View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ONEEYEMAN Advocate
Joined: 01 Mar 2005 Posts: 3674
|
Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:43 am Post subject: What is the problem here: can't start net.eth0 |
|
|
Hi, ALL,
Code: |
IgorsGentooOnNetwork dialogs # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
: command not foundne 5:
: command not foundne 12:
/etc/conf.d/net: line 16: wpa_timeout_wlan0: command not found
* Starting eth0
" does not existe "(wpa_supplicant)
IgorsGentooOnNetwork dialogs # cat /etc/conf.d/net
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
#Wireless-tools
#nis_domain_lo="IgorsGentoo"
#modules_eth1=("iwconfig")
#key_ESSID1="[1] s:IgorNetwork key [1] enc open"
#key_ESSID2="[1] aaaa-bbbb-cccc-dd key [1] enc restricted"
#preferred_aps=("ESSID1" "ESSID2")
#Wpa_supplicant
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Db43 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"
wpa_timeout_wlan0 = 60
|
Does anybody knows what is going on and how to fix it?
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eccerr0r Watchman
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 9880 Location: almost Mile High in the USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
I know this sounds very "wrong" and "counterproductive" but I suggest people to use wicd (net-misc/wicd) or networkmanager to configure wireless just because it's X11 based GUI and lets you configure in usermode as well as lets you browse access points... but enough of my off-topic suggestions (hey, I used to use command line wifi config but... I've converted to the dark side because it was so much easier to browse for networks when using my laptop.)
But anyway here's my observations:
1. Are your CR/LF settings proper (did you use DOS or *ix linefeeds at end of the line?)
2. wpa_timeout_wlan0 = 60 -- remove the space(s) before the =
Try those first and then let's see what it does. _________________ Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cach0rr0 Bodhisattva
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 4123 Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
|
Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:24 am Post subject: Re: What is the problem here: can't start net.eth0 |
|
|
I agree you should use WICD if you have a graphical environment
however I will say this is wrong:
Code: |
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Db43 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"
|
man wpa_supplicant wrote: |
AVAILABLE DRIVERS
A summary of available driver backends is below. Support for each of the driver backends is chosen at wpa_supplicant compile time. For a list of
supported driver backends that may be used with the -D option on your system, refer to the help output of wpa_supplicant (wpa_supplicant -h).
hostap (default) Host AP driver (Intersil Prism2/2.5/3). (this can also be used with Linuxant DriverLoader).
hermes Agere Systems Inc. driver (Hermes-I/Hermes-II).
madwifi
MADWIFI 802.11 support (Atheros, etc.).
atmel ATMEL AT76C5XXx (USB, PCMCIA).
wext Linux wireless extensions (generic).
ndiswrapper
Linux ndiswrapper.
broadcom
Broadcom wl.o driver.
ipw Intel ipw2100/2200 driver.
wired wpa_supplicant wired Ethernet driver
roboswitch
wpa_supplicant Broadcom switch driver
bsd BSD 802.11 support (Atheros, etc.).
ndis Windows NDIS driver.
|
When wpa_supplicant speaks of a 'driver', it doesn't mean the specific module name.
In this case yours should be something like
Code: |
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dbroadcom -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"
|
or
Code: |
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"
|
That is of course assuming you don't opt for wicd - wicd does all the difficult decision making for you. _________________ Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ONEEYEMAN Advocate
Joined: 01 Mar 2005 Posts: 3674
|
Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, guys, and thanx for the replay.
2eccerr0r: Exactly same messages I am receiving during the boot time. It's just harder to use the console to put the message online.
How do you check for the end of line symbols?
2cach0rr0: I am not using Broadcom driver. I am using b43 as a driver for my wireless card which is 4311 or Dell Mini-PCI card. Therefore I believe that my settings there is correct. Besides, wpa_supplicant never errors out and I get a wireless connection without any problems.
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eccerr0r Watchman
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 9880 Location: almost Mile High in the USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 7:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm just suspecting file format issues because those errors are really strange and corrupt as it tries to write over existing lines...
If you use vim, you can try
:se ff=unix
and then rewrite the file. _________________ Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sera Retired Dev
Joined: 29 Feb 2008 Posts: 1017 Location: CET
|
Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Db43 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf" |
Remember the default location for wpa_supplicant.conf is /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf on Gentoo.
I did never specify a driver or a config location in /etc/conf.d/net and never had trouble with wpa_supplicant. By specifying options which can and will be autodetected or are set to distribution defaults you just risk breaking it. Be it syntax wise or by setting the wrong options.
Also there is nothing in my wpa_supplicant.confS beside the network definitions. The list includes about 30 networks and it works with all of them. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ONEEYEMAN Advocate
Joined: 01 Mar 2005 Posts: 3674
|
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, guys,
I rewrote the file inside Gentoo with nano.
Now "lo" starting, but it still gives the same error messages:
Code: |
: command not foundne 5:
: command not foundne 12:
/etc/conf.d/net: line 16: wpa_timeout_wlan0: command not found
|
Any other suggestions?
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rexilion Veteran
Joined: 17 Mar 2009 Posts: 1044
|
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
ONEEYEMAN wrote: | Hi, guys,
I rewrote the file inside Gentoo with nano.
Now "lo" starting, but it still gives the same error messages:
Code: |
: command not foundne 5:
: command not foundne 12:
/etc/conf.d/net: line 16: wpa_timeout_wlan0: command not found
|
Any other suggestions?
Thank you. |
I think you should just wipe the file and start over, there is something really weird going on in that file... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ONEEYEMAN Advocate
Joined: 01 Mar 2005 Posts: 3674
|
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, Rexilion,
Which file should I erase?
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rexilion Veteran
Joined: 17 Mar 2009 Posts: 1044
|
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ONEEYEMAN wrote: | Hi, Rexilion,
Which file should I erase?
Thank you. |
/etc/conf.d/net
As the previous responses suggested, you seem to have changed the encoding. Or you placed the wrong configuration.
I suggest you start over, and start taking a closer look at /etc/conf.d/net.example and /etc/conf.d/wireless.example. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|