Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
powernow-k8 amd netbook troubles
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
daddio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Oct 2003
Posts: 145
Location: Orem, UT

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:40 pm    Post subject: powernow-k8 amd netbook troubles Reply with quote

I bought this cute little 11.5" gateway netbook, the lt3103u, and have been banging my head trying to get CPU frequency scaling working.
It has a processor that is identifies as:
Code:

archaeopteryx daddio # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 15
model           : 124
model name      : AMD Athlon(tm) Processor L110
stepping        : 2
cpu MHz         : 1197.038
cache size      : 512 KB
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow up rep_good extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch
bogomips        : 2394.07
TLB size        : 1024 4K pages
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzstep

I can't figure out what is wrong. Everything else is working. I have suspend-to-ram, acpi, even the thermal sensor.

But, though I have tried enabling powernow-k8 as a module, as a builtin, and even tried enabling the acpi p-states driver it will not work.

I just get this:
Code:

archaeopteryx daddio # modprobe powernow-k8
FATAL: Error inserting powernow_k8 (/lib/modules/2.6.33-gentoo/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/powernow-k8.ko): No such device

I have read that the identifier is a little weird for this cpu, everyone says its a sempron, but AMD won't say, and gateway just calls it an Athlon64.
help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loisl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 167
Location: Egelsbach

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hai,

i had the same trouble with my amd64 as well. Then I played a bit with my kernel configuration and now it works when I compile my powernow-k8 as a module.

Code:
loisl ~ # zcat /proc/config.gz | grep -i acpi
CONFIG_X86_64_ACPI_NUMA=y
# Power management and ACPI options
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER_METER=m
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSFS_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROC_EVENT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=m
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=m
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=m
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=m
CONFIG_ACPI_DOCK=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=m
CONFIG_ACPI_HOTPLUG_CPU=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR_AGGREGATOR=m
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=m
CONFIG_ACPI_NUMA=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_PCI_SLOT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER=m
# CONFIG_ACPI_SBS is not set
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m
CONFIG_PNPACPI=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEACPI=y
CONFIG_ATA_ACPI=y
# CONFIG_PATA_ACPI is not set
# ACPI drivers
# ACPI drivers
# CONFIG_THINKPAD_ACPI is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_WMI is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA is not set

loisl ~ # zcat /proc/config.gz | grep -i cpu_freq
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_POWERSAVE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y

loisl ~ # zcat /proc/config.gz | grep -i powernow
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8=m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum