View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Wolven Guru
Joined: 05 Aug 2003 Posts: 325 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 10:38 pm Post subject: How do I share my second hardisk with samba ? |
|
|
Hi. I've got problems sharing the second hdd on my server with my network.
Sharing from the primary hdd works fine with both linux and windows clients. And the second hdd is working on the server (box1)
This is how I configured it:
Box1 (server)
fstab:
Code: | /dev/hdc1 /shared_dir reiserfs auto,user 1 1 |
smb.conf:
Code: | [Shared Dir]
comment = shared dir
path = /shared_dir
user = myuser
public = no
printable = no
browsable = no |
Box2 (mybox)
fstab:
Code: | //server_ip/shared_dir mnt/shared_dir smbfs username=myuser,password=mypassword,uid=myuser,gid=users,dmask=777,fmask=777 0 0 |
What am I doing wrong |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jetmonkey n00b
Joined: 15 Aug 2003 Posts: 21 Location: Wrexham, UK
|
Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 11:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Looks to me like the fstab on Box2 Code: | //server_ip/shared_dir mnt/shared_dir smbfs username=myuser,password=mypassword,uid=myuser,gid=users,dmask=777,fmask=777 0 0 |
should be
Code: | //server_ip/"Shared Dir" mnt/shared_dir smbfs username=myuser,password=mypassword,uid=myuser,gid=users,dmask=777,fmask=777 0 0 |
But I'm fairly new to *nix so could be wrong. I'm not so new to networks though, and it wouldn't be bad advice to get out of the habit of using spaces and underscores in network resource names. _________________ The map is not the territory. - Alfred Korzybski |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wolven Guru
Joined: 05 Aug 2003 Posts: 325 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thx for the reply.
I used 'shared_dir' as an example. Here is how it realy looks:
box1 fstab:
Code: | /dev/hdc1 /quake3disk reiserfs auto,user 1 1 |
box1 smb.conf:
Code: | [Quake3 Disk]
comment = Quake3 Disk
path = /quake3disk
user = myuser
public = no
printable = no
browsable = no |
box2 fstab:
Code: | //192.168.0.3/quake3disk mnt/q3server smbfs username=myuser,password=mypassword,uid=myuser,gid=users,dmask=777,fmask=777 0 0 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
jetmonkey n00b
Joined: 15 Aug 2003 Posts: 21 Location: Wrexham, UK
|
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 11:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
I see....I think the problem is basically the same though. On Box2 your trying to connect to a share called "quake3disk", but the share name has been defined on Box1 as "Quake3 Disk".
In smb.conf, the [header] sections define the share name, and that's where I was thinking you should get rid of the spaces, underscores etc..
I might be tempted to make it public to start with too. Probably not 'best practice', but if you getting working at all, you can worry about security later. _________________ The map is not the territory. - Alfred Korzybski |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wolven Guru
Joined: 05 Aug 2003 Posts: 325 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 1:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Still no go with header and folder names without spaces and underscores. + public = yes
Seems like the actual pathname of the second hdd isn't /quake3disk (Or what ever I try to name it and mount it as) To Samba.
The disk mountes, and I get a nice hdd icon on my Box1 desktop. I share four folders on the primary hdd of Box1 with Samba that I can access from Box2(linux) and Box3(windows).
Strange.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jetmonkey n00b
Joined: 15 Aug 2003 Posts: 21 Location: Wrexham, UK
|
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 6:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, what happens if you:
Try to access the new share with the windows box?
Change the "path =" of one of the working shares to the mount point of the second disk?
Also, which version of windows does Box3 run? _________________ The map is not the territory. - Alfred Korzybski |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wolven Guru
Joined: 05 Aug 2003 Posts: 325 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 6:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
After an portal update on both gentoo boxes and some fiddeling with header and folder names in Samba + a reboot, It worked.
Box3 is a WinXP box and it can also access the hdd on box1 now.
Thx for your help jetmonkey. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jetmonkey n00b
Joined: 15 Aug 2003 Posts: 21 Location: Wrexham, UK
|
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 7:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cool!, no problem.... _________________ The map is not the territory. - Alfred Korzybski |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|