View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Drusselnahg n00b

Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:56 pm Post subject: OpenVPN, cannot accept two client |
|
|
Hi all, i'm trying to get openvpn with more than one client working.
here is my config:
internet-----> eth0[gentoo server box] eth1<-----> [ethernet switch] <---> LAN
And, in the server:
eth0 ---> NAT,DHCP <----> br0 (tap0,eth1) where tap0 is used by openvpn
i have 2 purpose to get openvpn to act as a switch and not a router:
* PC have same IP if they are connected from LAN or VPN
* port forwarding
i have to use tap, not tun , for non-IP based protocol
If one openvpn is connected to the openvpn server, further client cannot.
here is my server.conf
local XX.XX.XX.XX (I hide my public address and port for security purpose)
port XX
proto tcp-server
dev tap0
tls-server
ca /etc/openvpn/easy-rsa/keys/ca.crt
cert /etc/openvpn/easy-rsa/keys/server.crt
key /etc/openvpn/easy-rsa/keys/server.key
dh /etc/openvpn/easy-rsa/keys/dh2048.pem
keepalive 10 120
comp-lzo
max-clients 10
persist-key
persist-tun
log-append /var/log/openvpn.log
Here is the body of clients config:
client
dev tap
proto tcp
remote XX.XX.XX.XX XX
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
persist-key
persist-tun
ca ca.crt
cert clientX.crt
key clientX.key
comp-lzo
client1 and client2 have the same config file (except that client1.crt is replaced by client2.crt, and client2 ...), the key are NOT identical, and ca.crt is the same file on every computer.
The problem i have: if one client is already connected, the second one cannot connect
here is a log of a windows client
OpenVPN 2.0.9 Win32-MinGW [SSL] [LZO] built on Oct 1 2006
OpenVPN's default port number is now 1194, based on an official port number assignment by IANA. OpenVPN 2.0-beta16 and earlier used 5000 as the default port.
WARNING: No server certificate verification method has been enabled. See http://openvpn.net/howto.html#mitm for more info.
WE_INIT maxevents=4 flags=0x00000002
WE_INIT maxevents=4 capacity=8
LZO compression initialized
MTU DYNAMIC mtu=0, flags=1, 0 -> 140
TLS: tls_session_init: entry
PID packet_id_init seq_backtrack=0 time_backtrack=0
PID packet_id_init seq_backtrack=0 time_backtrack=0
TLS: tls_session_init: new session object, sid=836de333 06d6dcc5
TLS: tls_session_init: entry
PID packet_id_init seq_backtrack=0 time_backtrack=0
PID packet_id_init seq_backtrack=0 time_backtrack=0
tls_session_init: new session object, sid=462fb63f bb4a9a80
Control Channel MTU parms [ L:1576 D:140 EF:40 EB:0 ET:0 EL:0 ]
MTU DYNAMIC mtu=1450, flags=2, 1576 -> 1450
REMOTE_LIST len=1 current=0
[0] XX.XX.XX.XX:XX
RESOLVE_REMOTE flags=0x0001 phase=1 rrs=0 sig=-1 status=1
Data Channel MTU parms [ L:1576 D:1450 EF:44 EB:135 ET:32 EL:0 AF:3/1 ]
Local Options String: 'V4,dev-type tap,link-mtu 1576,tun-mtu 1532,proto TCPv4_CLIENT,comp-lzo,cipher BF-CBC,auth SHA1,keysize 128,key-method 2,tls-client'
Expected Remote Options String: 'V4,dev-type tap,link-mtu 1576,tun-mtu 1532,proto TCPv4_SERVER,comp-lzo,cipher BF-CBC,auth SHA1,keysize 128,key-method 2,tls-server'
Local Options hash (VER=V4): '31fdf004'
Expected Remote Options hash (VER=V4): '3e6d1056'
STREAM: RESET
INIT maxlen=1576
Attempting to establish TCP connection with XX.XX.XX.XX:XX
TCP: connect to XX.XX.XX.XX:XX failed, will try again in 5 seconds
..
TCP: connect to XX.XX.XX.XX:XX failed, will try again in 5 seconds
..
TCP: connect to XX.XX.XX.XX:XX failed, will try again in 5 seconds
..
No special information in the server log can be read, not in openvpn.log (even with verb 9) ,nor in syslog.
And, when the first client disconnects, the second one can immediately connect.
if anyone could help me..
And sorry for my poor english.
Regards,
Drusselnahg. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mad Merlin Veteran

