Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X server crashed, no boot?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ctdaemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:11 am    Post subject: X server crashed, no boot? Reply with quote

I don't have X Server on my Gentoo machine and I've gone through the X Server HOWTO. The problem is that it crashes every time I try startx and I cant get out of it, so I have to to a hard reboot (no comments, I know this is deadly). Now, I've emerged Xorg and HAL, but I saw somewhere something about dbus and consolekit, so my question is: After getting Xorg and hal and setting HALd in the default runlevel, do I also need to emerge dbus and consolekit? And do they have daemons that need to be set in the default runlevel? Also, I would post information such as the log but... Im using a different computer for this post, so any help on these two questions (concerning dbus and consolekit) would be much appreciated. Thank you all for your patience and help.
_________________
~Stupid is only the guy who makes the same mistake twice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enable the hal, dbus and consolekit USE flags in /etc/make.conf
or if you intend to have a mostly desktop system, setting a desktop profile will enable most/all the USE flags you will need:
Code:
eselect profile list
eselect profile set 2
eselect profile show


Build them into your system:
Code:
emerge -uDN world


Start them:
Code:
eselect rc add dbus default
eselect rc add hald default
eselect rc add consolekit default
rc


Make sure you have evdev support enabled in make.conf and in the kernel:
Code:
 ~ # grep EVDEV /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_INPUT_EVDEV=y
Code:
 ~ # grep evdev /etc/make.conf
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"

Make sure you re-emerge all the x11-drivers after updating xorg-server?

Code:
emerge app-portage/portage-utils && emerge -1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)


Try X without an xorg.conf file first.

Post your emerge --info as soon as you can please.


Last edited by Mike Hunt on Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ctdaemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, im currently doing
Code:
emerge -uDN world
so its gonna take a while with my crappy internet connection, and as soon as I get my desktop working and all that, I'll post the emerge --info (or xorg --info, i cant remember but its in your post, so Ill just check it out once I get to that point) Thanks for your help and very clear explanation
_________________
~Stupid is only the guy who makes the same mistake twice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, you're welcome.
I just added more stuff about evdev to the above post, have a look. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ctdaemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, the /etc/make.conf shows the following:
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev synaptics"

is that gonna cause problems?
_________________
~Stupid is only the guy who makes the same mistake twice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's fine for a laptop touchpad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ctdaemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I've done everything, now as soon as I finish updating the kernel from a separate issue, I'll reboot and startx and see the results. Will let you know if anything more breaks :P thanks for your help, kudos!
_________________
~Stupid is only the guy who makes the same mistake twice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ctdaemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maldita sea!!!!!! Ok, I have no idea what went wrong. I did everything you said, exactly to the letter, I put the daemons in the default runlevel, then reboot. I type startx after reboot and it has the same problem as it did in the beginning. I really honestly have no idea why its doing this. All I want is a basic KDE interface with the bare minimal neccesities for a working system and its taking me four weeks to get that. I just dont know whats going wrong, Ive done everything to the letter from the handbook, the XServer HOWTO and your first post and still it wont work... Why must this be so complicated?
_________________
~Stupid is only the guy who makes the same mistake twice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin Majere
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you could post a few things it might help
the output of "emerge --info"
and your xorg log ( /var/log/Xorg.0.log ) would definately be a major help

Since you don't have X , use gpm and links to post if you have to
gpm is usually installed if your using the desktop profile , you just have to start it

run as root
Code:
/etc/init.d/gpm start


if you get a not found error then "emerge gpm"
Your going to need to "emerge links" if you haven't yet , text based web browser that doesn't need X

just open your file in one terminal , open links text browser in the other and surf over here to the forums and this post , switch back, highlight what you want to copy and paste using the left mouse button , switch over to the terminal running links , right clicking the mouse will paste whatever you highlighted.

Hopefully this helps you to help us to help you (if that makes sense) as it's really hard to figure your problem out without the right information
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Total MAdMaN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By crashing and needing to do a hard reset I presume it's bringing up a blank black screen with a disabled keyboard. If so it's because the X installation no longer includes twm and Hal requires Ctrl-Alt-Del setting up, so you should continue with the X and KDE installations and come back to the testing once you're finished.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum