Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GRUB2 errors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 2:46 am    Post subject: GRUB2 errors Reply with quote

anybody experienced this error with grub2?


out of range pointer 0x7fea0
errors: no partitions on this disk.


i have tried the solutions proposed in the ubuntu forum but still can't boot
with grub2.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, can you tell me how did you install your grub 2 ?

Also, can you post this :

Code:

# fdisk -l
# cat /etc/fstab
# cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Hi, can you tell me how did you install your grub 2 ?

Also, can you post this :

Code:

# fdisk -l
# cat /etc/fstab
# cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg


grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
grub-install /dev/sda

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 15 120456 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 16 139 996030 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 140 58934 472270837+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 58935 60801 14996677+ 83 Linux

/dev/sda1 /boot ext4 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/sda3 / ext4 noatime 0 1
/dev/sda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/sda4 /usr/portage ext4 noatime,barrier=0,data=writeback,nobh,commit=100 0 2
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,users 0 0
shm /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.34-zen0' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4b134d55-02ed-475f-9a2b-6ccc928ed37f
echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.34-zen0 ...'
linux /kernel-2.6.34-zen0 root=/dev/sda3 ro
}
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.34-rc5-nou' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4b134d55-02ed-475f-9a2b-6ccc928ed37f
echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.34-rc5-nou ...'
linux /kernel-2.6.34-rc5-nou root=/dev/sda3 ro
}
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.34-intel' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4b134d55-02ed-475f-9a2b-6ccc928ed37f
echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.34-intel ...'
linux /kernel-2.6.34-intel root=/dev/sda3 ro
}
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.34-ck1' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4b134d55-02ed-475f-9a2b-6ccc928ed37f
echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.34-ck1 ...'
linux /kernel-2.6.34-ck1 root=/dev/sda3 ro
}
GRUB_TERMINAL=console (proposed in the ubuntu forum as a solution but doesn't work for me)

etc etc.
used to work until the last few updates.
grub-9999.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I'm not an expert, but are you sure :

Code:

/dev/sda1 /boot ext4 noauto,noatime 1 2


Maybe you need to have this :

Code:

insmod ext4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Hi, I'm not an expert, but are you sure :

Code:

/dev/sda1 /boot ext4 noauto,noatime 1 2


Maybe you need to have this :

Code:

insmod ext4


honestly i don't think that should be a problem.
ext2 ext3 and ext4 are exchangeable to my knowledge though i confess am
no expert too.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mousee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 291
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use Grub2.x but, unless something drastically changed since I last played around with it...
Code:

set root='(hd0,1)'

This is wrong. It should be
Code:

set root='(hd0,0)'

The "root" it's referring to in this case is actually the drive location you have grub installed to which, naturally, is your /boot partition (/dev/sda1 or hd0,0).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mousee wrote:
I don't use Grub2.x but, unless something drastically changed since I last played around with it...
Code:

set root='(hd0,1)'

This is wrong. It should be
Code:

set root='(hd0,0)'

The "root" it's referring to in this case is actually the drive location you have grub installed to which, naturally, is your /boot partition (/dev/sda1 or hd0,0).


you are talking about grub-legacy. the grub2 scheme is different.
set root='(hd0,1)' is the correct numbering in grub2
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, Grub2 start at 1 with the partition, not 0 :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 530
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm seeing this now :(. I swapped my old HD by a new SSD and I'm getting the same 0x7fea0 error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
js08
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using grub-1.97.2-r2 (sabayon-overlay) for more than a half year now and it worked fine, survived several system/world rebuilds up to yesterday on my laptop (AMD64, /boot belongs to / and is ext4). Yesterday I did a world rebuild after switching to gcc-4.5.2 and now the system is no longer bootable....

It starts with:
Code:

GRUB loading...
Welcome to GRUB!

