Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] rc-update does'nt del net.etho0/net.wlan0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
divago
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:42 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] rc-update does'nt del net.etho0/net.wlan0 Reply with quote

hi all
i got a little problem with rc-update and network connection

'cause of a problem with wpa_supplicant (still unsolved, i'm working on it too x_x ) i need to use NetworkManager to connect wlan and (important) eth0 at work.
so far, i decided to add NM to rc-update and ofc remove the net.eth0/wlan0

so:
Code:

# rc-update add NetworkManager default
# rc-update del net.eth0 default
# rc-update del net.wlan0 default
# rc-update show
           alsasound | boot                         
            bootmisc | boot                         
             checkfs | boot                         
           checkroot | boot                         
               clock | boot                         
         consolefont | boot                         
               cupsd |      default                 
                dbus |      default                 
                hald |      default                 
            hostname | boot                         
             keymaps | boot                         
               local |      default nonetwork       
          localmount | boot                         
             modules | boot                         
              net.lo | boot                         
            netmount |      default                 
      NetworkManager |      default                 
           rmnologin | boot                         
                sshd |      default                 
           syslog-ng |      default                 
      udev-postmount |      default                 
             urandom | boot                         
             vboxdrv |      default                 
     vboxweb-service |      default                 
          vixie-cron |      default                 
                 xdm |      default

according to documentation, this would mean NM will start at startup while net.eth0/wlan0 not

BUT that's the problem: at startup it tries to start net.eth0 and net.wlan0; this does'nt work ('cause net script are not working) and network does'nt start
i need to manually stop /etc/init.d/net.eth0 and net.wlan0 and start NM
of course, net services like sshd too need to be manually started.

i got same problem with my eeepc, wich use WICD:
if i stop net.eth0/wlan0 pressing ctrl+c at startup, it start fine and all work fine; otherwise, wicd-client does'nt find network and i need to manually stop init.d/net scripts and connect with wicd

where's the problem? why rc-update doesn't remove correctly net scripts from bootup?

ty for answering :)


Last edited by divago on Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

services that "need net" are going to try to start up services that provide it (and, unfortunately, net.lo does not count)

simply delete the init scripts.

Code:

rm /etc/init.d/net.wlan0
rm /etc/init.d/net.eth0

_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
divago
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
simply delete the init scripts.

Code:

rm /etc/init.d/net.wlan0
rm /etc/init.d/net.eth0
but, i could need the script to start manually... there is no way to tell rc-update to not start net.eth0 and net.wlan0?
eventually, i could create a script to copy from home dir to /init.d the script u.u

btw, i deleted (unlinked) the script; at the moment i cannot reboot the pc so i cannot see if this solve the problem...
i'll post here as soon as possible to tell you if this is working :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrikas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add/modify this in your /etc/rc.conf file:

Code:

rc_hotplug="!net.*"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

divago wrote:
but, i could need the script to start manually...


net.* are links to net.lo, so you can recreate it in 1s
Code:
ls -l /etc/init.d/net.eth0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 18 sept.  2009 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
divago
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i'm back home so i tested and
IT WORK!!!!!!! WOOOOTTTTT!!!!
*cough*

now i need only to put [SOLVED] on top of this topic :)

patrikas wrote:
Add/modify this in your /etc/rc.conf file:

Code:

rc_hotplug="!net.*"
i did not modify /etc/rc.conf file, 'cause it worked just fine deleting links in /etc/init.d
oh and ssh start fine, so i suppose NM (and/or wicd) is enough to let ssh start.

did i should also modify rc.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum