Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Can't Compile Anything
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Duck Man
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 148
Location: Pleasanton, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:59 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Can't Compile Anything Reply with quote

I borked my system pretty bad I think. What I did was move my HDs from one system to another. I had to make sure I had the right kernel modules installed and stuff and got it to boot. So then I changed my CCFLAGS cause the cpu changed. I did a system update and that went great. Then I did my normal emerge --depclean and then a revdep-rebuild. And this is when things started freaking out. The compile failed with this error:
Quote:
checking whether the C compiler works... no
configure: error: in `/var/tmp/portage/app-antivirus/clamav-0.96.1/work/clamav-0.96.1':
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.

I read around for what this means and I have no idea but most things pointed to gcc. So I tried to reemerge it and got this:
Quote:
checking for C compiler default output file name... configure: error: in `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.4.3-r2/work/build':
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.

If I can't compile my compiler that normally means I am screwed. So I am coming here to see if anyone can help me. I really don't want to do a rebuild. If you need output from any logs or anything just let me know.

Thank you,
Lucas


Last edited by Duck Man on Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54317
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duck Man,

I suspect your update got you a new version gcc and --depclean removed the old one, as its supposed to.

However, gcc is a slotted package, so you can have several versions installed at the same time. The downside is that you need to manually select the gcc you want to use.

Play with the gcc-config command.

If its not that, the fix is still fairly simple.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duck Man
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 148
Location: Pleasanton, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
# gcc-config -l
* gcc-config: Active gcc profile is invalid!
[1] i686-pc-linux-gnu-4.4.3

Is that normal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
gcc-config 1

This will set choice #1 active. Happens to be the only one for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54317
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duck Man,

Nope, what I described happened to you. --depclean removed your selected gcc.

As Jaglover says, you need to select your new one and follow the on scree instrctions.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May I recommend to get into habit of running commands with -h or --help if in doubt. Will save time. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duck Man
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 148
Location: Pleasanton, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yah I feel dumb... I ran it with nothing to see what the commands were and expected a --set or what ever like the other *-config commands I have used. Well on the plus side I am really happy it was such a small issue :). Thanks a bunch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum