Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
no more sound the device is not detected anymore
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1642

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 2:08 pm    Post subject: no more sound the device is not detected anymore Reply with quote

Hi

Suddenly I got a message from kde that the sound devices are removed. I clicked not to be removed but it doesn't help.

Here are the things that I tried:

1. mplayer.
Code:
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_direct.c:1494:(_snd_pcm_direct_get_slave_ipc_offset) Invalid value for card
[AO_ALSA] Playback open error: No such file or directory
Failed to initialize audio driver 'alsa'
Could not open/initialize audio device -> no sound.
Audio: no sound


2. alsamixer
Code:
alsamixer
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory


3.
Code:
/etc/init.d/alsasound restart
 * WARNING:  you are stopping a boot service.
 * Storing ALSA Mixer Levels ...             
alsactl: save_state:1502: No soundcards found...
 * Error saving levels.                                                                                           [ !! ]
 * Loading ALSA modules ...                                                                                             
 *   Could not detect custom ALSA settings.  Loading all detected alsa drivers.                                         
 *   Unable to find any ALSA drivers. Have you compiled alsa-drivers correctly?                                         
 *   ERROR: Failed to load necessary drivers                                                                      [ ok ]
 * Restoring Mixer Levels ...                                                                                           
alsactl: unrecognized option '---'
Usage: alsactl <options> command

Available global options:
  -h,--help        this help
  -d,--debug       debug mode
  -v,--version     print version of this program

Available state options:
  -f,--file #      configuration file (default /etc/asound.state)
  -F,--force       try to restore the matching controls as much as possible
                   (default mode)
  -g,--ignore      ignore 'No soundcards found' error
  -P,--pedantic    do not restore mismatching controls (old default)
  -I,--no-init-fallback
                   don't initialize even if restore fails
  -r,--runstate #  save restore and init state to this file (only errors)
                   default settings is 'no file set'
  -R,--remove      remove runstate file at first, otherwise append errors

Available init options:
  -E,--env #=#     set environment variable for init phase (NAME=VALUE)
  -i,--initfile #  main configuation file for init phase (default /usr/share/alsa/init/00main)


Available commands:
  store   <card #> save current driver setup for one or each soundcards
                   to configuration file
  restore <card #> load current driver setup for one or each soundcards
                   from configuration file
  init    <card #> initialize driver to a default state
  names   <card #> dump information about all the known present (sub-)devices
                   into configuration file (DEPRECATED)
 * Errors while restoring defaults, ignoring   


I didn't change anything, it came out of the blue.

How can I solve it? In the kernel it appears ok.

I never had alsa-drivers installed. Used the build in option.

I also checked the multimedia option of system settings menu. The device appears in grey.
Code:
ls /dev/snd*
seq  timer


Code:
lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
00:00.1 System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
00:00.3 System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 83)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:03.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711M1/MC1 4-in-1 MemoryCardBus Controller (rev 20)
01:03.1 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711M1/MC1 4-in-1 MemoryCardBus Controller (rev 20)
01:03.2 System peripheral: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711Mx 4-in-1 MemoryCardBus Accelerator
01:07.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)
01:0a.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
01:0c.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:00.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
02:00.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
02:00.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04)


Any ideas how to solve it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

where is your sound card in lspci did not se it :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1642

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo wrote:
where is your sound card in lspci did not se it :?:


Yes, you are right. It didn't appear. Probably that's the reason it didn't work. I rebooted again and it started to work. Now it appears in lspci.

Code:
lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
00:00.1 System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
00:00.3 System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 83)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03)
01:03.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711M1/MC1 4-in-1 MemoryCardBus Controller (rev 20)
01:03.1 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711M1/MC1 4-in-1 MemoryCardBus Controller (rev 20)
01:03.2 System peripheral: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711Mx 4-in-1 MemoryCardBus Accelerator
01:07.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)
01:0a.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
01:0c.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:00.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
02:00.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
02:00.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04)


BUT, I still have some small problems with mplayer. After the reboot, sometimes it plays and sometimes it says
Code:
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_dmix.c:1010:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
[AO_ALSA] Playback open error: Device or resource busy                     
Failed to initialize audio driver 'alsa'                                   
Could not open/initialize audio device -> no sound.                         
Audio: no sound   
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What have you set in kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1642

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo wrote:
What have you set in kernel


Code:
grep -i sound /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_SOUND=y
CONFIG_SOUND_OSS_CORE=y
# CONFIG_SOUND_PRIME is not set


Code:
grep -i snd /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_SND=y
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM=y
CONFIG_SND_HWDEP=m
CONFIG_SND_RAWMIDI=m
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=y
# CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DUMMY is not set
CONFIG_SND_OSSEMUL=y
CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS_PLUGINS=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER_OSS=y
# CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS is not set
CONFIG_SND_SUPPORT_OLD_API=y
# CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PROCFS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PRINTK is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_AC97_CODEC=y
CONFIG_SND_DRIVERS=y
# CONFIG_SND_DUMMY is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIRMIDI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MTPAV is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MTS64 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SERIAL_U16550 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MPU401 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_PORTMAN2X4 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AC97_POWER_SAVE is not set
CONFIG_SND_ISA=y
# CONFIG_SND_ADLIB is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AD1816A is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AD1848 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS100 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AZT2320 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CMI8330 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS4231 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS4236 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DT019X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES968 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1688 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES18XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SC6000 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GUSCLASSIC is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GUSEXTREME is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GUSMAX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INTERWAVE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INTERWAVE_STB is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPL3SA2 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPTI92X_AD1848 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPTI92X_CS4231 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPTI93X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIRO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SB8 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SB16 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SBAWE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SGALAXY is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SSCAPE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_WAVEFRONT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MSND_PINNACLE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MSND_CLASSIC is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
# CONFIG_SND_AD1889 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS300 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS4000 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALI5451 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8810 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8820 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8830 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AW2 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AZT3328 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_BT87X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CA0106 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CMIPCI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OXYGEN is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS4281 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS46XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS5530 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS5535AUDIO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MONA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ECHO3G is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIOX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1370 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1371 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1938 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1968 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_FM801 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSPM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HIFIER is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1712 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1724 is not set
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y
# CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0M is not set
# CONFIG_SND_KORG1212 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MAESTRO3 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIXART is not set
# CONFIG_SND_NM256 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_PCXHR is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RIPTIDE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME32 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME96 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME9652 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SIS7019 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SONICVIBES is not set
# CONFIG_SND_TRIDENT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIA82XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIA82XX_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIRTUOSO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VX222 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_YMFPCI is not set
CONFIG_SND_USB=y
CONFIG_SND_USB_AUDIO=m
# CONFIG_SND_USB_USX2Y is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_CAIAQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_US122L is not set
# CONFIG_SND_PCMCIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SOC is not set


Code:
grep -i ich /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_ICH=y

Code:
grep -i intel /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_X86_INTEL_USERCOPY=y
CONFIG_CPU_SUP_INTEL=y
CONFIG_MICROCODE_INTEL=y
CONFIG_HW_RANDOM_INTEL=y
CONFIG_AGP_INTEL=y
CONFIG_FB_INTEL=y
CONFIG_FB_INTEL_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_FB_INTEL_I2C=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL is not set
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y
# CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0M is not set
# CONFIG_CRYPTO_CRC32C_INTEL is not set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

set intel hda.one day it hapend to me to.music sound just poff lost.from that day
i have to set analog device in the kernel to just for music but movie sound nvidia hda :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1642

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo wrote:
set intel hda.one day it hapend to me to.music sound just poff lost.from that day
i have to set analog device in the kernel to just for music but movie sound nvidia hda :roll:


Thanks. Will set it. Today it played fine without this setting and there was no error. Very weird. But, from time to time it stopped playing the music for no reason and then continued. Did you have this problem too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No not like that but kde gave me à note that analog device
has bin disable .after setting nvidia hda,analog device was up
running but i dont think that was the problem.b.t.w i allways (new alsa install)
need to enable and kapture one of My in or outputs before the sound starts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WendyB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 43
Location: Hilversum, Holland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have nvidia alc662 and sound is driving me really nervous. Whether it works or not is highly unpredictable. after one reboot all the dives might be gone with only pulseaudio showing up in KDE multimedia settings. Other times there's nu pulseaudio, but only the analog and digital Nvidia devices, but grayed out. And a dummy device. In the last case sound is working when the grayed out analog device is set as first preference.
I haven't been able to record desktop sound, yet.

