal and dbus and rebuild some packages I get the following message during boot
Code: | waiting for uevents to be processed |
which seems to take forever (it never continues), so I think I'll keep net.ra0! and remove hal and dbus!
thnx a lot
LuCa |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|