View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
toralf Developer
Joined: 01 Feb 2004 Posts: 3943 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:55 pm Post subject: [solved]dnsmasq didn't query 127.0.0.1 as a third dns server |
|
|
Hello,
I've some definitions in /etc/hosts which won't be used if my VPN software changed the /etc/resolv.conf into this : Code: | tfoerste@n22 ~ $ cat /etc/resolv.conf
#@NETVPN_GENERATED@ -- this file is generated by NetVPN
# and will be overwritten by NetVPN
# as long as the above mark is intact
nameserver 9.64.163.21
nameserver 9.64.162.21
nameserver 127.0.0.1
| Because the VPN programs monitors resolv.conf I don't have any chance to move the 127.* entry on top of the three servers. Or how can I tell dnsmasq to query 127.* first ?
Last edited by toralf on Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:40 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
boerKrelis Apprentice
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 Posts: 241 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
toralf wrote: |
Or how can I tell dnsmasq to query 127.* first ?
|
Just to clear this up. You don't necessarily get answers from /etc/hosts by querying 127.0.0.1. There may not even be a nameserver listening at 127.0.0.1.
/etc/hosts is used by NSS through glibc, I believe. Which means that, from the local machine, you can get answers from /etc/hosts without any query ever being sent to any name server at all. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
depontius Advocate
Joined: 05 May 2004 Posts: 3526
|
Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The easiest way to handle this is to do some tweaking in the AGN dialer. Unfortunately I have the fix on a home machine, and can't give you the full details at the moment. But I can say that it involves editing "/opt/agns/bin/ConfigAGN.sh", of course after having saved a copy. Inside that file, I tweak the "write_resolvconf()" and "reset_resolvconf()" routines.
In essence, "/etc/resolv.conf" never gets overwritten - it always points to 127.0.0.1 and dnsmasq. Instead, I have the company nameservers in another file that I move in and out of "/etc/dnsmasq.d", and then kick dnsmasq to tell it to pick up or drop the added nameservers. I'm a bit sloppy in that I've simply hardcoded the company nameservers in a file, and don't pick them up on the fly when the AGN link comes up. But that hasn't been a big deal so far. _________________ .sigs waste space and bandwidth |
|
Back to top |
|
|
toralf Developer
Joined: 01 Feb 2004 Posts: 3943 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The "host" command itself doesn't resolve hostnames if it is defined only in /etc/hosts and if I do not have a running dnsmasq and the 127.* nameserver defined (for dnsmasq of course).
But nevertheless I circumvent this issue, even if "host" doesn't work, a ssh connection works fine b/c ssh follows the conventions to resolve a hostname into an ip address. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
boerKrelis Apprentice
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 Posts: 241 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
toralf wrote: |
The "host" command itself doesn't resolve hostnames if it is defined only in /etc/hosts [...]
|
Hey, you're right. The "ping" command, however, does. Just out of curiousity I straced ping and it (and its libs) do
Code: |
open("/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/lib/libresolv.so.2", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/lib/libc.so.6", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/etc/resolv.conf", O_RDONLY) = 4
open("/etc/resolv.conf", O_RDONLY) = 4
open("/etc/nsswitch.conf", O_RDONLY) = 4
open("/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY) = 4
open("/lib/libnss_files.so.2", O_RDONLY) = 4
open("/etc/host.conf", O_RDONLY) = 4
open("/etc/hosts", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = 4
open("/etc/hosts", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = 4
|
whereas "host" and the libs it is compiled against do
Code: |
open("/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/lib/libnsl.so.1", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/lib/libc.so.6", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/lib/libdl.so.2", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/lib/libz.so.1", O_RDONLY) = 3
open("/etc/resolv.conf", O_RDONLY) = 4
|
That explains. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
toralf Developer
Joined: 01 Feb 2004 Posts: 3943 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@depontius
thx - I'll try that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|