Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
3D web applications - webgl and o3d
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fernandoc1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:42 pm    Post subject: 3D web applications - webgl and o3d Reply with quote

I'm interested in trying some web 3d applications using the available technologies like WebGL and O3D.
References for them are available at:
http://code.google.com/apis/o3d/
http://khronos.org/webgl/wiki/Main_Page
Could someone help me setting up a browser to be able to play the demos of these technologies on Gentoo?

When I try on chromium I get this error:
Code:

fernando@localhost ~ $ chromium --no-sandbox --enable-webgl
GraphicsContext3D: error opening libGL.so.1
GraphicsContext3D: tried:
 /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
 /usr/lib32/libGL.so.1
 /usr/lib64/libGL.so.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Link31
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 200
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the following:
Code:
LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/usr/lib/opengl/$(eselect opengl show)/lib" chromium --no-sandbox --enable-webgl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 1173

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work here: :(

Code:
$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/usr/lib/opengl/$(eselect opengl show)/lib" chromium --no-sandbox --enable-webgl
[6957:6957:11432291220:ERROR:renderer_main.cc(218)] Running without renderer sandbox


Anything else I could try?
_________________
Regards,
Mick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5910

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you sure your card supports that?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 1173

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
are you sure your card supports that?


It does in MSWindows ...

How do I find out? It is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4670:
Code:
           *-display
                description: VGA compatible controller
                product: ATI Technologies Inc
                vendor: ATI Technologies Inc
                physical id: 0
                bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
                version: 00
                width: 32 bits
                clock: 33MHz
                capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
                configuration: driver=radeon latency=0
                resources: irq:45 memory:d0000000-dfffffff ioport:2000(size=256) memory:cfef0000-cfefffff memory:cfe00000-cfe1ffff
           *-multimedia
                description: Audio device
                product: RV710/730
                vendor: ATI Technologies Inc
                physical id: 0.1
                bus info: pci@0000:02:00.1
                version: 00
                width: 32 bits
                clock: 33MHz
                capabilities: pm pciexpress msi bus_master cap_list
                configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=0
                resources: irq:49 memory:cfeec000-cfeeffff

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5910

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MickKi wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
are you sure your card supports that?


It does in MSWindows ...

How do I find out? It is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4670:
Code:
           *-display
                description: VGA compatible controller
                product: ATI Technologies Inc
                vendor: ATI Technologies Inc
                physical id: 0
                bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
                version: 00
                width: 32 bits
                clock: 33MHz
                capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
                configuration: driver=radeon latency=0
                resources: irq:45 memory:d0000000-dfffffff ioport:2000(size=256) memory:cfef0000-cfefffff memory:cfe00000-cfe1ffff
           *-multimedia
                description: Audio device
                product: RV710/730
                vendor: ATI Technologies Inc
                physical id: 0.1
                bus info: pci@0000:02:00.1
                version: 00
                width: 32 bits
                clock: 33MHz
                capabilities: pm pciexpress msi bus_master cap_list
                configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=0
                resources: irq:49 memory:cfeec000-cfeeffff


last time I've checked, this is a linux forum, what applies for windows doesn't necessarily applies for linux.

what gpu driver are you using?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 1173

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
MickKi wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
are you sure your card supports that?


It does in MSWindows ...


last time I've checked, this is a linux forum, what applies for windows doesn't necessarily applies for linux.

Right, but your question was if the card supports it. It does in MSWindows. So it's not a hardware capability issue.

DaggyStyle wrote:

what gpu driver are you using?


The current xorg driver installed is x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.2 and media-libs/mesa-7.10.3. These are the mesa flags:
Code:
Installed versions:  7.10.3(19:26:52 06/23/11)(classic gallium nptl video_cards_radeon -debug -gles -hardened -kernel_FreeBSD -llvm -motif -pic -selinux -video_cards_intel -video_cards_mach64 -video_cards_mga -video_cards_nouveau -video_cards_r128 -video_cards_savage -video_cards_sis -video_cards_tdfx -video_cards_via -video_cards_vmware)

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5910

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MickKi wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
MickKi wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
are you sure your card supports that?


It does in MSWindows ...


last time I've checked, this is a linux forum, what applies for windows doesn't necessarily applies for linux.

Right, but your question was if the card supports it. It does in MSWindows. So it's not a hardware capability issue.

DaggyStyle wrote:

what gpu driver are you using?


The current xorg driver installed is x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.2 and media-libs/mesa-7.10.3. These are the mesa flags:
Code:
Installed versions:  7.10.3(19:26:52 06/23/11)(classic gallium nptl video_cards_radeon -debug -gles -hardened -kernel_FreeBSD -llvm -motif -pic -selinux -video_cards_intel -video_cards_mach64 -video_cards_mga -video_cards_nouveau -video_cards_r128 -video_cards_savage -video_cards_sis -video_cards_tdfx -video_cards_via -video_cards_vmware)


right, my bad, I meant driver, not card.

I'd recommand trying a 9999 ebuilds of libdrm, mesa and ati
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 1173

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem.

I will need to unmask a few things to do that on an otherwise mostly stable machine. Or could just wait for a little while longer?

Thank you.
_________________
Regards,
Mick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5910

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MickKi wrote:
No problem.

I will need to unmask a few things to do that on an otherwise mostly stable machine. Or could just wait for a little while longer?

Thank you.


I'll try to keep an eye on this topic, cannot promise.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2253
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In chormium it doesn't work anyway even if you have the right card. In Firefox, it works even if you don't have the right card.
_________________
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 436
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the latest on this issue? I would like it if WebGL worked, though it is not crucial to me. I use Chromium and the i965 driver, so according to the support page, my system meets the requirements, but WebGL does not work. Does anyone have it working on a similar system to mine? I'm using ~ for xf86-video-intel, mesa and libdrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2253
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Navigate to chrome://gpu and see.

--ignore-gpu-blacklist to force openGL on.
_________________
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WebGL works fine on radeon r600 with Mesa >= 8.0. Tested on a HD3000 IGP and HD5450.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using mesa, xf86-video-ati, libdrm live version, kernel-3.3.0, on a HD6870 and webgl works good with:

Code:
 LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/usr/lib/opengl/$(eselect opengl show)/lib" chromium --no-sandbox --enable-webgl --ignore-gpu-blacklist


How can I set this as default run of chromium?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Changing in /usr/share/applications/chromium-browser-chromium.desktop exe line with:

Code:
chromium --enable-webgl --ignore-gpu-blacklist


Worked

Thanks to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 436
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, it worked for me too, though I think the graphics are not 100% correct. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my pc gpu acceleration is fantastic: blazing fast. Until now no problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2253
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I suffered a kernel crash.
_________________
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum