Btrfs and Raid setup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
eusanpe
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:03 am    Post subject: Btrfs and Raid setup Reply with quote

Hello All,

I have been using reiser4 for a couple of years now but I am tired of the fsync issues that hamper my system so I am going to
change. I just purchased two 500gb 7200 rpm hard drives for my laptop. I am going to try btrfs along with a raid0 setup. I have
some questions though.

1. For the partitions, should I use gdisk to create all primary partitions or fdisk along with LVM? This is going to be an all/only
Gentoo system. I will have partitions for /home /usr/portage/distfiles /usr along with some others
2. I am going to use Raid0 (striping) on my partitions, should /boot be set to Raid1 (mirroring)? What about swap?
3. How does btrfs raid setup compare to mdadm setup. I just want some experiences from some of the ones who have tried both.
4. Are there any special flags to use along side mkfs.btrfs besides raid setup to get maximum performance, ex..sectorsize, etc...
5. How is compress-force running in a raid0 setup?

Thank you for any advice.
Tony
ToeiRei
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:53 am    Post subject: Re: Btrfs and Raid setup Reply with quote

eusanpe wrote:
1. For the partitions, should I use gdisk to create all primary partitions or fdisk along with LVM? This is going to be an all/only
Gentoo system. I will have partitions for /home /usr/portage/distfiles /usr along with some others

LVM is unneeded as btrfs does that for you. One btrfs partition containing multiple subvolumes does the trick as btrfs aims to get away from the idea of partitions. You just got 'storage' and that's it.

eusanpe wrote:
2. I am going to use Raid0 (striping) on my partitions, should /boot be set to Raid1 (mirroring)? What about swap?