Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]Wireless issues... Error 132
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 12:00 am    Post subject: [solved]Wireless issues... Error 132 Reply with quote

So my first 'real' Gentoo install went through with relatively few hiccups, and now I'm in the actual install environment and need to configure some things...

I'm having trouble with the vga= clause in grub.conf. I tried the standard "vga=792" but that failed on boot and asked me to choose from a few different options I couldn't understand (and which didn't seem to be right)... All I want is a basic 1024x768 :(
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~


Last edited by HouseAtreides on Fri May 28, 2010 4:48 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not that easy anymore :lol:
http://dev.gentoo.org/~spock/projects/uvesafb/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
not that easy anymore :lol:
http://dev.gentoo.org/~spock/projects/uvesafb/


Sigh, and now I run into the same issue I had before with the network not working. Only now I know definitely what I'm working with.

I'm trying to connect to wireless.
I have an Intel pro/wirless 3945ABG (Golan), using the iwl3945 driver.


I'm pretty sure I configured everything having to do with this into the kernel. Yet I still see "SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory" when wlan0 tries to start.


Was hoping network network setup would be easier on the actual machine :S
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
"SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory"
usually means no firmware. The help for the driver in menuconfig says:
Quote:
CONFIG_IWL3945:
Select to build the driver supporting the:
Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG/BG Network Connection
This driver uses the kernel's mac80211 subsystem.
In order to use this driver, you will need a microcode (uCode)
image for it. You can obtain the microcode from:
<http://intellinuxwireless.org/>.
The microcode is typically installed in /lib/firmware.
You can
look in the hotplug script /etc/hotplug/firmware.agent to
determine which directory FIRMWARE_DIR is set to when the script
If you want to compile the driver as a module ( = code which can be
inserted in and removed from the running kernel whenever you want),
say M here and read <file:Documentation/kbuild/modules.txt>. The
module will be called iwl3945.
Symbol: IWL3945 [=n]
Prompt: Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG/BG Network Connection (iwl3945)
Defined at drivers/net/wireless/iwlwifi/Kconfig:88
Depends on: NETDEVICES && !S390 && IWLWIFI
Location:
-> Device Drivers
-> Network device support (NETDEVICES [=y])
-> Wireless LAN
-> Wireless LAN (IEEE 802.11) (WLAN_80211 [=y])
-> Intel Wireless Wifi (IWLWIFI [=y])

get firmware here and extract to /lib/firmware.
Code:
ifconfig -a #does it show an interface name
ifconfig <your interface name> up
ifconfig

does it show up now? what is its interface name?
boot cd that networks, mount gentoo partitions, enter chroot
Code:
echo "net-wireless/wpa_supplicant qt4" >> /etc/portage/package.use
emerge wireless-tools wpa_supplicant dhcpcd
get stuff to work with.
Code:
iwconfig
does the wireless show up?
Code:
iwlist scan
does the wireless scan and report contact with your router?
Have you emerged a desktop?
Do you plan to use dhcp or fixed ip? I will assume dhcp.

will assume your interface is named wlan0, if incorrect, substitute your actual interface name for wlan0 in anything you use from below:

edit /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf to include:
Quote:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1
ap_scan=1


If you do not have a desktop; add to wpa_supplicant.conf (using info gathered by iwlist scan and from setting up your router to fill in the blanks, pick a network example from the bottom of /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf that best matches your network) a network entry. Mine is simply:
Quote:
network={
ssid="myssid"
psk="abcdefgh"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=TKIP
}
for a basic shared key wpa setup


edit /etc/conf.d/net to include:
Quote:
modules_wlan0=( "wpa_supplicant" )
modules_wlan0=( "dhcpcd" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=15
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_wlan0="-t 10"
dhcp_ra0="nodns" # optional
dns_servers_wlan0=( "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy 4.2.2.5" ) #optional
where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx could be your routers ip if it gives good dns, yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy could be your isp's dns server, 4.2.2.5 could be (and is) a public dns server; don't use the router if the laptop will be used away from your router lest it cause slow dns service
optional in that using this pair may speed dns service but they are not necessary to get service

Code:
cd /etc/init.d/
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
Make a symlink so starting wlan0 will run the gentoo network script.

Code:
rc-update add net.wlan0 default
/etc/init.d/wlan0 restart
set wlan0 to start at boot. actually not necessary if you are using dbus/hal/evdev/udev.

If you have a desktop find wpa_gui in the applications or start a terminal to run it. this will give you a simple gui interface to scan for, configure for, and connect to networks. It also allows saving configurations of networks you expect to revisit. If you did not make a network entry when editing wpa_supplicant.conf and you have connected via wpa_gui save the configuration.

Code:
reboot
Hopefuly just a check that all is working.

Last edited by DONAHUE on Thu May 27, 2010 3:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the ucode first:

Code:
emerge -av net-wireless/iwl3945-ucode


ifconfig -a recognizes it as wlan0

I then booted the cd, chrooted, and emerged all those packages. Now I can iwconfig (happy to now know it is part of a package). At this point I became I little excited, as I was able to dhcpcd wlan0 in the chroot and everything was working perfectly. So I rebooted, and entered the install environment again. When I try to dhcpcd wlan0 here I immediately get

Code:
wlan0: read_interface: Unknown error 132


I understand this often has something to do with hardware switches, but I have not touched my wifi switch since it working in chroot. When I try to iwlist in the install environment it says

Code:
wlan0 Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down


You are right in assuming that (for the moment) I plan on using dhcp. I have not emerged a desktop.

Updating the config files right now.[/profile]

wpa_supplicant.conf does not exist... should I make it?
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
wlan0 Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down

Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up

when you get /etc/conf.d/net edited and /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 symlink made and /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 in the default runlevel automagic will start to happen. /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf hopefully will get the trick finished.
Quote:
wpa_supplicant.conf does not exist... should I make it?
yes
well done remembering the firmware ebuild, I had forgotten.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I created wpa_supplicant.conf, but I still get that 'error 132' even when I try

Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up


I suspect something else is up.

Here is the page I followed when configuring the kernel

http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Lenovo_Thinkpad_X60s#Wireless

Is it possible something here is screwing it up?
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ifconfig -a
says?
Code:
ifconfig
says?
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 down;ifconfig wlan0 up
says?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-> I have no means of taking a screenshot, so let me know if I am missing any critical information.

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
ifconfig -a
says?
Comes up with eth0, lo, sit0, wlan0. Eth0 has some indication of activity, sit0 and wlan0 are all blank with zeros. wlan0 says "Link encap:Ethernet" followed by my mac address.

Code:
ifconfig
says?
Shows just lo and eth0. Again eth0 shows clear signs of activity. (packets sent, ip addresses and such)

Code:
ifconfig wlan0 down;ifconfig wlan0 up
says?

ifconfig wlan0 down - no response (works)
ifconfig wlan0 up - error 132
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

unmerge the firmware

Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig


something weird
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -C net-wireless/iwl3945-ucode


nothing changed with 'ifconfig', and 'ifconfig wlan0 up' still gives error 132

real brick wall :evil:
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

re-emerge the firmware
comment out all entries in /etc/conf.d/net
try up again


Last edited by DONAHUE on Thu May 27, 2010 4:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
re-emerge th firmware
comment out all entries in /etc/conf.d/net
try up again


still error 132 :x
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

check the manual for a combination of keys or key that turns the wireless on and off
delete the comments from /etc/conf.d/net
if bios has powersaving or green setting for wireless turn it off, if bios has wireless disabled ...
Code:
grep CONFIG_RFKILL /usr/src/linux/.config
Is it present?

Code:
rmmod iwl3945
rfkill block all
rfkill unblock all
modprobe iwl3945
rfkill unblock all
ifconfig wlan0 up


Last edited by DONAHUE on Thu May 27, 2010 4:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You won't believe this donahue, but I just rebooted for the heck of it and thought I saw a lot of green lights on the boot up... Sure enough wlan0 started fine, dhcp contacted my router and got an ip, and I was just able to ping successfully (right after booting).

I'm pretty sure I neglected to reboot where you told me to before, because the commands before weren't working.

Nonetheless, one of the many things you told me to do worked :D

Tomorrow I'm going to try and figure out exactly what happened, but I think I'll save that big post you made further up as I believe it was something in there.

Now, I can sleep in peace. Thank you so much, you've really been incredible in helping me through all my gentoo-ing.
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

see you when the X and desktop adventure starts :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HouseAtreides
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Location: NH

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
see you when the X and desktop adventure starts :lol:


haha, I can't wait
_________________
~In a society that has abolished all adventure the only adventure left is to abolish that society.~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum