Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Intel Wifi 5300 keeps dropping (sort of?)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:55 am    Post subject: Intel Wifi 5300 keeps dropping (sort of?) Reply with quote

The "sort of" is because both iwconfig and ifconfig show everything is fine. But nevertheless, the connection is effectively dropped. The only solution is to restart net.wlan0. Suffice it to say, this is a tedious and annoying solution. Googling hasn't revealed much except that this used to be a problem on Windows, too.

I have used kernel 2.6.31, 2.6.33 and 2.6.34-rc2 and they all have the same problem. I'm running ~amd64 (though was running regular amd64) on an Lenovo ThinkPad T500. Any thoughts?

Here's my /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
update_config=1
#ap_scan=2
fast_reauth=1
#eapol_version=1

network={
        key_mgmt=NONE
        priority=-99999
}

network={
        ssid="XXX"
        psk="XXX"
        priority=2
}


/etc/conf.d/net:
Code:

dns_domain_lo="local"

config_lo="127.0.0.1"
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )

modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="wext"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that you are using an eth0 and wlan0, don't use them at the same time.

Furthermore, I think that:

Quote:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="wext"


should be

Quote:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
# it's a wpa_supplicant parameter

If that does not fix your problem, try below:

Can you disable the net infrastructure (for a while):

Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 stop


Use this as your wpa_supplicant:

Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0

network={
        key_mgmt=NONE
        priority=-99999
}

network={
        ssid="XXX"
        psk="XXX"
        priority=2
}


And start it as:

Code:
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd


Can you post the output of that please? Then, check if your connection works:

Code:
dhclient wlan0


or if you don't have dhclient

Code:
dhcpcd wlan0


Wait 10 seconds, you should be able to browse the net.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you missed the issue. It's not that I *can't* connect; it's just that the connection drops after a bit and I have to restart net.wlan0. Sometimes I can go an hour or more without a drop. Other times it's 30 seconds. But it does successfully connect, authenticate and all that jazz. So your corrections make no difference to me (I did try them just in case -- the results were the same).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you see anything in dmesg when it disconnects?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rexilion wrote:
Do you see anything in dmesg when it disconnects?

Nothing anywhere. Even ifconfig and iwconfig still show it as connected. I just can't use the connection (ping fails, can't load web pages (they time out), etc).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the kernel name of your driver? (e.g. iwl3945?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rexilion wrote:
What is the kernel name of your driver? (e.g. iwl3945?)

IWLWIFI or IWL5000 are the config options, but the module is named iwlagn. I currently have it built-in to the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post this :

Code:

# cd /usr/src/linux
# cat .config | grep -i 802
# cat .config | grep -i kill
# cat .config | grep -i iwl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Can you post this :

Code:

# cd /usr/src/linux
# cat .config | grep -i 802
# cat .config | grep -i kill
# cat .config | grep -i iwl

Code:

# CONFIG_VLAN_8021Q is not set
# CONFIG_IEEE802154 is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211=y
# CONFIG_NL80211_TESTMODE is not set
# CONFIG_CFG80211_DEVELOPER_WARNINGS is not set
# CONFIG_CFG80211_REG_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211_DEFAULT_PS=y
# CONFIG_CFG80211_DEBUGFS is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT=y
CONFIG_LIB80211=y
# CONFIG_LIB80211_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_MAC80211=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_MINSTREL=y
# CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT_PID is not set
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT_MINSTREL=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT="minstrel"
# CONFIG_MAC80211_MESH is not set
CONFIG_MAC80211_LEDS=y
# CONFIG_MAC80211_DEBUGFS is not set
# CONFIG_MAC80211_DEBUG_MENU is not set
# CONFIG_MAC80211_HWSIM is not set
# CONFIG_LEDS_BD2802 is not set
# CONFIG_RTC_DRV_RX8025 is not set
# CONFIG_RTC_DRV_BQ4802 is not set

Code:

CONFIG_RFKILL=y
CONFIG_RFKILL_LEDS=y
CONFIG_RFKILL_INPUT=y
# CONFIG_TOSHIBA_BT_RFKILL is not set

Code:

CONFIG_IWLWIFI=m
CONFIG_IWLWIFI_SPECTRUM_MEASUREMENT=y
# CONFIG_IWLWIFI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_IWLAGN=m
# CONFIG_IWL4965 is not set
CONFIG_IWL5000=y
# CONFIG_IWL3945 is not set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post the output of this?

Code:
for i in `ls /sys/module/iwl5000/parameters`; do echo ">>>"$i"<<<"; cat /sys/module/iwl5000/parameters/$i; done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rexilion wrote:
Can you post the output of this?

Code:
for i in `ls /sys/module/iwl5000/parameters`; do echo ">>>"$i"<<<"; cat /sys/module/iwl5000/parameters/$i; done

Code:
>>>11n_disable50<<<
0
>>>amsdu_size_8K50<<<
1
>>>fw_restart50<<<
1
>>>queues_num50<<<
0
>>>swcrypto50<<<
N

Although it wasn't iwl5000, but iwlagn. So I guess that's the driver name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try starting the kernel with the following appended to the kernel bootline:

kernel /boot/kernel .. .. .. iwl5000.11n_disable50=1 iwl5000.fw_restart50=1 iwl5000.swcrypto50=1

Does it help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rexilion wrote:
Try starting the kernel with the following appended to the kernel bootline:

kernel /boot/kernel .. .. .. iwl5000.11n_disable50=1 iwl5000.fw_restart50=1 iwl5000.swcrypto50=1

Does it help?

Before I reboot: I can't turn off n based networking (assuming that's what 11n_disable50 does) because that's what our router uses. I don't currently have an option to do it differently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, those changes didn't help. It dropped again after a few minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qdii
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Sep 2009
Posts: 106
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am experiencing the exact same problem. Have you found a solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum