Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The F? Virtual Window Manager
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 45, 46, 47 ... 65, 66, 67  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Master One
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, this is really amazing. I just started playing arround with FVWM. I used taviso's .fvwm2rc to get going, and with some adaptions I nearly got it to look like on taviso's screenshots. :wink:

Unfortunately I stumbled over some problems, which I am not able to solve. I already started reading the man-pages and this monster-threat, but maybe someone can take a look at the following issues.

I am using the latest FVWM 2.5.10-r4 from portage. After starting as a use with 'startx' I somtimes (but not always!) get the following output:
Code:
[FVWM][FlushMessageQueue]: <<ERROR>> Failed to write descriptor to 'FvwmAnimate':
- select rc=0
- terminate signal=N

--icon-size
--border

Before this output appears, there is a 30 seconds delay until the load-utils above the pager (xosview / xnetload), pager, peksystray, xcalendar, DigitalClock and hiden-console show up. During this 30 seconds the mouse pointer can be moved, but no action on click. Strangely this problem occures most of the times, but not always, sometimes the startup just works as expected, without delay and without the mentioned error message. So what's going on?

Another problem is the following line in the StartFunction, which is not directly related to fvwm:
Code:
+ I Test (Init) Exec tail -n 0 -f /var/log/messages | osd_cat -a 30 -A left -o 10 -i 10 -f cure -c white -d 10 -s 1