LiveCD: Gentoo 1.4 Final - 1 Ghz Titanium PowerBook G4 15.2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GCmdr
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 10:36 pm    Post subject: LiveCD: Gentoo 1.4 Final - 1 Ghz Titanium PowerBook G4 15.2 Reply with quote

I'm trying to get the Gentoo 1.4 Final LiveCD to run on my PowerBook and need some help.

I've downloaded both the "livecd-g4-grp-1.4-cd1.iso" and "livecd-g4-grp-1.4-cd2.iso" CD images.

I can boot into the first CD just fine and log into the root account as well but them I don't know what to do after that. Yes, I'm new to this!

I'd like to find out how to configure my Airport card (I have WEP Security turned on) and how to configure Xwindows and launch KDE & Gnome. What are the correct commands to use for doing this?

My goal is to have a look around the LiveCD and decide whether I should install it permanetly on the HD. I've already allocated some room on the HD just in case I decide to do so but that is for the future.

Help would be appreciated. Thanks! :D
GCmdr
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 12:27 am    Post subject: Command: iwconfig Reply with quote

Ok, here is what I've figured out so far. I've managed to get my wireless network connection working (I think?) by learning about the iwconfig command. Here is what I used from the command prompt:

iwconfig eth1 essid wirelessnetworknamegoeshere encryption 00001111000011110000111100

I have not been able to prove it's working yet because I don't know how! Does anybody know if there is a way to specify a channel for the wireless conection with iwcofing? Do I need to specify one? I know that Mac OS X doesn't require that I type this in, it just picks up the connection automatically.