Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
I am new to Gentoo, and unsure where to start.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Moo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 6:58 pm    Post subject: I am new to Gentoo, and unsure where to start. Reply with quote

Here's some info, in case it's relevant to the following questions:\

ADSL => ROUTER => Hub => this computer

1.4GHz AMD TBird
512MB DDR
40GB HDD 7200RPM
Sound Blaster Live
GeForce 3
plextor cd-r/w
sony 16x DVD-rom
Realmagic Hollywood+ hardware DVD decoder

I am not terribly familiar with linux, but I'm so sick of WinXP that I trashed it, and decided that Gentoo is the way to go.

I installed off of the LiveCD + stage 3 tarball, and aside from DHCP idiocy everything was hunky dory.

Now I uninstalled KDE, and have only command line interface left.
I have root and a standard user account set up.

Here's what I want / what I want to do.

I _must_ be able to write and compile java to bytecode, or I will not be able to continue school
I'd like to be able to log in over ssh

I don't know which window manager to use, WindowMaker looks kinda cool, but I keep hearing KDE and Gnome, plus a bunch of *boxes...
Suggestions on how to choose a window manager?

Where do I find configuration file for *stuff* in gentoo?
X config
system config?
ethernet setup?

etc....

I'd like to be able to use one program for email/calendar/PDA synchronization/newsgroups
I'd really like to still be able to use my DVD drive. my hardware DVD decoder may be sold soon, I don't think I need it, but I don't know yet.

How do I change the keyboard layout, and mouse style?\
I'll be buying a new keyboard soon, (damn coke)
my mouse is a logitech ps2 2button + scrollwheel/button3

how can I figure out what packages are available over portage?