Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I tell "startx" which config file to load?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sparriskrigaren
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 9:34 pm    Post subject: How do I tell "startx" which config file to load? Reply with quote

I will explain what I mean.

I've got one standard X-config-file called "XF86Config-4", but I've got another one called "XF86Config-TV" which I have configured in order to activate TV-out in the manner I want to.

Is there a simple way to run "startx" and specifying with a parameter or something, that I want it to load from the alternate config-file? XF86Config-4 seems to be the standard one for me.

Best regards,
Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mackstann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 50
Location: Iowa, US

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe:

startx -- -xf86config /path/to/your/config/file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
triad
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 234
Location: Dark Side of the Moon

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

why use 2 config files. just put all in one main XF86Config-4 file as different server layouts. Example:

Code:

Section "Screen"

    Identifier  "Screen0"
    Device      "NVIDIA0"
    Monitor     "KDS"
    DefaultDepth 16

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes      "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
   
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen1"
    Device      "NVIDIA0"
    Monitor     "KDS"
    DefaultDepth 16

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"

    Identifier  "Monitor"
    Screen   "Screen0"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"

    Identifier  "TV"
    Screen   1   "Screen1"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection


then to run TV I just type:

Code:
startx  -- :1 -layout TV vt8


I Use NVTV then to output screen to TV. The way i have set up IMHO is nice because I after loging into main default screen I can open command prompt and goto virtual terminal with correct size screen for TV. then flip flop back and forth via ctrl-alt-F7 and ctrl-alt-F8.

Hope this helps.

Triad
_________________
It's not the size of your processor that matters... But how you use it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fizz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thread is now bookmarked, i was gonna ask a nice way to accomplish this. :)
_________________
Athlon 64 3200, MSI NEO NForce 3, 1Gig PC3700, EVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum