Gentoo on amd64 and software Raid
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dark Mayu
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 12:00 am    Post subject: Gentoo on amd64 and software Raid Reply with quote

Hi there,

I'm new to Gentoo and would love to try this dist. out(and learn new things about linux), but I have a very annoying and depressing problem within the installation process:

I want to install Gentoo mainly on Raid 0. For the setup, I'm using the quick insallation guide, the only difference in setup is my partitioning plan:

sda + sdb, each about 82GB

sda1 & sdb1 for /boot, raid1

sda2 & sdb2 as swap, striped

sda3 & sdb3 as / , striped

Except for the partitions, I did exactly what the Tutorial said. I even tried the howto on the Gentoo wiki.

Now, the installation works up to that point where I have to reboot, right after selecting "gentoo" in grub for boot, the system seems to load, but stops and prints an error saying that it couldn't find root on (hd0,0). It lists sda and sda1 as possible options for root= and just hangs up.

Judging from the actual error, I would guess that the system is not able to read the striped partition... Or did I miss something out not listed in the tutorial?
erik258
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, grub sure can't read a striped partition, and (hd0,0) is a grub disk identifier so I assume grub is the one having a problem.

This site: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86+raid+lvm2-quickinstall.xml explains how to use raid and lvm, but you should be able to ignore the lvm parts if you have sufficient understanding of raid. Don't misunderstand me, I don't think you should reinstall, but I think you may have missed something important. Did you install the raid utilities? Is mdadm available in your chroot?