Joined: 09 May 2005 Posts: 1155
|
Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What happens if you change tap0 in your server config to just tap?
(I ask because I don't think two clients can ultimately use the same tap interface, so with two clients connected you should have tap0 and tap1, and when you specify tap0 instead of just tap in the config file, it uses exactly that device rather than creating a new one.) _________________ Game! - Where the stick is mightier than the sword! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Drusselnahg n00b

Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
it won't do it, because even if a new interface is created, how can I automaticly add it to my bridge (br0) afterwards ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Hunt Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Isn't this more of a routing problem?
I use tun and ifconfig-pool-persist in the server conf, and I can connect many clients simultaneously.
I found this in the openvpn example configurations documentation.
On the server side I have this
Code: | # cat /etc/openvpn/openvpn.conf
port 11194
proto tcp
dev tun
ca privnet/ca.crt
cert privnet/server.crt
key privnet/server.key
dh privnet/dh1024.pem
server 192.168.5.0 255.255.255.0
ifconfig-pool-persist ipp.txt
keepalive 10 120
comp-lzo
user nobody
group nobody
persist-key
persist-tun
status openvpn-status.log
verb 3 | Code: | # cat /etc/openvpn/ipp.txt
tango,192.168.5.5
alpha,192.168.5.6
test,192.168.5.7
windows1,192.168.5.8
client2,192.168.5.9
client1,192.168.5.10
bambi,192.168.5.11
|
On the clients I have something like this Code: | client
dev tun
proto tcp
remote <servername> 11194
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
user nobody
group nobody
persist-key
persist-tun
ca ca.crt
cert bambi.crt
key bambi.key
comp-lzo
ns-cert-type server
cipher BF-CBC
status openvpn-status.log
verb 3
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Drusselnahg n00b

Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
As i said, i cannot use tun devices.
Tun tun..ells (bad play on words ,I know ) only IP packets
By the way, what is your 192.168.5.0 host ? An host generated by OpenVPN in your vpn ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bbgermany Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 1844 Location: Oranienburg/Germany
|
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
i use OpenVPN with a bridged interface as well. Tap is the correct answer in this case. Maybe you dont have enough IPs left for the clients. I will just show my config, maybe you can find some useful information for you in it:
Code: |
port 1194
proto udp
dev tap0
dev-type tap
ca /etc/openvpn/ca.crt
cert /etc/openvpn/server.crt
key /etc/openvpn/server.key
dh /etc/openvpn/dh1536.pem
server-bridge 192.168.23.20 255.255.255.0 192.168.23.250 192.168.23.251
ifconfig-pool-persist /etc/openvpn/ipp-ext.txt
keepalive 10 120
tls-server
tls-auth /etc/openvpn/tls.key 0
cipher AES-256-CBC
comp-lzo
verb 3
status /etc/openvpn/openvpn-status.log
client-config-dir /etc/openvpn/ccd
persist-key
persist-tun
reneg-sec 1200
keepalive 10 120
client-to-client
|
i can connect 2 clients, coz of the range from 250 to 251.
bb _________________ Desktop: Ryzen 7 5800X, 32GB, 2TB, RX7700XT
Noebook: Dell XPS 13 9370, 16GB, 1TB
Server #1: Ryzen 5 Pro 4650G, 64GB, 16.5TB
Server #2: Ryzen 4800H, 32GB, 22TB |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Drusselnahg n00b

Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't understand why the number of IPs should interfer.
I use OpenVPN for the ethernet layer (OSI 2) , not the IP one (OSI 3).
And i already have more than "one IP" over the VPN tunnel , as fallow:
OpenVPN (server)------OpenVPN (client) tap0------bridge(tap0,eth0)
if I put a switch on eth0 connected to 3 computers , it works fine : all computers have access to the LAN behind the server (and vice-versa) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Drusselnahg n00b

Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, okay, found it.
Just put
mode server
client-to-client
and that's all.
sorry for the loss of time |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|