Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Monitor Background Light Always On
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tps
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Apr 2004
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:58 pm    Post subject: Monitor Background Light Always On Reply with quote

Dear All

I use an old IBM Labtop, p600, as my home server.

After I updated the kernel the minitor background light is always on.

What does it take for the monitor background light to go off - kernel parameter or bios or what?

I am on kernel 2.6.30-gentoo-r8

Here is part of my kernel config:

#
# Power management and ACPI options
#
CONFIG_PM=y
# CONFIG_PM_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_SUSPEND is not set
# CONFIG_HIBERNATION is not set
CONFIG_ACPI=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSFS_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROC_EVENT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_DOCK=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_PCI_SLOT is not set
CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_SBS is not set

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Thomas S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1152
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi tps,

long time unanswering this post, as i noticed now.
Is it solved in the meantime?

If not, try this:

Rebuild your kernel with one of the general settings like this: console blanking = yes (as far as i remember, can't look into kernel config optione right now.
But i'm sure that not only the acpi /apm options are responsible for it - so look out for more general options nerby the general or char_devices section.

Andy.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joe_piskor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Location: rota, spain

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try installing sys-apps/vbetool; I run a 1-line script I call "off":
sudo /usr/sbin/vbetool dpms off

or, conversely, a script called "on":
sudo /usr/sbin/vbetool dpms on

Works for me... :-)
_________________
Pure Gentoo Goodness :-)
ASUS P5WD2 - 3.6GHz Pentium D (O/C) - 4Gb RAM
XFX nVIDIA 8600GTS 256Mb; Technisat SkyStar2 DVB
AverMedia AverTV
-----------------------------------------------------------
Acer 6930G Laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tps
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Apr 2004
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:05 am    Post subject: Two options Reply with quote

Hi Randy and joe_piskor

Thanks a lot!

I tried “vbetool dpms off” and it works fine. Only problem is how do I get the screen back on when using the server console? The screen seems dead. As I see it I have to use an ssh from another host and do “vbetool dpms on” to reactivate the screen on the server console.

console blanking = yes. I can’t find that option when I do “make menuconfig” I can’t find any APM options at all. All power options seem to be ACPI options. If this option could turn of the screen automatically it seems to be the best solution.

Thanks

Thomas S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1152
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi tps,

i've checked my working kernel config settings on my Laptop and will post it below.

I'm not fully sure which one of these settings are the resonsible one for activating the tty screensaver, but til i use these settings it works for me.
I guess you can use it withour the risk to come to a non working graphics config, cause i leave out the settings for your dri and graphic card you should leave as it is on your config. The rest you can switch to my settings and try if it works...
parts of my kernel config, only from the Device drivers section as listed below:
Code:

# Graphics support
#

# CONFIG_VGASTATE is not set
CONFIG_VIDEO_OUTPUT_CONTROL=m
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID=y
# CONFIG_FB_DDC is not set
CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
# CONFIG_FB_CFB_REV_PIXELS_IN_BYTE is not set
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FILLRECT=m
CONFIG_FB_SYS_COPYAREA=m
CONFIG_FB_SYS_IMAGEBLIT=m
# CONFIG_FB_FOREIGN_ENDIAN is not set
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FOPS=m
# CONFIG_FB_SVGALIB is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MACMODES is not set
# CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT is not set
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
# CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING is not set
#
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LCD_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE=m
CONFIG_LCD_LTV350QV=m
CONFIG_LCD_ILI9320=m
CONFIG_LCD_TDO24M=m
CONFIG_LCD_VGG2432A4=m
CONFIG_LCD_PLATFORM=m
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_CLASS_DEVICE=y
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_PROGEAR=m
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_MBP_NVIDIA=m
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_SAHARA=m

#
# Display device support
#
CONFIG_DISPLAY_SUPPORT=m

#
# Display hardware drivers
#

#
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=64
# CONFIG_MDA_CONSOLE is not set
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
# CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY is not set
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION=y
CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR=y
CONFIG_FONTS=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
CONFIG_FONT_6x11=y
CONFIG_FONT_7x14=y
CONFIG_FONT_PEARL_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_ACORN_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_MINI_4x6=y
CONFIG_FONT_SUN8x16=y
CONFIG_FONT_SUN12x22=y
CONFIG_FONT_10x18=y
CONFIG_LOGO=y
# CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_MONO is not set
# CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_VGA16 is not set
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_CLUT224=y


Andy.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joe_piskor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Location: rota, spain

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again, tps -

You're right about the inconvenience - I also do the ssh trick to activate the screen on the subject machine, although I also just log in at the dark console reliably as it's not running X; I run a vnc server on it and *very* seldom need to get on the console itself, so this solution works well for me.

I spent quite a while trying to make this all happen via the kernel, but although I could get the screen to blank, I never succeeded in getting to to fully turn off. (It's a Dell D600 laptop w/ an ATI graphics chipset.

Good luck,
Joe
_________________
Pure Gentoo Goodness :-)
ASUS P5WD2 - 3.6GHz Pentium D (O/C) - 4Gb RAM
XFX nVIDIA 8600GTS 256Mb; Technisat SkyStar2 DVB
AverMedia AverTV
-----------------------------------------------------------
Acer 6930G Laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum