Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The F? Virtual Window Manager
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 37, 38, 39 ... 65, 66, 67  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
theBlackDragon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Nov 2002
Posts: 768
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioo wrote:
hi guys!

here my fvwm desktop... im using fvwm-crystal...

Geocities doesn't allow direct links...
_________________
Fvwm|Fvwm forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobDylan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 135
Location: On The Road

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
MrNugget wrote:
Is it possible to set the $[fvwm_wallpaper_path] to the actual wallpaper when logging out? Or something.. I don't want to change it every time manually ;)
There may be a better way to do what you're looking for, but ExitFunction should do it.

If you use Taviso's WallpaperBrowser Func, here is a way to achieve that:

First define the fvwm_wallpaper_exec var and modify the WallpaperBrowser Func to use it on wallpaper files.
Code:
SetEnv fvwm_wallpaper_exec $[HOME]/bin/wallpaper.sh

DestroyFunc WallpaperBrowser
AddToFunc WallpaperBrowser
+ I PipeRead 'test ! -d "$0/.thumbs" && mkdir "$0/.thumbs"; \
    for i in "$0/"*; do \
        test -f "$0/.thumbs/${i##*/}" \
            -a "${i}" -ot "$0/.thumbs/${i##*/}" || { \
                convert -quality 0 -scale 24 "${i}" "png:$0/.thumbs/${i##*/}" 2>/dev/null \
                    || continue; \
            }; \
    done; \
    fvwm-menu-directory --icon-title folder_view.png --icon-file __PIXMAP__ \
    --icon-dir folder_paper_closed.png --dir $0 --exec-file "fvwm_wallpaper_exec" \
    --exec-t="^xv -wait 2 *" | sed -e "s#FuncFvwmMenuDirectory#WallpaperBrowser#g" \
    -e "s#__PIXMAP__\\(.*\\)\\"\\(.*/\\)\\(.*\\)\\"#\\2.thumbs/\\3\\1\\2\\3#g"'


Then create a little shell script ($[HOME]/bin/wallpaper.sh here) with:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

/usr/bin/fvwm-root --dither -r $1
echo $1 > $HOME/.fvwm/background


Finally modify your StartFunction to use the wallpaper specified in the $HOME/.fvwm/background file:
Code:
AddToFunc StartFunction
+ I Test (Init) Exec exec fvwm-root -r --dither `cat $[FVWM_USERDIR]/background`

That way fvwm will always use the last specified wallpaper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kurtz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2003
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried to replace the window decoration in taviso's config file, but I appear to have missed a couple of settings.

This is what I want windows to look like.

But now it looks like this.

What do I have to change to get the borders to look like as they do in the first screenshot (i.e. no black borders, and no straight line next to the window-list button)?

(P.S. Thank you taviso for sharing your config file, fvwm looks and works better than any other windowmanager I have tried so far - but configuration is still a bitch!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angel2k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kurtz wrote:
I've tried to replace the window decoration in taviso's config file, but I appear to have missed a couple of settings.

This is what I want windows to look like.

But now it looks like this.

What do I have to change to get the borders to look like as they do in the first screenshot (i.e. no black borders, and no straight line next to the window-list button)?

(P.S. Thank you taviso for sharing your config file, fvwm looks and works better than any other windowmanager I have tried so far - but configuration is still a bitch!)


I got the same problem and I can't find a solution :( if I find I'll post solution here :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 2:05 pm    Post subject: [Fvwm] Resizing windows Reply with quote

Hi there,

I'm using fvwm for some time now and this is to my sense the best WM ever made !!
I love every thing in it but I miss ONE thing : I loved the way fluxbox allows us to resize the windows, you don't have to put the cursor on the border, then resize it to your need. As soon as the key binding for the resize is pressed, if you move the mouse, the windows resizes itself immediatly according to the mouse mouvement.
I've been trying to do the same thing in Fvwm but without success. So my question is :
Is there a way to be able to resize the window without having to go to the border, if the cursor was inside the windows ?
I guess a script would do but I haven't managed to do it correctly ...
If anyone has an idea ... please ... share :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TiP-X
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 3:34 pm    Post subject: resizing Reply with quote

i use different binds for resizing windows, dunno if it's what you want but you can still try it:

Code:

Mouse 2 T N Resize
Mouse 2 W C Resize

the first allows to resize by cliking with the middle button of your mouse in the title of the window.
the second one do the same by cliking inside the window (but you have the press the ctrl key)

i use ctrl+wheelmouse to resize too, here is the script:

Code:

#=== Function to resize the window with ctrl + mouse_wheel ==================

DestroyFunc ResizeWindow
AddToFunc ResizeWindow
 + I PipeRead "echo SetEnv xsize `expr $[w.width] $0 $1`"
 + I PipeRead "echo SetEnv ysize `expr $[w.height] $0 $1`"
 + I Resize frame $[xsize]p $[ysize]p

Mouse 4 W C ResizeWindow + 300
Mouse 5 W C ResizeWindow - 300


hope that helps. And i agree, fvwm really is the best when your config is done :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeremy_Z
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 671
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, a quick idea :

ResizeOnPress
+ I Resize 5 5
+ I Resize

It would resize keeping the uperleft corner.

But ther should be a better way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
niebie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aim, please take a look at page 33 of this thread. Somewhere in the middle I posted my first try for such a function. It fakes this different resizing by moving the cursor to the corner of a window and then back to its original position.
As posted there it still has some flaws but I have a slightly improved version on my other machine. On the other hand it's quite a simple function so you might play with it yourself. ;)

[Edit]I changed my original post to include the changes I made to the function.[/Edit]


Last edited by niebie on Thu May 06, 2004 12:40 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blatch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 59
Location: bloomington, in

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ikaro, I sent you a PM.
_________________
blatch.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TiP-X
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 6:03 pm    Post subject: config Reply with quote

Hum some might be interested so i will share my fvwm config :p


Don't hesitate to give some feedbacks :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aonoa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 589

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just started playing with fvwm after seeing this thread, and I must say wow it's nice.. I love the configurability of it. Thanks taviso! :) It's a world of options to explore.. let the configuring begin :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MagnusBerg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 370
Location: Burgsvik, Gotland, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found some articles about FVWM in Linux Gazette.
http://www.linuxgazette.com/book/view/8438

Then I have a question.
In the man pages they say:
Code:
*FvwmPager: Geometry geometry
    Completely or partially specifies the pager windows location and geometry, in standard X11 notation. In order to maintain an undistorted aspect ratio, you might want to leave out either the width or height dimension of the geometry specification .


Now I have:
Code:
*FvwmPager: Geometry 240x0+0-0

It works OK but the first 0 shoud be left out and replaced with something else, I suppose . If I replace it with a space it didn't work att all. What is the right solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rrrkkkttt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using desintegr's config at http://desintegr.free.fr/fvwm/ and I had one problem with the iconify feature... I have to restart everytime I log in to make it work... and how do I make the icons line up in a vertical column on left instead of a horizontal row on top?

[EDIT] how do I make the titlebar translucent like the pager or the dockbar?[/EDIT]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Souperman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 449
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desintegr wrote:
I open my own page about my Fvwm Configuration.

http://desintegr.free.fr/fvwm/

It's under "Creative Commons" Licence to respect Ikaro's wishes.

Is that system monitor applet on the desktop one of these gdesklet goodies I've read so much about?
_________________
moo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cron0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 132
Location: Montreal, Quebec

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
DestroyFunc Thumbnail
AddToFunc Thumbnail
+ I Raise
+ I SetEnv Icon-$[w.id] $[w.iconfile]
+ I ThisWindow (!Shaded Iconifiable !Iconic) PipeRead \
    "xwd -silent -id $[w.id] | convert -scale $[fvwm_icon_size] -frame 1x1 \
    -mattecolor black -quality 0 xwd:- png:$[FVWM_USERDIR]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
    && echo WindowStyle IconOverride, Icon $[FVWM_USERDIR]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
    || echo Nop"
+ I TestRc (Match) Test (f $[HOME]/icons/$[w.miniiconfile]) PipeRead "composite -geometry +2+4 \
    $[HOME]/icons/$[w.miniiconfile] $[FVWM_USERDIR]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
    $[FVWM_USERDIR]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png && echo Nop \
    || echo Beep"
+ I Iconify


From this code (which make thumbnails of minimized applications on the left hand side of my desktop), how do I make it so they are put at the bottom of my screen, starting from the left to the right ?
Like in that screenshot: http://www.ikaro.dk/thumbnails/01-03-2004-1600x1200_jpg.jpg

Cron0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobDylan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 135
Location: On The Road

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JF_Cron0 wrote:
Code:
DestroyFunc Thumbnail
AddToFunc Thumbnail
+ I Raise
+ I SetEnv Icon-$[w.id] $[w.iconfile]
+ I ThisWindow (!Shaded Iconifiable !Iconic) PipeRead \
    "xwd -silent -id $[w.id] | convert -scale $[fvwm_icon_size] -frame 1x1 \
    -mattecolor black -quality 0 xwd:- png:$[FVWM_USERDIR]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
    && echo WindowStyle IconOverride, Icon $[FVWM_USERDIR]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
    || echo Nop"
+ I TestRc (Match) Test (f $[HOME]/icons/$[w.miniiconfile]) PipeRead "composite -geometry +2+4 \
    $[HOME]/icons/$[w.miniiconfile] $[FVWM_USERDIR]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
    $[FVWM_USERDIR]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png && echo Nop \
    || echo Beep"
+ I Iconify


From this code (which make thumbnails of minimized applications on the left hand side of my desktop), how do I make it so they are put at the bottom of my screen, starting from the left to the right ?
Like in that screenshot: http://www.ikaro.dk/thumbnails/01-03-2004-1600x1200_jpg.jpg

Cron0


This code, if you read it well, doesn't contain any string about the icon's position.
The icon's position is defined by the IconBox setting, that accepts a X11 geometry string.
Type man fvwm and search for IconBox for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2527
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MagnusBerg wrote:
I found some articles about FVWM in Linux Gazette.
http://www.linuxgazette.com/book/view/8438

Then I have a question.
In the man pages they say:
Code:
*FvwmPager: Geometry geometry
    Completely or partially specifies the pager windows location and geometry, in standard X11 notation. In order to maintain an undistorted aspect ratio, you might want to leave out either the width or height dimension of the geometry specification .


Now I have:
Code:
*FvwmPager: Geometry 240x0+0-0

It works OK but the first 0 shoud be left out and replaced with something else, I suppose . If I replace it with a space it didn't work att all. What is the right solution?


width x height+top +left
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2527
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

angel2k wrote:
Kurtz wrote:
I've tried to replace the window decoration in taviso's config file, but I appear to have missed a couple of settings.

This is what I want windows to look like.

But now it looks like this.

What do I have to change to get the borders to look like as they do in the first screenshot (i.e. no black borders, and no straight line next to the window-list button)?

(P.S. Thank you taviso for sharing your config file, fvwm looks and works better than any other windowmanager I have tried so far - but configuration is still a bitch!)


I got the same problem and I can't find a solution :( if I find I'll post solution here :D


You can change the borderWidth and Handlewidth for the window, then it looks better.
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2527
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

today i finished a Panel I was doing.
snapshot:
http://ikaro.dk/images/Cpanel.jpg

its a panel that slides in and out and every button have various actions, nothing new, but maybe something would like to use it.

Now my root menu its almost non-existante 8)
for example:
"Media Player" button:
left click = opens xine
middle click = opens a color control thingie
right click = mplayer

Its hiden from the desktop and holds most of the apps i use.

Ive added the code in its own file, so you only have to put:
read "cpanelrc" in your fvwm2rc and ur done.
:)

ps: it's at ikaro.dk
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kurtz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2003
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikaro wrote:
You can change the borderWidth and Handlewidth for the window, then it looks better.

Thank you, that did the trick. I already figured that I had to change those, but I changed the wrong ones (i.e. for the iconbox) :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Unne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 616

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dunno if anyone would be interested, but I threw together this script which checks an IMAP mail server for new mail. It's a bit of a hack, but maybe it'll give someone some ideas. I use courier-imap locally, so that's what I've tested this on; using it with a remote server might be too slow to be useful, not sure. Use a monospace font unless you want it to be hideous. You probably need to fetch the Mail::IMAPClient module from CPAN, it doesn't come default with Perl.

Example screenshot here.

~/.fvwm/mail_check.pl :

Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl
 
use strict;
use warnings;
 
use Mail::IMAPClient;
 
my $imap = Mail::IMAPClient->new(
        Server => 'localhost',
        User => 'USERNAME',
        Password => 'PASSWORD',
) or print "+ \"Error: $!\" Nop\n";
 
my $length = 0;
(length $_ > $length) && ($length  = length $_) foreach ($imap->folders);
$length += 2;
 
foreach (sort $imap->folders) {
        printf "+ \"%s%s (%3d/%3d) %s\" Exec exec evolution-1.5\n", $_, '.' x ($length - length $_), $imap->unseen_count($_), $imap->message_count($_), $imap->unseen_count($_)?"**":" ";
}


.fvwm2rc :

Code:

Colorset 0 fg grey, bg black, Translucent black 80
Colorset 1 fg white, bg #134b6f

MenuStyle MailCheck Font "xft:Smoothansi"
MenuStyle MailCheck MenuColorset 0
MenuStyle MailCheck ActiveColorset 1
MenuStyle MailCheck Hilight3DOff
MenuStyle MailCheck BorderWidth 0
MenuStyle MailCheck ItemFormat " %l %i"
MenuStyle MailCheck Animation
MenuStyle MailCheck TitleWarpOff
MenuStyle MailCheck TitleUnderlines0
MenuStyle MailCheck PopdownDelayed
MenuStyle MailCheck RemoveSubmenus
MenuStyle MailCheck ActiveFore
MenuStyle MailCheck VerticalItemSpacing 1 1
MenuStyle MailCheck PopupOffset 0 100
MenuStyle MailCheck AutomaticHotkeysOff

DestroyFunc MailCheck
AddToFunc MailCheck
+ I AddToMenu Mailcheck DynamicPopDownAction DestroyMenu MailCheck
+ I PipeRead '~/.fvwm/mail_check.pl'
+ I ChangeMenuStyle Mailcheck Mailcheck

AddToMenu MenuFvwmRoot
+   MissingSubmenuFunction MailCheck
...[rest of the menu, etc.]...
+   "email" Popup MailCheck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aonoa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 589

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone else experience a huge delay while restarting fvwm some times? I can't do anything until the delay is over and while it's delaying only parts of the desktop has appeared.. the mouse moves but nothing will become active. It is rather annoying, trying to figure out why. It does not always happen either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taviso
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 261
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eonic wrote:
Does anyone else experience a huge delay while restarting fvwm some times? I can't do anything until the delay is over and while it's delaying only parts of the desktop has appeared.. the mouse moves but nothing will become active. It is rather annoying, trying to figure out why. It does not always happen either.

Are you using FvwmAnimate? if so, does the delay still happen if you disable it? I've noticed that happen as well sometimes, maybe i should look into it :)

Also, you could try setting
Code:
ModuleTimeout 15

or similar, and see if this helps.
_________________
--------------------------------------
Gentoo on Alpha, is your penguin 64bit?
--------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aonoa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 589

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I was using FvwmAnimate.. I'll try turning it off a while and see if I notice any difference.
If not I'll also try your other suggestion. Thanks for the tips. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HIMLIMS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what i can't make up out of this topic;
will i be able to use my kde apps?
like is it possible to run both gDesklets and SuperKaramba ?
_________________
i'm a noob, like all you guys have been once
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 37, 38, 39 ... 65, 66, 67  Next
Page 38 of 67

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum