Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
I'M DONE - 4 YEARS of Gentoo is ENOUGH. (Ed. 2010 - ...)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
luismw
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:12 pm    Post subject: I'M DONE - 4 YEARS of Gentoo is ENOUGH. (Ed. 2010 - ...) Reply with quote

EDIT: Split from the orignal I'M DONE - 4 YEARS of Gentoo is ENOUGH. (Ed. 2006 - 2009) which had become too large. --pjp

I just wanted to add my experience to this really long thread because I think that maybe the view of a newcomer could be refreshing. I don't know who "daniel" is, how was Gentoo like in the old times, who the devs are or what they do. But here's what I do know:

I've been using Ubuntu for the last two years, from Hardy (8.04) up until Karmic (9.10). I think it's safe to say that Ubuntu is currently the distro with the highest number of users and -quite possibly- maintainers, and one would expect first-rate support and quality of releases. I mainly use my PC for a bit of office work and for gaming. In my particular case (I use a netbook), I expect two things from my OS: a) keep my hard drive free of crap, b) all SW has to deliver the highest performance. Up until now, Ubuntu fulfilled these expectations, with a number of catches:

I found that it was impossible to simply upgrade to the next release (I have a tiny hard drive), so if I wanted to keep with up-to-date software, I needed to perform a complete reinstall every six months. That's catch number one.