View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
valarko n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 3:17 pm Post subject: [solved] wifi scan don't work |
|
|
Hello,
I have a little problem with my laptop. It can't detect wifi network.
This is the result of the command lspci
Code: | Network controller : Intel Corporation PRO:Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network connection (rev02) |
Then if I use the command iwconfig, I obtain :
Code: | wlan0 IEE 802.11abg ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=off
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0 |
And the result of the command iwlist scan is No scan results
Of course it exists an access point which I can connect it.
I need help.
Thank you.
Last edited by valarko on Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:41 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Telemin l33t
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 Posts: 753 Location: Glasgow, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 3:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you try running before scanning?
The reason you are getting no scan results is because the wireless card is turned off (see it says power: off) so running ifconfig wlan0 up should turn it on.
Note the init scripts should do this by default so don't worry about having to do it on every boot.
-Freestyling- _________________ The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post |
|
Back to top |
|
|
valarko n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes I try this command. My card is turned on. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Telemin l33t
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 Posts: 753 Location: Glasgow, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay just to check, you are using the kernel based driver for this card?
Also can you actually connect to the network by specifying things manually?
Are there any wireless related messages in dmesg after you have tried scanning?
-Freestyling- _________________ The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post |
|
Back to top |
|
|
valarko n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Okay just to check, you are using the kernel based driver for this card? |
Yes, I use the kernel based driver.
Quote: | Also can you actually connect to the network by specifying things manually? |
I didn't try that and I don't know the file which I have to modify and how configuring that manually
Quote: | Are there any wireless related messages in dmesg after you have tried scanning? |
This is the information about the wireless in dmesg :
Code: | iwl3945: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG/BG Network Connection driver for Linux, 1.2.26k
iwl3945: Copyright(c) 2003-2009 Intel Corporation
iwl3945 0000:05:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
iwl3945 0000:05:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
iwl3945 0000:05:00.0: Tunable channels: 13 802.11bg, 23 802.11a channels
iwl3945 0000:05:00.0: Detected Intel Wireless WiFi Link 3945ABG
iwl3945 0000:05:00.0: irq 28 for MSI/MSI-X
e100 0000:07:08.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 20 (level, low) -> IRQ 20
e100 0000:07:08.0: PME# disabled
e100: eth0: e100_probe: addr 0xf0905000, irq 20, MAC addr 00:a0:d1:43:b1:34
phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'iwl-3945-rs'
EXT3 FS on sda1, internal journal
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3 FS on sda3, internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with writeback data mode.
Adding 1951888k swap on /dev/sda2. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:1951888k
e100: eth0 NIC Link is Up 100 Mbps Full Duplex
iwl3945 0000:05:00.0: firmware: requesting iwlwifi-3945-2.ucode
iwl3945 0000:05:00.0: loaded firmware version 15.32.2.9
Registered led device: iwl-phy0::radio
Registered led device: iwl-phy0::assoc
Registered led device: iwl-phy0::RX
Registered led device: iwl-phy0::TX
wlan0: deauthenticating by local choice (reason=3)
pci 0000:01:00.0: power state changed by ACPI to D0
pci 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Registered led device: iwl-phy0::radio
Registered led device: iwl-phy0::assoc
Registered led device: iwl-phy0::RX
Registered led device: iwl-phy0::TX |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Telemin l33t
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 Posts: 753 Location: Glasgow, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay standard method for connecting is to use wpa_supplicant. It has a config file by default in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf and has fairly straightforward syntax, constructed of a block for each network you wish to connect to, for example:
Code: |
ap_scan=1 #use this line to make wpa_supplicant look after the scanning
#Home network
network={
ssid="Snoopy"
psk="Woodstock"
}
|
that should work for a home wireless network, be aware that wpa_supplicant is case sensitive in terms of it's ssids.
Wpa_supplicant also installs a config example file at /usr/share/doc/wpa_supplicant-{version}/wpa_supplicant.conf.bz2, and can be read most easily using bzcat.
Code: |
bzcat /usr/share/doc/wpa_supplicant-{version}/wpa_supplicant.conf.bz2 | less
|
You can then run wpa_supplicant (as root) from the command line to see its output by calling:
Code: |
wpa_supplicant -D wext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
|
You should see a snippet looking something like this:
Code: |
Trying to associate with 00:24:17:78:3e:e7 (SSID='Myssid' freq=2412 MHz)
Associated with 00:24:17:78:3e:e7
WPA: Key negotiation completed with 00:24:17:78:3e:e7 [PTK=CCMP GTK=CCMP]
CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 00:24:17:78:3e:e7 completed (auth) [id=2 id_str=]
|
Then you can get an ip using dhcp by running "dhcpcd wlan0"
If this all works then set up /etc/conf.d/net, to use wpa_supplicant with the lines
Code: |
modules_wlan0=("wpa_supplicant")
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
| [/url]
-Freestyling- _________________ The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post |
|
Back to top |
|
|
valarko n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It doesn't work. When I use the command wpa_supplicant as you said, I have this message :
CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS |
|
Back to top |
|
|
roarinelk Guru
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 520
|
Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
try this before initiating a scan:
iwconfig wlan0 txpower auto
According to the log in the initial post tx power is off. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, reboot your box and try this :
Code: |
# cd /usr/src/linux
# cat .config | grep -i 802
# cat .config | grep -i kill
# cat .config | grep -i iwl
# ifconfig -a
# iwconfig
# ifconfig wlan0 up
# iwlist scan
# dmesg | tail
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
valarko n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I succeed to solve my problem. I update the kernel and after that the wifi scan worked.
Thanks for your help |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
No problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|