Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
install KDE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:55 pm    Post subject: install KDE Reply with quote

i install kde follow this :
Code:

2. KDE

KDE is a graphical desktop environment for Linux and Unix workstations.

# emerge kdebase-startkde                      (Install the base KDE components)
# emerge kicker kmenuedit                                  (Install the taskbar)
# emerge kate kcontrol knetattach konqueror konsole kpdf    (Install additional)
# env-update; source /etc/profile                  (Update the system variables)
# su <user>                                           (Test it as non-root user)
$ echo "exec startkde" > ~/.xinitrc                        (Configure X startup)
$ source /etc/profile                              (Update the system variables)
$ startx                                                             (Start KDE)
$ exit                                                            (Back to root)
# ls /etc/X11/Sessions                                    (Look for KDE version)
# nano -w /etc/rc.conf                      (Modify XSESSION and DISPLAYMANAGER)
# rc-update add xdm default                      (Set graphical session at boot)
# reboot                                              (Reboot and login as root)

but when i use startx it say bash:startx : command not found :(
this is my use flag :
Code:

USE="-gtk qt3 qt4 kde kdeprefix ...."

Thanks ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

startx belongs to x11-apps/xinit - do you have that inatalled?

also maybe you are not in enough groups - what is the output of
Code:
id <user>


And post the output of
Code:
eselect rc show ; eselect profile list


And post your emerge --info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i didnt install x11-app/xinitgentoo (plz tell me how to install this :( ):( and i dont know how to post all of there output because i dont have any desktop to coppy all of them :( sorry i;m noob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

x11-app/xinit should have been pulled in as a dependency, run
Code:
emerge -pv xinit
to see if it is in fact installed.

also you can emerge wgetpaste

then run
Code:
emerge --info | wgetpaste
and just post the URL e.g. http://dpaste.com/<some_number> :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you very much :D . here this :
http://dpaste.com/91491/
hehe i try install by
Code:
emerge xinit

then type
Code:
start x
it say
[/code]
xinit: Permission denied (errno 13) : so server "X" in PATH
......
Code:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok and do you have x11-app/xinit installed

Are you in the users and video groups? run id <user>

Look at eselect profile list - are you using a desktop profile? If not I would suggest setting a desktop profile if you wish, because it will provide most of the USE flags that you need for KDE4.

Also it would be a good idea to run
Code:
perl-cleaner all && revdep-rebuild
to make sure your box is consistent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

id :
Code:

uid=1000(zenny) gid=1000(zenny) groups=1000(zenny),100(users)

in eselect profile list : it have "*" in
Code:

1. default/linux/x86/2008.0

how can i change this ? because in 2. have desktop
.......
and i will add kde4 in my use flags ??
i finished
Code:

perl-cleaner all && revdep-rebuild
it say
Code:
revdep-rebuild
command not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops revdep-rebuild is in package gentoolkit
Code:
emerge gentoolkit && revdep-rebuild


To set a desktop profile
Code:
eselect profile set N
where N is 2008.0/desktop or 10.0/desktop

After you set the desktop profile run
Code:
emerge -uDN world


Add yourself to some groups
Code:
gpasswd -a <you> video


These are all groups that are good to belong to
    daemon tty lp wheel cron audio cdrom video games users portage messagebus haldaemon plugdev


When you add yourself to groups you need to then logout then log back in for the changes to take effect.

Also make sure you start hald dbus and consolekit before running KDE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Also make sure you start hald dbus and consolekit before running KDE.

Sorry but how start hald and dbus ... :(( i did like you but but dont start them and when start x ... error like the first .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, you need to run this :

Code:

# rc-update show


And if they are not started, then run this :

Code:

# rc-update add hald default
# rc-update add consolekit defaut
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i did it and when login user : type startx , it error :( :
Code:

Xinit : connection refused (errno 111):unable to connect to X server
Xinit:no such process (errno 3) server error .
[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

remove the file $HOME/.Xauthority

then startx without an xorg.conf file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i type :
Code:
rm -r $HOME/.Xauthority

it say no directory or file ,...[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Replace $home with your username actually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

uhm... i
Code:
rm -r /home/zenny/.Xauthority
then i type startx it make that file again and it say xinit server error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the output of
Code:
eselect rc show


And post the output of
Code:
ls -l /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eselect rc show :
Code:

consolekit    [started]
hald             [started]
local            [started]
Net.eth0       [started]
Netmount     [started]
Syslog-ng     [started]

ls -l
[img]http://uploadingit.com/thumbs/small/1425385_abaim/IMG0217A.jpg[/img][/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hint:

You CAN redirect the output of a command. For instance ls -l > mydirlisting will create a file mydirlisting with output of ls -l in it. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to start dbus
Code:
/etc/init.d/dbus start
eselect rc add dbus default


then try startx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Jagloverbut can you say more about this ? uhm i try do it , but like : startx -l > mylink . and cp to usb , when i open it ... it have nothing .
when i start x :
Code:

xinit : No such file or directory (errno2) : no sever "X" in PATH
...
...
Xinit server error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh? What are you trying to do exactly. For one thing there is no "-l" option for startx.

Did you start dbus?

What happened to your X? Post the output of this
Code:
echo $PATH ; which X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post this :

Code:

# emerge --info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how can i post this :( . uhm i always wrote all of them to page and then paste this again :( . How can i do it fast ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, if you have a USB Key, then run this :

Code:

# mkdir /mnt/usb
# mount /dev/your_device /mnt/usb
# cd /mnt/usb
# emerge --info > emerge.info
# cd /
# umount /mnt/usb


After that, then you will be able to cut and paste the result from a LiveCD or even an another distro or windows if you are really stuck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zenny wrote:
how can i post this :( . uhm i always wrote all of them to page and then paste this again :( . How can i do it fast ?


You already did (above)
Code:
emerge --info | wgetpaste


:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum