Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] uninstalling an rpm
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:53 am    Post subject: [solved] uninstalling an rpm Reply with quote

I recently installed Google Desktop Linux according to this guide. Google Desktop Linux doesn't work at all so I am trying to uninstall it. In order to do that I need to use an rpm command but can't figure out what parmaters I should pass after reading the man page for rpm.
Here is a copy and paste of some relevant headings in the man page:

Quote:
INSTALLING, UPGRADING, AND REMOVING PACKAGES:
rpm {-i|--install} [install-options] PACKAGE_FILE ...



rpm {-U|--upgrade} [install-options] PACKAGE_FILE ...



rpm {-F|--freshen} [install-options] PACKAGE_FILE ...



rpm {-e|--erase} [--allmatches] [--nodeps] [--noscripts]
[--notriggers] [--repackage] [--test] PACKAGE_NAME ..

Which parameter would uninstall Google Desktop? -e? --erase? Here is the output of those parameters:
Code:

localhost Desktop # rpm -e google-desktop-linux-current.rpm
error: package google-desktop-linux-current.rpm is not installed
localhost drone4four # rpm --erase google-desktop-linux-current.rpm
error: package google-desktop-linux-current.rpm is not installed
localhost drone4four # exit
exit
drone4four@localhost ~ $

_________________
My rig:
IBM Personal System/2 Model 30-286 - - Intel 80286 (16 bit) 10 Mhz - - 1MB DRAM - - Integrated VGA Display adapter
1.44MB capacity Floppy Disk - - PS/2 keyboard (no mouse)


Last edited by Drone4four on Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:55 pm    Post subject: Re: uninstalling an rpm Reply with quote

I think you are using the wrong name for the package to be installed (it certainly does not have the rpm suffix if I remember correctly). What you need to do is:

rpm -l

Select packagename (1:1):

rpm -e <packagename>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rpml, rpm -l <packagename> and rpm -e <packagename> do nothing:
Code:
localhost Desktop # rpm -l google-desktop-linux-current.rpm
RPM version 4.4.6
Copyright (C) 1998-2002 - Red Hat, Inc.
This program may be freely redistributed under the terms of the GNU GPL

Usage: rpm [-aKfgpWHqVcdilsaKfgpWHqVKiv?] [-a|--all] [-f|--file] [-g|--group]
        [-p|--package] [-W|--ftswalk] [--pkgid] [--hdrid] [--fileid]
        [--specfile] [--triggeredby] [--whatrequires] [--whatprovides]
        [--nomanifest] [-c|--configfiles] [-d|--docfiles] [--dump] [-l|--list]
        [--queryformat=QUERYFORMAT] [-s|--state] [--nofdigests] [--nofiles]
        [--nodeps] [--noscript] [--comfollow] [--logical] [--nochdir]
        [--nostat] [--physical] [--seedot] [--xdev] [--whiteout]
        [--addsign] [-K|--checksig] [--delsign] [--import] [--resign]
        [--nodigest] [--nosignature] [--initdb] [--rebuilddb] [--aid]
        [--allfiles] [--allmatches] [--badreloc] [-e|--erase <package>+]
        [--excludedocs] [--excludepath=<path>] [--fileconflicts] [--force]
        [-F|--freshen <packagefile>+] [-h|--hash] [--ignorearch] [--ignoreos]
        [--ignoresize] [-i|--install] [--justdb] [--nodeps] [--nofdigests]
        [--nocontexts] [--noorder] [--nosuggest] [--noscripts]
        [--notriggers] [--oldpackage] [--percent] [--prefix=<dir>]
        [--relocate=<old>=<new>] [--repackage] [--replacefiles]
        [--replacepkgs] [--test] [-U|--upgrade <packagefile>+]
        [-D|--define 'MACRO EXPR'] [-E|--eval 'EXPR'] [--macros=<FILE:...>]
        [--nodigest] [--nosignature] [--rcfile=<FILE:...>] [-r|--root ROOT]
        [--querytags] [--showrc] [--quiet] [-v|--verbose] [--version]
        [-?|--help] [--usage] [--scripts] [--setperms] [--setugids]
        [--conflicts] [--obsoletes] [--provides] [--requires] [--suggests]
        [--enhances] [--info] [--changelog] [--xml] [--yaml] [--triggers]
        [--last] [--dupes] [--filesbypkg] [--fileclass] [--filecolor]
        [--filecontext] [--fscontext] [--recontext] [--fileprovide]
        [--filerequire] [--vendorprovides] [--vendorrequires]
        [--autorollback] [--buildpolicy=<policy>] [--with=<option>]
        [--without=<option>]
localhost Desktop # rpm -e google-desktop-linux-current.rpm
error: package google-desktop-linux-current.rpm is not installed
localhost Desktop # rpm -l                                 
localhost Desktop # exit
exit
drone4four@localhost ~ $

_________________
My rig:
IBM Personal System/2 Model 30-286 - - Intel 80286 (16 bit) 10 Mhz - - 1MB DRAM - - Integrated VGA Display adapter
1.44MB capacity Floppy Disk - - PS/2 keyboard (no mouse)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I should have been more accurate, sorry. Took another look on the internet, it seems that rpm -l lists files in a rpm packages (installed or as file I don't know). The man page is not really clear about that.

To query all packages installed:

rpm -qa

This should give you the 'exact' package name as rpm sees it. Then you do:

rpm -e <packagename>

Where you substiture <packagename> with the name of the package that is given with "rpm -qa"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Other Things Gentoo.
Not about getting gentoo installed, so moved here
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rexilion wrote:
I should have been more accurate, sorry. Took another look on the internet, it seems that rpm -l lists files in a rpm packages (installed or as file I don't know). The man page is not really clear about that.

To query all packages installed:

rpm -qa

This should give you the 'exact' package name as rpm sees it. Then you do:

rpm -e <packagename>

Where you substiture <packagename> with the name of the package that is given with "rpm -qa"


Thanks Rexillion, that worked:
Code:
drone4four@localhost ~ $ su
Password:
localhost drone4four # rpm -qa
google-desktop-linux-1.2.0-0088.x86_64
localhost drone4four # rpm -e google-desktop-linux-1.2.0-0088.x86_64

localhost drone4four #
localhost drone4four # exit
exit
drone4four@localhost ~ $
:D
_________________
My rig:
IBM Personal System/2 Model 30-286 - - Intel 80286 (16 bit) 10 Mhz - - 1MB DRAM - - Integrated VGA Display adapter
1.44MB capacity Floppy Disk - - PS/2 keyboard (no mouse)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to hear! Could you please put [SOLVED] in your subject line? They do this here so others can find the solution more quickly...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rexilion wrote:
Good to hear! Could you please put [SOLVED] in your subject line? They do this here so others can find the solution more quickly...

Done.
_________________
My rig:
IBM Personal System/2 Model 30-286 - - Intel 80286 (16 bit) 10 Mhz - - 1MB DRAM - - Integrated VGA Display adapter
1.44MB capacity Floppy Disk - - PS/2 keyboard (no mouse)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum