Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Scilab 5 from the official binary
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ecko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:41 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Scilab 5 from the official binary Reply with quote

Hello! Since scilab 5 is not yet in main and the ebuild in science overlay does not work for everyone (bug #237572), I try to use the binary provided by scilab.org. There are several packages with versions for 32- or 64-bit systems.

  • 4.1.2 (runs smoothly everywhere BUT it has an aging tcl/tk look, a keyboard-challenged input interface, reaches amazing high scores in powertop and has tendency to let zombie process eat 100 % cpu when not terminated properly),
  • 5.2.2 (current stable),
  • 5.3.0 beta 1.

Install procedure is the following:
Code:

~/ $ tar xfz scilab-5.2.2.bin.linux-x86_64.tar.gz # for example this version
~/ $ export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="~/scilab-5.2.2/bin"
~/ $ export SCI="~/scilab-5.2.2/share/scilab"
 
~/ $ ./scilab-5.2.2/bin/scilab
  or
~/ $ linux32 ./scilab-5.2.2/bin/scilab # running the i686 version on an amd64 arch through 32-bit emulation

Then happens the following:

  • scilab 4 works fine;
  • scilab 5, whichever version, crashes on almost anything, for example on displaying non integer numbers.

[Scilab prompt]
Code:

--> 1.0   // this works
--> 1.1 ; // this also works (no display after semicolon)
--> 1.1   // scilab crashes


When scilab crashes, the console from where it was launched reports
Code:
At line 27 of file src/fortran/formatnumber.f
Internal error: printf is broken

(Line number changes depending on scilab version, it is line 27 for 5.2.2, line 43 for the version 5.3.0 beta 1.)

I downloaded OpenSuse 11.2 livecds, 32 bits and 64 bits. Following the same install procedure, I am able to run all aforementioned versions of scilab and run complete calculations and graphs without problem. This means, somehow the problem comes from my gentoo box. Has anybody succeeded in using scilab 5 on gentoo from the binary packages (specially on amd64)?

Thanks for your time and suggestions.

Ecko


Last edited by ecko on Mon Jul 05, 2010 3:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master of the Darkside
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Iasi, Romania

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ecko,

Scilab 5.2.0 works fine on my laptop (gentoo ~amd64) - I've just tested with some demos and they work, although you can get is the occasional null pointer exception in the terminal. Your tests also work, 1.0, 1.1 display fine.
_________________
No weight nor mass nor beauty of execution can outweigh a grain or fragment of thought
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master of the Darkside wrote:

Scilab 5.2.0 works fine on my laptop (gentoo ~amd64)


Thanks, although this is a bit frustrating. I'll wait for the ebuild for scilab 5.3 so I can compile with debug output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sylvestre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ecko, this is not a Scilab bug but a gcc one. Please see:
http://gcc.gnu.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=36857
and
http://bugzilla.scilab.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3801
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:01 pm    Post subject: [solved] Reply with quote

Hello Sylvestre,

Code:

$ LC_ALL="C" scilab


This solves the issue, thanks a lot for pointing that this is a localization problem! What about mentioning the solution in the release notes or somewhere else?

Ecko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum