View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
justin_brody Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:16 pm Post subject: Broadcom 4322, and wpa_supplicant [SOLVED] |
|
|
Hello,
I'm trying to get Gentoo going on my new Macbook pro, and am having trouble getting the wireless working. Here's some basic info about the machine:
Code: | citta ~ # uname -a
Linux citta 2.6.30-gentoo-r6 #8 SMP Tue Sep 22 12:30:20 EDT 2009 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8700 @ 2.53GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
~# lspci
04:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
|
I'm running broadcom-sta version 5.10.91.9.3 and it seems to have at least basic functionality, since it can detect the right network:
Code: |
citta ~ # iwlist eth1 scan
eth1 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:14:D1:C4:83:8F
ESSID:"JB"
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.422 GHz (Channel 3)
Quality:5/5 Signal level:-30 dBm Noise level:-89 dBm
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: Unknown:DD780050F204104A0001101044000102103B000103104700107B4F0A5E138C3667ACC423180803EF3F102100085452454E446E65741023000A5445572D363331425250102400024131104200046E6F6E651054000800060050F204000110110013576972656C6573732031316E20526F75746572100800020004
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
|
On the other hand, I can't get it to connect properly:
Code: |
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart
* Stopping eth1
* Bringing down eth1
* Stopping dhcpcd on eth1 ...
[ ok ]
* Shutting down eth1 ...
[ ok ]
* Stopping wpa_cli on eth1 ...
[ ok ]
* Stopping wpa_supplicant on eth1 ...
[ ok ]
* Starting eth1
* Starting wpa_supplicant on eth1 ...
1253977045.894629: Initializing interface 'eth1' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
1253977045.894664: Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
1253977045.894670: Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
1253977045.894690: ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
1253977045.894696: ctrl_interface_group='0'
1253977045.894701: ap_scan=1
1253977045.894705: update_config=1
1253977045.894710: Line: 14 - start of a new network block
1253977045.894718: ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=2):
4a 42 JB
1253977045.894731: proto: 0x1
1253977045.894737: key_mgmt: 0x2
1253977045.894742: pairwise: 0x18
1253977045.894747: group: 0x1e
...
1253977045.914084: Priority group 10
1253977045.914089: id=0 ssid='JB'
1253977045.914093: id=1 ssid='FandM-WiFi'
1253977045.914097: Priority group 2
1253977045.914100: id=2 ssid='NQ2E7'
1253977045.914105: id=3 ssid='umd-secure'
1253977045.914108: Initializing interface (2) 'eth1'
1253977045.914337: SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=19 enc_capa=0xf
1253977045.914343: capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf flags 0x0
1253977045.914376: WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
1253977045.921462: Own MAC address: 00:26:08:e9:9c:66
1253977045.921470: wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
1253977045.921480: wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
1253977045.921495: wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
1253977045.921507: wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
1253977045.921518: wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
1253977045.921529: wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
1253977045.921543: wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
1253977045.921552: RSN: flushing PMKID list in the driver
1253977045.921562: Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
1253977045.922385: EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
1253977045.922391: EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
1253977045.922395: EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
1253977045.922399: EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
1253977045.922742: ctrl_interface_group=0
1253977045.922775: Added interface eth1
1253977045.922781: Daemonize..
|
Here's the relevant parts of my conf file:
Code: |
# This is a network block that connects to any unsecured access point.
# We give it a low priority so any defined blocks are preferred.
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1
update_config=1
#network={
# key_mgmt=NONE
# priority=-9999999
#}
network={
ssid="JB"
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
group=CCMP TKIP WEP104 WEP40
psk="******************"
priority=10
}
|
For what it's worth, it's the same config file I use on my dell-based gentoo box (that one uses built-in b43 driver though).
The router seems to acknowledge the machine, here's a bit of it's log:
Quote: |
INFO] Sat Sep 26 10:56:26 2009 Wireless system with MAC address 002608E99C66 disconnected for reason: Received Deauthentication.
[INFO] Sat Sep 26 10:56:23 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 96.231.168.137:54709 to 98.235.27.195:26315
[INFO] Sat Sep 26 10:55:47 2009 Above message repeated 11 times
[INFO] Sat Sep 26 10:55:43 2009 Wireless system with MAC address 002608E99C66 associated
|
I'm fresh out of ideas. Does anyone else have some?
Last edited by justin_brody on Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:56 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
If you compiled wpa_supplicant with the qt3 USE flag (and/or reportedly the qt4 as well), you will get a program called wpa_gui. This will give you the ability to scan for AP's, and to connect to them if they use WPA, and you know the passphrase. Give that a shot, and see what happens.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
justin_brody Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 12:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the tip!
When I start wpa_gui, I get a current status that says:
Quote: |
Status: COMPLETED
Authentication: WPA-PSK
Encryption: CCMP + TKIP
SSID: JB
|
All of which looks good. The IP address, however, is 169.254.135.242. Does this mean the problem is with dhcpcd? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
justin_brody Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
A little more info:
If I disconnect and then connect again, I get an intermediate error message that says "Association request to the driver failed". But then it says "Associated with ..." followed by "WPA: Key negotiation completed"
Still not getting an IP address though. I'm assuming the router settings are fine, because the same machine connects to the same router through OS X. Any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
You're not connecting fully. What you need to do is scan for your desired network with wpa_gui. Once the scan is complete, click on your network, fill out the information that wpa_supplicant requests, and go from there. Once you get connected, go to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf. You will see an entry for the connection you just set up. Move it to the top, make sure you're set for dhcp, and reboot. See where that takes you.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
justin_brody Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey Pappy,
Same behavior after reboot . I'm noticing the CONFIG_SSB_POSSIBLE is set to yes in my kernel conf. Would that mess me up? I couldn't figure out how to disable it either - if I just changed it to "n" in the configuration file it would be back at "y" after a make. Don't know if that's the issue anyway though.
Any other ideas? [Thanks for all your help by the way! This is the second time you've helped me out - I'm glad that there's such a kind soul out there!] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
If you're using the b43 module, then ssb must also be a module. If you are using broadcom-sta, you do not want ssb. The ssb driver will mess with broadcom-sta.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
You should post your .config that is related with the wifi section. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
justin_brody Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
#
# CONFIG_USBPCWATCHDOG is not set
CONFIG_SSB_POSSIBLE=y
#
# Sonics Silicon Backplane
#
# CONFIG_SSB is not set
#
# Packet Radio protocols
#
# CONFIG_AX25 is not set
# CONFIG_CAN is not set
# CONFIG_IRDA is not set
# CONFIG_BT is not set
# CONFIG_AF_RXRPC is not set
CONFIG_FIB_RULES=y
CONFIG_WIRELESS=y
CONFIG_CFG80211=y
# CONFIG_CFG80211_REG_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_WIRELESS_OLD_REGULATORY=y
CONFIG_WIRELESS_EXT=y
CONFIG_WIRELESS_EXT_SYSFS=y
CONFIG_LIB80211=y
# CONFIG_LIB80211_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_MAC80211=y
#
# Wireless LAN
#
# CONFIG_WLAN_PRE80211 is not set
CONFIG_WLAN_80211=y
# CONFIG_PCMCIA_RAYCS is not set
# CONFIG_LIBERTAS is not set
# CONFIG_LIBERTAS_THINFIRM is not set
# CONFIG_AIRO is not set
# CONFIG_ATMEL is not set
# CONFIG_AT76C50X_USB is not set
# CONFIG_AIRO_CS is not set
# CONFIG_PCMCIA_WL3501 is not set
# CONFIG_PRISM54 is not set# CONFIG_P54_COMMON is not set
# CONFIG_ATH5K is not set
# CONFIG_ATH9K is not set
# CONFIG_AR9170_USB is not set
# CONFIG_IPW2100 is not set
# CONFIG_IPW2200 is not set
# CONFIG_IWLWIFI is not set
# CONFIG_HOSTAP is not set
# CONFIG_B43 is not set
# CONFIG_B43LEGACY is not set
# CONFIG_ZD1211RW is not set
# CONFIG_RT2X00 is not set
# CONFIG_HERMES is not set
|
For what it's worth, I tried upgrading to broadocm0-sta-5.10.91.9.3-r1 -- no help. Thanks for your thoughts! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you're using broadcom-sta, change CONFIG_MAC80211=y to CONFIG_MAC80211=n. Broadcom-sta does not use the MAC80211 stack. It is possible it might conflict as well.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
In fact. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
justin_brody Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the tip -- sorry to take so long to try it out. I took that out of the kernel, no change unfortunately. Seems strange, since i know other people have gotten this working with the same hardware.
I'm going to give up for now and try again in a couple of months |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, no problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pappy_mcfae Watchman
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Someone will be here when you're ready. On that, you can depend.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
justin_brody Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm back
Just did a fresh install of the system; same behavior unfortunately. I saw a recent post where someone had what sounded like a similar issue and fixed it by not broadcasting the SSID. I tried that but it didn't seem to help. I do sort of think that the association with the router is going o.k.; but somehow the dhcp part isn't working? The router seems to see the machine.
Anyway, here's some log stuff. The wpa_cli output was produced while I tried to connect with wpa_gui. Any help very appreciated -- I'm missing gentoo greatly
Code: |
root@citta ~ # wpa_cli
wpa_cli v0.6.9
Copyright (c) 2004-2009, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors
This program is free software. You can distribute it and/or modify it
under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2.
Alternatively, this software may be distributed under the terms of the
BSD license. See README and COPYING for more details.
Selected interface 'eth1'
Interactive modes
> status
bssid=00:14:d1:c4:83:8f
ssid=JB
id=0
pairwise_cipher=CCMP
group_cipher=TKIP
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_state=COMPLETED
ip_address=169.254.15.31
> <2>CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED - Disconnect event - remove keys
<2>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<2>Trying to associate with 00:14:d1:c4:83:8f (SSID='JB' freq=2422 MHz)
<2>Association request to the driver failed
<2>Associated with 00:14:d1:c4:83:8f
<2>WPA: Key negotiation completed with 00:14:d1:c4:83:8f [PTK=CCMP GTK=TKIP]
<2>CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 00:14:d1:c4:83:8f completed (reauth) [id=0 id_str=]
> quit
root@citta ~ #
root@citta ~ #
root@citta ~ #
root@citta ~ # lspci -v
04:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
Subsystem: Apple Computer Inc. Device 008d
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 22
Memory at d3200000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information <?>
Capabilities: [e8] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Count=1/1 Enable-
Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
UESta: DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSVoil-
UEMsk: DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSVoil-
UESvrt: DLP+ SDES- TLP- FCP+ CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF+ MalfTLP+ ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSVoil-
CESta: RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr-
CESta: RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+
AERCap: First Error Pointer: 00, GenCap+ CGenEn- ChkCap+ ChkEn-
Capabilities: [13c] Virtual Channel <?>
Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 26-00-e9-ff-ff-08-66-9c
Capabilities: [16c] Power Budgeting <?>
Kernel driver in use: wl
Kernel modules: wl
root@citta ~ # ifconfig eth1
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:26:08:e9:9c:66
inet addr:169.254.15.31 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
inet6 addr: fe80::226:8ff:fee9:9c66/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:1574
TX packets:42 errors:6 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:15612 (15.2 KiB) TX bytes:8233 (8.0 KiB)
Interrupt:22
root@citta ~ # cat /etc/conf.d/net
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dwext"
dhcpcd_eth1="-r 192.168.10.108"
root@citta ~ # cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1
update_config=1
network={
ssid="JB"
psk="*****************"
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
priority=100
}
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, first your ip adresse is invalid :
Code: |
ip_address=169.254.15.31
|
Can you try this one instead /etc/conf.d/net :
Code: |
#WPA_SUPPLICANT
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dwext"
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
hoacker Guru
Joined: 04 Aug 2007 Posts: 505 Location: Bürstadt, Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
justin_brody Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes!!!! That worked!!!
Thank-you |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nice then |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hujuice Guru
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 336 Location: Rome, Italy
|
Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The solution made the job.
What's funny, for me, is that the hostap module has not been loaded.
Regards,
HUjuice _________________ Who hasn't a spine, should have a method.
Chi non ha carattere, deve pur avere un metodo. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wormite n00b
Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 6:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
After spending a whole week on this problem, I have reached the final conclusion of BCM4322 on my latitude:
The Broadcom people did a bad job regarding their 802.11n card's driver to work on linux.
For gentoo users here, this is the suggestion:
First, if you are using bcm4322, forget about current (<=2.6.31) kernel support of it, they don't, linuxwireless (google it) said they are still working on it, so I would guess 2.6.33 kernel has the same problem.
Second, forget about ndiswrapper. Currently the windows driver ported to linux doesn't work out of box with 80211n card.
You have only one choice, the broadcom-sta driver.
Its 5.10.xx version works, 5.60.xx currently is broken without the ability to do iwlist scan stably.
Now, if you grab any existing 5.10.xx driver from either suse or ubuntu, since the >2.6.31 driver got deprecated. (Ubuntu probably patched on its kernel to have their Karmic retaining the old 80211 thingy,namely net_device), the module won't compile till you patch the driver source at several places.(net_device and tkip part).
Now, with the patched kernel module, I have tested the module under two cases.
1st, home, wpa/wpa2 with tkip. Does not work.
2nd, school, wpa-enterprise with, obviously, not tkip encry. Works.
My conclusion here: change your home wlan to non-tkip and have a try, if it works, it works.
If anyone is going to play with this, post here and I'll post the patch of 5.10.xx driver source for >=2.6.31.(I didn't patch it very well for <=2.6.29, so I really don't want to let it out unless you are sure you have >=2.6.31 kernel)
I'll follow up my test of the 5.60.xx driver on school network.
Signing off,
worm |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wormite n00b
Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OK, consider this solved for me. I just tried at home, with wpa2 and encryption as ccmp, it is finally working, my wpa_supplicant file is as the following:
Code: |
# WPA2-EAP/CCMP using EAP-TLS
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
network={
ssid="fredHome"
#my home network is using WPA-PSK
key_mgmt=WPA-EAP WPA-PSK
#they WPA2 IS RSN
proto=WPA2 RSN
pairwise=CCMP
group=CCMP
#multiple file formats for your password, enable all of them
eap=TTLS PEAP TLS
#password
psk="your password in ASCII"
}
|
The wireless is no longer unstable, having been connected for several hours.
Finally! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|