View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:37 pm Post subject: system freezes while starting X |
|
|
Hi there,
I've bought my new Toshiba Satellite A350b laptop and I'm trying to install Gentoo here
I managed to install base system, but the problem appeared while configuring X
I generated my /root/xorg.conf.new ( http://pastebin.ca/1519383 ) using X -configure and executed X -config /root/xorg.conf.new
After this, system freezed and only black screen appeard and I was forced to reboot
I've been trying to solve this for days, so I decided to ask for your help
here's my /var/log/Xorg.0.log http://pastebin.ca/1519378
Thank you in advance |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do you have dbus and hald installed and started?
Run |
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 6:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mike Hunt wrote: | Do you have dbus and hald installed and started?
Run |
No I didn't have them installed
I've already installed and started them, but there's still the same problem |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Can you post your emerge --info please. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I see that you don't have hal and dbus in your USE flags.
What is the output of Code: | eselect profile list |
You could set it to a desktop profile (though that is not essential - only a suggestion)
And you can adjust your CFLAGS (though it's not essential). See Safe CFLAGS
Code: | CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=nocona -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}" |
And modify this line in /etc/make.conf to evdev only if you put hal and dbus in your USE flags Code: | INPUT_DEVICES="evdev" |
Also remember to add hald and dbus to your default runlevel Code: | rc-update add hald default
rc-update add dbus default |
And finally update your system Code: | emerge --sync
emerge -uDN world |
What happens now? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've done everything including not essential tips, I still have the same problem |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
You should fix that mkfontdir problem described at the beginning of your Xorg.0.log file, either manually as described, or you can re-emerge all your fonts Code: | emerge -1 $(qlist -IC media-fonts) | Not sure if that will solve your lockups.
If not then post the output of Code: | emerge --info; rc-status; lspci | That being your new emerge --info, since you made changes.
You may need to emerge sys-apps/pciutils if you don't have lspci.
Also did you try startx without an xorg.conf
You can also look at the X.org Lockups (part III) Sticky thread for more ideas. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
same thing happens when I tried to instal ubuntu, and I found out that others have some X issues with this laptop too |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, post the output of Code: | egrep '^[^#].*(FB|VGA|RADEON)' /usr/src/linux/.config |
And try with this minimal /etc/X11/xorg.conf Code: | Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "radeon"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "dri"
Mode 0666
EndSection
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So I tried it with your minimal config (after few necessary changes) and there's still the same problem
I found out that few people managed to get X work on this laptop with vesa driver
So I tried VESA driver and X started successfully, but there's one thing left to do - my VESA driver seems to support just 1024x768 resolution
Is there any way how can I force it to work with my 1366x768 resolution? 1024 looks pretty ugly on my wide screen
Thank you |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try this /etc/X11/xorg.conf (without changes) and paste the /var/log/Xorg.0.log at pastebin please
Code: | Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "radeon"
VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1366x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "dri"
Mode 0666
EndSection
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | (EE) ioctl EVIOCGNAME failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
(EE) Failed to load module "endev" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) No input driver matching `endev' |
That is very strange. Please post the output of
Code: | egrep '^[^#].*(FB|VGA|RADEON|EVDEV)' /usr/src/linux/.config |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm sorry but I wasn't able to touch this laptop for a long time,
so the output is
Code: | CONFIG_INPUT_EVDEV=y
CONFIG_VIDEO_FB_IVTV=m
CONFIG_USB_VIDEO_CLASS_INPUT_EVDEV=y
CONFIG_USB_PWC_INPUT_EVDEV=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FILLRECT=m
CONFIG_FB_SYS_COPYAREA=m
CONFIG_FB_SYS_IMAGEBLIT=m
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FOPS=m
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR=y
CONFIG_USB_SISUSBVGA=m
CONFIG_USB_SISUSBVGA_CON=y |
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
javo,
post the results of lspci -n , lsusb, and cat /proc/cpuinfo, as well as your /etc/fstab file and your current kernel .config.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There were lots of issues with your kernel. I started you fresh with a kernel seed. If you want to experiment, it's always best to start with a known good base. Now you have one.
Click here for your new .config. Compile as is.
For the best results, please do the following:
1) Move your .config file out of your kernel source directory (/usr/src/linux-2.6.30-gentoo-r4).
2) Issue the command make mrproper. This is a destructive step. It returns the source to pristine condition. Unmoved .config files will be deleted!
3) Copy my .config into your source directory.
4) Issue the command make && make modules_install.
5) Install the kernel as you normally would, and reboot.
6) Once it boots, please post /var/log/dmesg so I can see how things loaded.
X may or may not settle right down with this kernel. If not, enter this command: emerge libdrm && emerge mesa && emerge xorg-server && emerge $(qlist -IC x11-drivers). If it is still problematic, post your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and /var/log/Xorg.0.log.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
VoidMage Watchman
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for hijacking, but...
Pappy, could you look at my kernel config and tell me if you see anything
particularly insane there. and if so, why.
It's on http://pastebin.ca/1577073.
I don't think I have any problems with it, just want to know if I didn't miss
anything. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Group/Fair cpu scheduling, or any variant thereof are worthless slowdowns. I have yet to read of a userspace app. Most people fumble about with it without ever making do anything but slow down the machine.
APM is dead. It has been for some time. The only things that used it were laptops, to the best of my knowledge. It's not insane, but it's not needed, either.
If this is for a laptop/desktop, you want preemptable rcu. It makes things faster.
The stuff under Enable the block layer is unneeded unless you plan on dumping a two terabyte file onto one hard drive, or a RAID.
Since you're running an AMD chip, you don't need any Intel additions.
Worst of all, mixing ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL and SATA drivers is bad news, especially if you have an ICH7 or greater chipset. That can cause conflicts and locks. You have other conflicts as well. I'd suggest checking out one of my seeds, or dropping the usual info (lspci -n, lsusb, cat /proc/cpuinfo, /etc/fstab) will get me to whip one up for you.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
VoidMage Watchman
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, apm is probably dead, but IIRC, on old (and I mean really old)
hardware it was needed for shutdown to power off the computer,
instead of just halting.
While ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL and SATA drivers may conflict, I don't really
have SATA hardware (it's in kernel just in case).
And this is a bit dated (though not horribly so):
Epox 8RDA3+ motherboard. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
In make xconfig, If you look under Processor type and features, you will find the option, Enable X86 board specific fixups for reboot. Turn it on and retry. That usually does the trick. If it doesn't, you can see if there's a BIOS update. If not, get something a bit newer.
Quote: | While ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL and SATA drivers may conflict, I don't really have SATA hardware (it's in kernel just in case). |
Just in case what? There isn't any problem running non-SATA devices using libata (SATA) drivers. I do it on two machines in my herd. If your /etc/fstab refers to /dev/sd(x), then having the ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL drivers is completely unnecessary. The possibility of conflict means that by definition, your system will never be stable. If you build a thing on an unstable base, you get an unstable thing.
I assume you asked me to look at your .config because you know I have some credibility when it comes to making a functional kernel. I say what I say because that's what I've found out working with old and new hardware and multiple versions of Linux and the Linux kernel. So why doubt what I say? I am not consistent in many things, but when it comes to Linux and the Linux kernel, I've got a fairly consistent record of making people smile with good running, stable Linux machines.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
javo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2007 Posts: 64
|
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pappy_mcfae:
thanks for your advice, but while executing the command make modules_install there was some kind of error, I can't google anything
Code: |
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.30-gentoo-r4/video/fglrx.ko needs unknown symbol refrigerator
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.30-gentoo-r4/video/fglrx.ko needs unknown symbol pci_disable_msi
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.30-gentoo-r4/video/fglrx.ko needs unknown symbol malloc_sizes
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.30-gentoo-r4/video/fglrx.ko needs unknown symbol pci_enable_msi_block
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try reemerging fglrx.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|