Looking for advice on understanding slowdowns while browsing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dufeu
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 6:56 pm    Post subject: Looking for advice on understanding slowdowns while browsing Reply with quote

First up - a disclaimer:

I'm not a programmer. Rather, I'm a reasonably computer savvy end user. I've played with installing Gentoo since pre 1.2 days and Gentoo runs my main workstations, servers and one of my laptops.

What I'm looking for is to become better educated on tracking down performance issues while web browsing. The primary browsers I use are mozilla-firefox, seamonkey and konqueror.

My primary observation is that I'll open a new web page and shortly thereafter, the browser window I have open will become unresponsive. Generally, if I wait long enough, it will respond. More rarely, the browser appears to stop responding altogether.

Part of the problem is that web pages are no longer "simple". Many web pages have 3rd party 'widgets' of one kind or another with said widgets residing on 3rd party server farms. It is apparent to me that many times, web site designers haven't any clue as to the impact on performance of these 3rd party widgets. This problem is compounded by the capabilities that social network sites enable for their users to blindly use 3rd party tools to 'enhance' or 'theme' a user's webpage. {blech!}

As I see it, most of the performance problems I'm seeing can be grouped in 3 different categories. Naturally, some of the performance problems could be made worse by synergistic recombination of 2 or even all three categories.

My feeling is that these main categories are:
    java script related
    flash playback/script related
    network 3rd party server latency related

The problem is finding out which problem I'm seeing at any given time.