View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sniggit Apprentice
Joined: 31 Aug 2003 Posts: 187 Location: n00bcity
|
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 11:47 pm Post subject: USB mouse trouble (solved) |
|
|
I`m using the desktop guide here on gentoo
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/desktop.xml
I`ve gotten to the part where Im supposEd to install my usb mouse(a logitech dual optical).
After much hassle, i found the modules the guide says u need to use a usb mouse(mousedev, hid, input, usb-uhci and usbcore). I went through god knows how many module help files in menuconfig to find the ones i was looking for. Has to be a easier way if u know the module name, anybody know?
Anyway. I insmodded the modules and added them to modules.autoload.d, after this the says U should run a command:
I do so and nothing happens, which must mean something is wrong, anybody know what?
I dont really know what info I should post to solve my problem so please ask if u need any info.
Lastly I would just like to say, unlike the installation guide, the desktop configuration guide is not very n00b friendly. There is allot of things the guide assumes the user knows what he is doing, but in my case I have no idea. Some more explanation about how u do things and what the different stuff does/means.
tnx for any respond! _________________ Let the money shine!
Last edited by sniggit on Fri Sep 12, 2003 11:46 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Staren n00b
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 27 Location: Riviere-du-Loup, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just instaled kde on my desktop, got about the same problem for my optical usb logitech mouse; my /etc/X11/XF86Config was the cause: look at your core pointer's section, it should probably look like this:
# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************
Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier and driver
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/usbmouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Hope this coul help... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pilgrimm n00b
Joined: 23 Aug 2003 Posts: 28 Location: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
|
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try this:
Code: | cat /dev/input/mice |
if you get a whole bunch silly characters and what-not while you move the move around, then replace whatever's in the device option under mouse in the xf86config file with "/dev/input/mice". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pilla Bodhisattva
Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 7730 Location: Underworld
|
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 2:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it may be the case that your usb hub is not usb-uhci, but usb-ohci for example. Please make sure you're using the right one
BTW, moving to DE. _________________ "I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
luugin n00b
Joined: 10 May 2003 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You might want to add
Code: | Option "ChordMiddle" |
for the mouse section also. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sniggit Apprentice
Joined: 31 Aug 2003 Posts: 187 Location: n00bcity
|
Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
okay, I`ve tried the command
Code: | cat /dev/input/mice |
nothing happens.
I know usb-uhci is the right module, because i got a via chipset and via uses uhci. Right?
Quote: | Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/usbmouse" |
On the first one, "protocol", I got Auto. Isnt IMPS/2 only if u got a microsoft mouse?
The next one, "device", points to my /dev/input/mice directory. I tried changing it to /dev/usbmouse but that didn`t work.
Anybody got any ideas??
PS: what does Option "ChordMiddle" do? _________________ Let the money shine! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sniggit Apprentice
Joined: 31 Aug 2003 Posts: 187 Location: n00bcity
|
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I guessing nobody has any ideas since nobody has posted, but here is what i have found out since last time:
If i disconnect the usbmouse and then reconnect it, it shows up in the kernel log.
Read around on the forum and found someone who suggested to put the modules in a certaion order, more specifically i have the modules in modules.autoload.d in this order:
usbcore
input
usb-uhci
hid
mousedev
I`ve had allot of troubles with gentoo cause im a n00b and just starting to learn, but i`ve been working on this for three days no without any success.. If anybody has ANY ideas, PLEASE! post your suggestion.
I`m one step from trying voodoo or something to get it to work _________________ Let the money shine! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheWart Guru
Joined: 10 May 2002 Posts: 432 Location: Nashville,TN - USA
|
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
have you tried:
Or is /dev/usbmouse even there?
If it is, then change your XF86Config file to reflect that.
That is the address to my usb mouse. _________________ Face it, we are all noobs.
On the box it said it was designed for Win XP or better, so why won't it work with Linux? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sniggit Apprentice
Joined: 31 Aug 2003 Posts: 187 Location: n00bcity
|
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 8:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nope, dont have it. the only thing in /dev/input is mice.
Any ideas?? _________________ Let the money shine! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RexSum n00b
Joined: 11 Dec 2002 Posts: 19 Location: netherlands
|
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
modprobe usbmouse
modprobe mousedev
cat /dev/input/mice should now work
unless you dont have support for the usb hub ,ohdi or something it's called. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sniggit Apprentice
Joined: 31 Aug 2003 Posts: 187 Location: n00bcity
|
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 3:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
if u read the posts you would see have have a VIA chipset, and they use uhci.
ive tried modprobing them, still doesn`t work. Only thing is i use hid instead of usbmouse, could this be the problem. Dont think so but ill try it ASAP anyway..
Thanks anyway.
doesnt anybody have any idea what the problem could be?? _________________ Let the money shine! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Koala Kid Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 8:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmmmmmm.... in my opinion the problem is with that hid module.
try to replace it with usbmouse.o
don't forget to delete hid from your modules.autoload and add usbmouse.
should work (worked for me) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sniggit Apprentice
Joined: 31 Aug 2003 Posts: 187 Location: n00bcity
|
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 9:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I`ver tried it, nothing happens.
could u please post your lsmod and the relevant part of XF86Config? _________________ Let the money shine! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Koala Kid Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 9:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
bash-2.05b# lsmod
Module Size Used by Tainted: P
nvidia 1542560 10 (autoclean)
rtc 7548 0
usbmouse 2300 0 (unused)
uhci 27248 0 (unused)
usbcore 42112 0 [usbmouse uhci]
mousedev 4504 1
input 3872 0 [usbmouse mousedev]
8139too 15720 1
|
XF86Config:
Code: |
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Roguelazer Veteran
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 1233 Location: San Francisco, CA
|
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 9:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is my XF86Config input snippet, from my silmutaneous PS/2 and USB mouse (the USB is wireless and tends to die right when I'm about to frag something):
Code: |
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection
|
And here's the important part...
Code: |
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection
|
_________________ Registered Linux User #263260 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
peaceful Apprentice
Joined: 06 Jun 2003 Posts: 287 Location: Utah
|
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:08 pm Post subject: My Solution |
|
|
The desktop configuration guide didn't work for getting my logitech usb mouse working either.
You may find some help in the following thread that finally helped me get MY mouse working.
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=58886 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stormrider n00b
Joined: 31 Aug 2003 Posts: 23 Location: NF
|
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you are missing the module hid. you can compile hid as module in the kernel, after this insmod hid and then it should work.
maybe any1 can tell me which part i have to compile as nodule to get the input module? i miss it but get mouse1 in/dev/input on usb connection and cat /dev/input/mice works.
thanks _________________ --free DNS at www.orgdns.org-- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Roguelazer Veteran
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 1233 Location: San Francisco, CA
|
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 11:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hid doesn't need to be a module, it can be compiled in. Same for mousedev. _________________ Registered Linux User #263260 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sniggit Apprentice
Joined: 31 Aug 2003 Posts: 187 Location: n00bcity
|
Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2003 11:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
TNX peaceful!!!
I finally got the mouse to work and i am ar t last inside my kde desktop =) _________________ Let the money shine! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|