I have kernel 2.6.35-r4 with OSS-emulation enabled.
to make things even more complicated i have four sound cards in my computer (soundcard, tv-card with sound device en two webcams with sound)
_________________
several years playing with (Open)SuSE and since 2009 switched to Gentoo for PC (AMD Phemon X4), Laptop (Asus A55VD) and EasyPC( ARM, VT8500)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WendyB

post

lspci

so i can see your soundcards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WendyB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 43
Location: Hilversum, Holland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@hedmo
Here you go:

lspci
Code:
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:08.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Link Control
01:07.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7131/SAA7133/SAA7135 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev d1)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 8400 GS] (rev a1)


cat /proc/asound/cards (I have temporarily blacklisted the usbaudio kernel module, so the webcams don't show here)
Code:
 0 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xdbef4000 irq 22
 1 [SAA7134        ]: SAA7134 - SAA7134
                      saa7133[0] at 0xdbfff800 irq 19


cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 (first lines only)
Code:
Codec: Realtek ALC662 rev1
Address: 0
Function Id: 0x1
Vendor Id: 0x10ec0662
Subsystem Id: 0x10438290                                                                                                                                                                                   
Revision Id: 0x100101                                                                                                                                                                                     
No Modem Function Group found   

_________________
several years playing with (Open)SuSE and since 2009 switched to Gentoo for PC (AMD Phemon X4), Laptop (Asus A55VD) and EasyPC( ARM, VT8500)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WendyB first set nvidia hd audio and analog device in your kernel to fix your sound card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WendyB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 43
Location: Hilversum, Holland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo wrote:
WendyB first set nvidia hd audio and analog device in your kernel to fix your sound card

I have set all the codecs for hda-intel. Should i only select the nvidia codec?
I thought it would be right since Windows 7 also reports the realtek codec
But i will try.

With analog device you mean PCM ? That one is set.
_________________
several years playing with (Open)SuSE and since 2009 switched to Gentoo for PC (AMD Phemon X4), Laptop (Asus A55VD) and EasyPC( ARM, VT8500)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this problem only in kde-4.4.5. KDE says sound device is disabled and it is grayed. So kde can not use it and instead it activates the jack for sound which works. I only use jack while music production. So it is not good. Interestingly this nonsense only occurs in kde. I use openbox and some other DE, WM and there is no problem. So I think the problem is in kde. Anyway I don't use kde anymore.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WendyB

your sound card

00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)

is the same as mine

my kernel setup

<*> Sound card support --->
<*> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
[*] PCI sound devices --->
<*> Analog Devices AD1889
<*> Intel HD Audio --->
*] Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support
[*] Build NVIDIA HDMI HD-audio codec support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WendyB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 43
Location: Hilversum, Holland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo wrote:
WendyB

your sound card

00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)

is the same as mine

my kernel setup

<*> Sound card support --->
<*> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
[*] PCI sound devices --->
<*> Analog Devices AD1889
<*> Intel HD Audio --->
*] Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support
[*] Build NVIDIA HDMI HD-audio codec support

I have tried that but it didn't work. I only had 2 mixercontrols left in kmix. with no sound.
I dod notice that in the BIOS i can choose from ac97 or hd audio. It's set to the last one.

Anywyas, i reverted back to the former kernel config and using the latest kernel release (2.6.35-r5) seems to make things better. And currently I'm updating to KDE 4.5.1. I'll see if that changes anything
_________________
several years playing with (Open)SuSE and since 2009 switched to Gentoo for PC (AMD Phemon X4), Laptop (Asus A55VD) and EasyPC( ARM, VT8500)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in kmix you should have nvidia hda and 2 vol controls
set the both up and unmute them
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have a look, might help you : https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6339697-highlight-hda.html#6339697
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum