View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
divago Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 84
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:42 am Post subject: [SOLVED] rc-update does'nt del net.etho0/net.wlan0 |
|
|
hi all
i got a little problem with rc-update and network connection
'cause of a problem with wpa_supplicant (still unsolved, i'm working on it too x_x ) i need to use NetworkManager to connect wlan and (important) eth0 at work.
so far, i decided to add NM to rc-update and ofc remove the net.eth0/wlan0
so:
Code: |
# rc-update add NetworkManager default
# rc-update del net.eth0 default
# rc-update del net.wlan0 default
# rc-update show
alsasound | boot
bootmisc | boot
checkfs | boot
checkroot | boot
clock | boot
consolefont | boot
cupsd | default
dbus | default
hald | default
hostname | boot
keymaps | boot
local | default nonetwork
localmount | boot
modules | boot
net.lo | boot
netmount | default
NetworkManager | default
rmnologin | boot
sshd | default
syslog-ng | default
udev-postmount | default
urandom | boot
vboxdrv | default
vboxweb-service | default
vixie-cron | default
xdm | default |
according to documentation, this would mean NM will start at startup while net.eth0/wlan0 not
BUT that's the problem: at startup it tries to start net.eth0 and net.wlan0; this does'nt work ('cause net script are not working) and network does'nt start
i need to manually stop /etc/init.d/net.eth0 and net.wlan0 and start NM
of course, net services like sshd too need to be manually started.
i got same problem with my eeepc, wich use WICD:
if i stop net.eth0/wlan0 pressing ctrl+c at startup, it start fine and all work fine; otherwise, wicd-client does'nt find network and i need to manually stop init.d/net scripts and connect with wicd
where's the problem? why rc-update doesn't remove correctly net scripts from bootup?
ty for answering ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif)
Last edited by divago on Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:52 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
cach0rr0 Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/14936637654ee19d6630f96.gif)
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 4123 Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
services that "need net" are going to try to start up services that provide it (and, unfortunately, net.lo does not count)
simply delete the init scripts.
Code: |
rm /etc/init.d/net.wlan0
rm /etc/init.d/net.eth0
|
_________________ Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
divago Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 84
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
cach0rr0 wrote: | simply delete the init scripts.
Code: |
rm /etc/init.d/net.wlan0
rm /etc/init.d/net.eth0
|
| but, i could need the script to start manually... there is no way to tell rc-update to not start net.eth0 and net.wlan0?
eventually, i could create a script to copy from home dir to /init.d the script u.u
btw, i deleted (unlinked) the script; at the moment i cannot reboot the pc so i cannot see if this solve the problem...
i'll post here as soon as possible to tell you if this is working ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
patrikas Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 28 Nov 2009 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Add/modify this in your /etc/rc.conf file:
Code: |
rc_hotplug="!net.*"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krinn Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Blade Runner/movie_blade_runner_howl.gif)
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
divago wrote: | but, i could need the script to start manually... |
net.* are links to net.lo, so you can recreate it in 1s
Code: | ls -l /etc/init.d/net.eth0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 18 sept. 2009 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
divago Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 84
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok i'm back home so i tested and
IT WORK!!!!!!! WOOOOTTTTT!!!!
*cough*
now i need only to put [SOLVED] on top of this topic
patrikas wrote: | Add/modify this in your /etc/rc.conf file:
Code: |
rc_hotplug="!net.*"
|
| i did not modify /etc/rc.conf file, 'cause it worked just fine deleting links in /etc/init.d
oh and ssh start fine, so i suppose NM (and/or wicd) is enough to let ssh start.
did i should also modify rc.conf? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|