View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
whitethorn n00b
Joined: 02 Sep 2009 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:51 pm Post subject: Alsa chooses wrong soundcard at boot |
|
|
Hi,
Subject pretty much says it all. I have an onboard intel_hda card and a webcame. Alsa always chooses my webcam as the default. I've tried the handbook and the alsa webpage unfortunately I'm kinda stuck. According to them I'm supposed to change the order of my cards listed in there, but I can't find anything about my webcam in
/etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
Quote: |
cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
# Alsa kernel modules' configuration file.
# ALSA portion
# OSS/Free portion
##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
## ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
## OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##
# OSS/Free portion - card #1
## OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
# Set this to the correct number of cards.
# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF version 1.0.20 ---
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
|
and here my /proc/asound/cards
Quote: |
cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Q9000 ]: USB-Audio - QuickCam Pro 9000
Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000 at usb-0000:00:1d.7-3.3.2, high speed
1 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xf9ff8000 irq 22
|
At some point I had it working, I used to have a Sound option in System->Preferences I changed the default mixer to my card and restart alsasound, but after an update world it's gone. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Cosby Guru
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 Posts: 430 Location: Aachen, Germany
|
Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Another possibility is to simply blacklist the alsa module you don't want to use. That works well on my laptop, with my usb sound card. _________________ The Creature from Jekyll Island. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
whitethorn n00b
Joined: 02 Sep 2009 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bill Cosby wrote: | Another possibility is to simply blacklist the alsa module you don't want to use. That works well on my laptop, with my usb sound card. |
That's not really an option because I actually want to use my webcam, I just don't it being selected as the default device. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wjb l33t
Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 643 Location: Fife, Scotland
|
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You should be able to tell it the order of the cards, with something like
Code: | options snd-hda-intel index=0
options snd-usb-audio index=1 |
Other things to try - probably add a line "options snd cards_limit=2", creating sound-slot-1 and snd-card-1 aliases for the usb driver. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
whitethorn n00b
Joined: 02 Sep 2009 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wjb wrote: | You should be able to tell it the order of the cards, with something like
Code: | options snd-hda-intel index=0
options snd-usb-audio index=1 |
Other things to try - probably add a line "options snd cards_limit=2", creating sound-slot-1 and snd-card-1 aliases for the usb driver. |
I got it to work by reading the alsa web page for my specific soundcard alc1200. Pretty much to fix this problem and the problem I had with not being able to play from multiple sources (ex. flash and mpd or mplayer) was by adding the following to
Quote: |
pcm.hda-intel {
type hw
card 0
}
ctl.hda-intel {
type hw
card 0
}
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|