commands not found: emerge mirror issues [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
odeSolver
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:46 pm    Post subject: commands not found: emerge mirror issues [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I have finished installing Gentoo for the first time. I have no experience with Linux before now. I am reading a tutorial. The locate, slocate, and updatedb commands to not work, I get 'command not found'.

I posted in a thread about slocate, and was told to 'emerge slocate'.
emerge slocate didn't seem to work (it scrolls pretty fast). But the errors seem to imply that it cannot download certain files from the net. For example (re-typed, not C&Ped):
Quote:
Resolving slocate.trakker.ca... failed: Name or service not known
wget: unable to resolve host address 'slocate.trakker.ca'
!!! Couldn't download 'slocate-3.1.tar.gz'. Aborting.
Failed to emerge [slocate]

Now, my networking was working when I first installed the PC (I haven't used the system since then, two weeks ago). So I tried to use links. It didn't exist, so I tried to emerge links. Emerging links seemed to work, but when I type the command 'links', or 'links www.gentoo.org', or 'links http://www.gentoo.org', I get 'command not found'.

I tried emerging links a second time, and this time I get messages that it can't download files.

I have rebooted the PC and restarted the network switch (which often gives me trouble, but which is working now because my other PC is using the same switch and I posted this message from my 'other' PC).

How do I fix this?
Thanks,
-SU

Last edited by odeSolver on Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:17 pm; edited 3 times in total
odeSolver
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote