Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot emerge ati-drivers (all drivers are masked)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Boris_Bollokov
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:31 pm    Post subject: Cannot emerge ati-drivers (all drivers are masked) Reply with quote

I am new to linux and gentoo. This is my first experience with linux.

I installed the kernel using the installation manual found on the gentoo site.

I am trying to install X Server using "The X Server Configuration HOWTO" Manual.

I have done emerge xorg-server prior to intalling the ati drivers (Dont knowif that makes any difference)

Some System Details:

CPU: Intel
Kernel: 2.6.30-gentoo-r6
Graphics Gard: R700 chipset

My problem now is that i can't install ati-drivers. When I try to emerge ati-drivers, the system says:

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=x11-drivers/ati-drivers-9.6" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-drivers/ati-drivers-9.8 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)

This is some of the error log, further down it keeps mentioning that other ati-drivers are also masked. Then there is some addtional info that sasy that we shouldnt be using these drivers anymore.

If needed i can post a complete error log.

I would appreciate some help on this. Been googeling for last two days, now just gave up.

Cheers
tb5342
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the error message look like this?

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "x11-drivers/ati-drivers" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-drivers/ati-drivers-9.9-r2 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
- x11-drivers/ati-drivers-9.9 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
- x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.660 (masked by: package.mask, ~x86 keyword)