Entering rescue mode...
out of range pointer 0x7fe80


My first thought was that something went wrong with the installation of grub2 - but rebuilding, installing, etc of grub shows no errors on laptop (after starting it with rescue dvds and chrooting into it). Unfortunately I have already deleted gcc-4.5.1 ...

perhaps someone out there can give me a hint - whether there are compiler problems with grub2 or something else...
_________________
Train Hard Or Don't Train At All
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
js08
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as assumed it's the compiler which is buggy or trigger this bug (Portage 2.1.9.26 (default/linux/amd64/10.0/no-multilib, gcc-4.5.2, glibc-2.12.1-r3, 2.6.37-rc5 x86_64))

gcc-4.5.2 -> sys-boot/grub-1.97.2-r2 -> out of range pointer 0x7fe80
gcc-4.5.2 -> sys-boot/grub-1.98-r8 -> same out of range pointer 0x7fe80

after re-installing an older compiler version (sys-devel/gcc-4.4.4-r2)

gcc-4.4.4 -> sys-boot/grub-1.97.2-r2 -> works like a charm again
gcc-4.4.4 -> sys-boot/grub-1.98-r8 -> boots too but has gfxterm problems with my laptop)


perhaps the other out-of-range-pointer problems are also compiler (+/- optimization) issues.
_________________
Train Hard Or Don't Train At All
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schrdlu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 61
Location: Adelaide Sth Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

js08 wrote:
as assumed it's the compiler which is buggy or trigger this bug (Portage 2.1.9.26 (default/linux/amd64/10.0/no-multilib, gcc-4.5.2, glibc-2.12.1-r3, 2.6.37-rc5 x86_64))

gcc-4.5.2 -> sys-boot/grub-1.97.2-r2 -> out of range pointer 0x7fe80
gcc-4.5.2 -> sys-boot/grub-1.98-r8 -> same out of range pointer 0x7fe80

after re-installing an older compiler version (sys-devel/gcc-4.4.4-r2)

gcc-4.4.4 -> sys-boot/grub-1.97.2-r2 -> works like a charm again
gcc-4.4.4 -> sys-boot/grub-1.98-r8 -> boots too but has gfxterm problems with my laptop)


perhaps the other out-of-range-pointer problems are also compiler (+/- optimization) issues.


HMMMMMM, maybe it's not just me then,portage 2.1.9.26,gcc-4.5.1,glibc-2.12.1-r3 grub-0.97-r10,are,similar items in my rebuild,had a hdd failure,and could only get a 500G ide replacement,after around 10 or so failed boots/rebuilds,thought I would try and use the original sata 160G drive,which at this time is in process of emerge -e system. So not holding breath to see if I get a boot,using the 201012 mini install cd and portage. Not too sure if my mirror will have the earlier files needed to create a system,, anyone have any idea as to redundancy of files in the respective mirrors??????.
My system AMD64 2300 nvidia mobo ,which I cant locate an upgrade for the bios,as I thought that might have been the problem,but the 500G is recognised in the bios ok. It's now 00:50 so think I will shut down/mask the gcc and try again tomorrow.

Well no luck there rebuilt the bootstrap/& system with the gcc-4.4.4-r2 ,changed my keywords from '~amd64 to amd64' and apart from downloading a lot more files the result is the same loading stage -1.5 error 15, can someone point me to a cure for this, I'm still perusing the forums...... Also I think this might be 64 bit problem as this hdd was originally in a 32 bit machine with all the latest updates & portage,and all worked ok in that machine,apart from the fact I wasn't able to access the whole hdd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apurkrt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Location: Czechia, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

js08 wrote:
as assumed it's the compiler which is buggy or trigger this bug


I can confirm this, run into the same problem with gcc 4.5.2, switching back to 4.4.4 (through gcc-config), recompiling & reinstalling grub solved the problem

gcc-4.5.2 + sys-boot/grub-1.98 -> out of range pointer ...
gcc-4.4.4 + sys-boot/grub-1.98 -> works fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hirakendu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 386
Location: san diego

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also see the bug 318215 at b.g.o. The conclusion is that grub-1.98 is sort of obsolete and broken with gcc-4.5, and grub-1.99 is on its way. Meanwhile, need to use grub-9999 (the bzr ebuild) with the debug options disabled in the ebuild. (Apparently grub-1.99 should also work with debug enabled but I didn't have time to test it myself.) I have up a tested and working revised ebuild here.

Update: I just verified that the 9999 ebuild in portage also works.
_________________
Helium Sources || Gentoo Minimal Livecd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1139
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why on earth you are updating grub guys? 8O The darn thing never behaves in a predictable way! :?
As soon as you make it boot your system, you should do "emerge -C grub".
After that only the configuration file needs editing if you change kernel or something!
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apurkrt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Location: Czechia, Europe

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kollin wrote:
Why on earth you are updating grub guys? 8O The darn thing never behaves in a predictable way! :?
As soon as you make it boot your system, you should do "emerge -C grub".
After that only the configuration file needs editing if you change kernel or something!


Why update? Why not, maybe one just wants to try grub2?

Actually, I wasn't updating, I just installed gentoo, updated it (emerge -uDN world in chroot), switched to new (4.5) gcc, then booted into it manually through grub2 on flashdisk and just wanted to install grub2... and I've run into the "out of range pointer" bug.

Regarding 'emerge -C grub', I don't think it's a good idea, it would remove the grub-mkconfig script, which is the standard way to create/update /boot/grub/grub.cfg in grub2 (/boot/grub/menu.lst is gone in grub2 + the /boot/grub/grub.cfg is not supposed to be edited directly)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1139
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

renergy wrote:
Kollin wrote:
Why on earth you are updating grub guys? 8O The darn thing never behaves in a predictable way! :?
As soon as you make it boot your system, you should do "emerge -C grub".
After that only the configuration file needs editing if you change kernel or something!


Why update? Why not, maybe one just wants to try grub2?

Actually, I wasn't updating, I just installed gentoo, updated it (emerge -uDN world in chroot), switched to new (4.5) gcc, then booted into it manually through grub2 on flashdisk and just wanted to install grub2... and I've run into the "out of range pointer" bug.

Regarding 'emerge -C grub', I don't think it's a good idea, it would remove the grub-mkconfig script, which is the standard way to create/update /boot/grub/grub.cfg in grub2 (/boot/grub/menu.lst is gone in grub2 + the /boot/grub/grub.cfg is not supposed to be edited directly)


C'moon i'm editin manualy grub.cfg from years... no problems so far 8)

P.S. Still using grub-1.96, changed rootfs 3 times and the kernel countless times :D
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hirakendu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 386
Location: san diego

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ Kollin, renergy:

I too edit grub.cfg directly. I find it ridiculous to use scripts for editing such a simple config file. (Not to mention, Ubuntu and co's grub2 management is hilarious and obscures something so intuitive, all probably in the name of ease and scripting.) Regardless, you might find my grub.cfg (and grub-submenu.cfg) useful, which contains example entries for many OS'es, including Mac OS X.

The only command from grub which I use is grub-install, which is rare too. While one could manage with just the grub files in boot, I wouldn't recommend emerge -C grub. Besides grub is fairly reliable these days and doesn't break much during updates.
_________________
Helium Sources || Gentoo Minimal Livecd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1139
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hirakendu wrote:
Regardless, you might find my grub.cfg (and grub-submenu.cfg) useful, which contains example entries for many OS'es, including Mac OS X.


.cfg files saved! 8)
Thank you! :D
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apurkrt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Location: Czechia, Europe

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hirakendu wrote:
Regardless, you might find my grub.cfg (and grub-submenu.cfg) useful, which contains example entries for many OS'es, including Mac OS X.


Nice summary in the files! :idea:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hirakendu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 386
Location: san diego

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ Kollin and renergy:

Thank you, and yes, I forgot to mention that it includes some notes in between and towards the end about grub2 management, including making live iso dvds, usb disks and such. (For booting osx, one needs to have the --enable-efiemu in the ebuild, as in here. Also see a grub background and font in here. Lots of other small details here and there.)
_________________
Helium Sources || Gentoo Minimal Livecd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apurkrt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Location: Czechia, Europe

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: grub 1.99_rc1 works fine with gcc 4.5.2

no more 'out of range pointer' bug..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum