Grub Error 15
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
shazzam6999
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 2:37 am    Post subject: Grub Error 15 Reply with quote

Alright, this is my first attempt at installing Gentoo (in a vbox) and it went fine until I rebooted and got "grub error 15" which I know is because it can't find the kernel image file (well I didn't know this... but I do now). So I went back into the livecd and mounted my partitions and dont have any kernel image in hda1 and for that matter I have no /usr/src/ file... there is nothing in the src file. I'm sure I messed up something simple but I've gone through the documentation and I'm not really sure where to go from here. I just used the genkernel, should I try recompiling it?
erik258
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

We'd better start at the beginning. Can we please see your /boot/grub/grub.conf file?

If you don't have anything in /usr/src, I find it hard to believe you have a kernel installed. Are you sure the genkernel process -which I'm afraid i don't use - completed successfully?
shazzam6999
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... I apparently don't have a grub.conf file although I could swear I configured it. The kernel said it compiled successfully and it took around an hour to complete.

Actually, after Googling it I definitely created a grub.conf file so I'm not sure what happened to it.

I might just try reinstalling again... compiling gives me an excuse to study for finals anyways and I'm sure I just missed something simple.
erik258
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh, I always use gentoo as an excuse not to get anything done.