Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] network is unreachable during install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iamthepieman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:03 pm    Post subject: [Solved] network is unreachable during install Reply with quote

I searched for similar problems in this forum but nothing matched my issue exactly.

I'm trying to do a minimal install. net-setup eth0 appears to work fine and I get an IP address on my local network.

However, I am unable to ping my gateway and when I try to add a route to my GW I get:
EDIT: I'm also unable to ping any outside IP's google, yahoo, gentoo etc. I get unknown host errors.

Code:
route add default gw 172.16.1.1
SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable


ifconfig eth0 shows my ip as 172.16.10.72

route gives:

Code:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination           Gateway         Genmask               Flags Metric Ref            Use  Iface
172.16.10.0           *               255.255.255.0         U     0        0            0    eth0


the 172.16.10.0 network should not be the gateway. my gateway should be 172.16.1.1.

here are the relevant entries from lspci, lsmod and dmesg.

lspci:
Code:
lspci: 03:0e.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82545EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) (rev 01)


lsmod:
Code:
e1000         102180  0


dmesg:
Code:

jme: JMicron JMC2XX ethernet driver version 1.0.4
e1000: eth0: e1000_probe: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Connection
e1000: eth0 NIC Link is Up 1000 Mbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: RX/TX


Last edited by iamthepieman on Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3792
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The gateway you are trying to use is on a different subnet to the client PC address, ie 172.16.1.1 when the client is in the 172.16.10.0 network.

Should the default gateway be 172.16.10.1?

If not, then maybe change the netmask so both 172.16.1.1 and 172.16.10.72 are in the same subnet.

Where did the 172.16.10.72 address come from?
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iamthepieman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed the problem by adding a route like so

Code:
route add 172.16.1.1 eth0


which let me reach my gateway then I was able to add it as a default like so:

Code:
route add default gw 172.16.1.1


and now I am able to ping my gateway and external servers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum