Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What is the problem here: can't start net.eth0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:43 am    Post subject: What is the problem here: can't start net.eth0 Reply with quote

Hi, ALL,

Code:

IgorsGentooOnNetwork dialogs # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
: command not foundne 5:
: command not foundne 12:
/etc/conf.d/net: line 16: wpa_timeout_wlan0: command not found
 * Starting eth0
" does not existe "(wpa_supplicant)

IgorsGentooOnNetwork dialogs # cat /etc/conf.d/net
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).

#Wireless-tools
#nis_domain_lo="IgorsGentoo"
#modules_eth1=("iwconfig")
#key_ESSID1="[1] s:IgorNetwork key [1] enc open"
#key_ESSID2="[1] aaaa-bbbb-cccc-dd key [1] enc restricted"
#preferred_aps=("ESSID1" "ESSID2")

#Wpa_supplicant
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Db43 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"
wpa_timeout_wlan0 = 60


Does anybody knows what is going on and how to fix it?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9880
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this sounds very "wrong" and "counterproductive" but I suggest people to use wicd (net-misc/wicd) or networkmanager to configure wireless just because it's X11 based GUI and lets you configure in usermode as well as lets you browse access points... but enough of my off-topic suggestions (hey, I used to use command line wifi config but... I've converted to the dark side because it was so much easier to browse for networks when using my laptop.)

But anyway here's my observations:
1. Are your CR/LF settings proper (did you use DOS or *ix linefeeds at end of the line?)
2. wpa_timeout_wlan0 = 60 -- remove the space(s) before the =

Try those first and then let's see what it does.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:24 am    Post subject: Re: What is the problem here: can't start net.eth0 Reply with quote

I agree you should use WICD if you have a graphical environment
however I will say this is wrong:

Code:

wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Db43 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"


man wpa_supplicant wrote:

AVAILABLE DRIVERS
A summary of available driver backends is below. Support for each of the driver backends is chosen at wpa_supplicant compile time. For a list of
supported driver backends that may be used with the -D option on your system, refer to the help output of wpa_supplicant (wpa_supplicant -h).

hostap (default) Host AP driver (Intersil Prism2/2.5/3). (this can also be used with Linuxant DriverLoader).

hermes Agere Systems Inc. driver (Hermes-I/Hermes-II).

madwifi
MADWIFI 802.11 support (Atheros, etc.).

atmel ATMEL AT76C5XXx (USB, PCMCIA).

wext Linux wireless extensions (generic).

ndiswrapper
Linux ndiswrapper.

broadcom
Broadcom wl.o driver.

ipw Intel ipw2100/2200 driver.

wired wpa_supplicant wired Ethernet driver

roboswitch
wpa_supplicant Broadcom switch driver

bsd BSD 802.11 support (Atheros, etc.).

ndis Windows NDIS driver.


When wpa_supplicant speaks of a 'driver', it doesn't mean the specific module name.

In this case yours should be something like

Code:

wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dbroadcom -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"


or

Code:

wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"


That is of course assuming you don't opt for wicd - wicd does all the difficult decision making for you.
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, guys, and thanx for the replay.
2eccerr0r: Exactly same messages I am receiving during the boot time. It's just harder to use the console to put the message online.
How do you check for the end of line symbols?

2cach0rr0: I am not using Broadcom driver. I am using b43 as a driver for my wireless card which is 4311 or Dell Mini-PCI card. Therefore I believe that my settings there is correct. Besides, wpa_supplicant never errors out and I get a wireless connection without any problems.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9880
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm just suspecting file format issues because those errors are really strange and corrupt as it tries to write over existing lines...

If you use vim, you can try

:se ff=unix

and then rewrite the file.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Db43 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf"


Remember the default location for wpa_supplicant.conf is /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf on Gentoo.

I did never specify a driver or a config location in /etc/conf.d/net and never had trouble with wpa_supplicant. By specifying options which can and will be autodetected or are set to distribution defaults you just risk breaking it. Be it syntax wise or by setting the wrong options.

Also there is nothing in my wpa_supplicant.confS beside the network definitions. The list includes about 30 networks and it works with all of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, guys,
I rewrote the file inside Gentoo with nano.
Now "lo" starting, but it still gives the same error messages:

Code:

: command not foundne 5:
: command not foundne 12:
/etc/conf.d/net: line 16: wpa_timeout_wlan0: command not found


Any other suggestions?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
Hi, guys,
I rewrote the file inside Gentoo with nano.
Now "lo" starting, but it still gives the same error messages:

Code:

: command not foundne 5:
: command not foundne 12:
/etc/conf.d/net: line 16: wpa_timeout_wlan0: command not found


Any other suggestions?

Thank you.


I think you should just wipe the file and start over, there is something really weird going on in that file...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Rexilion,

Which file should I erase?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
Hi, Rexilion,

Which file should I erase?

Thank you.


/etc/conf.d/net

As the previous responses suggested, you seem to have changed the encoding. Or you placed the wrong configuration.
I suggest you start over, and start taking a closer look at /etc/conf.d/net.example and /etc/conf.d/wireless.example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum